You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just Because You Happen to be GOOD at Something Doesn't Mean you Necessarily LIKE it!

in #skills7 years ago

I really, really interesting post.

I have spent most of my life selling - in one form or other.
I'm really good at it. (not blowing my own trumpet at it is a talent I'm not proud of it.)

While I can enjoy doing it, IF I believe in what i'm selling.

But...sooner or later (for me anyway), I find myself compromising my principles, in the name of the sell. Closing the deal.

It is so annoying, as this had led to a cycle of success, compromise, and ultimately disappointment in my self.

And for some reason, being great at the sell , people think you are great at management, which I truly hate, and isn't suited to me long term.

Self employment seems the best option for me...

thought provoking post though, really good!

Sort:  

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it, or got something from it.

Seems we have walked very similar paths... mine led to self-employment in fairly short order simply because I really suck badly at sticking to things I don't believe in. I also don't have a lot of ambition, in the sense that I am no good at just "grin and bear it."

On a positive level (I suppose) it's great because it means that I get very "engaged" in those projects I really believe in, but it also means I tend to bomb out when I get disillusioned with them.

let's not go into business together, eh? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50