Steemit Slam 1: Leaving You Was The Best Thing I've DonesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #slam7 years ago (edited)

Excellent, another creative competition to get my teeth into. This is a new one set up by @poetrytrail and you can read how to enter here: Steemit Slam 1.

Leaving You Was The Best Thing I've Done


Source

Almost 6 months have passed
Now I am free at last.
To be who I want to be
Finally I can be me.

No more second second guessing words
That take flight with the birds
Standing on eggshells all the time
And telling you my worries, oh the crime!

Now I can mold my own dreams
With starshine and rainbow beams.
They can be pink, purple or blue
And nothing to do with you.

I'm not the person you knew
Leaving you gave me a new view.
Opportunities, windows and doors
All mine, not yours.

I like it very much
Now I'm not your crutch
The house is a home now
Peaceful, happy, just wow.

Sort:  

I love you. You are a fabulous role model for your girls. It comes through in all you do.
Steem on mumma x

Very Nice. You have a new follower! I always make it a point to go through my list of followers and follow new fans. I also go to their blog and find an original post to comment on and resteem, see who I'm following and kind of introduce myself. I also am curious where you found me, as I would like to continue to grow and am keeping track of what's working and what isn't. I await your reply!

Hi thanks for the lovely comment. I found you on the Friend Train. I like to go an visit others blogs too and upvote something in support of them following me. You have inspired me to comment more often also.

You just inspire me to write better again and again... Whenever I read your poetry...
My your fan mam :)

Thank you that is very kind. It was quite therapeutic writing this one!

great way of expressing your feelings.. any way i am happy for you

I use poetry to get my feelings out on paper. Poetry was literally a life saver in my teenage years.

Hi, pleased to meet you :)

I had not seen a slam on Steemit yet. I'll follow you because I love it and you're very good. Thank you

Anything poetry related I try to jump on. Thank you for following me and the lovely comment.

Oh snap! That's a good one! :)

Thank you, this poem kinda flowed straight out of me.

Yes it was a bit a abrupt, but I try hard now to not let him get in my head.

Congratulations @hopehuggs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Love this poem. Especially this part

Opportunities, windows and doors
All mine, not yours.

;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83