OMG SKATEBOARD ART CONTEST ENTRY FOR @WEB-GNAR

in #skateboard6 years ago (edited)

Good Evening Steemians,


I would like to present to you my designs for Joe Harris's of @theomgbrand's call for art to be printed on a skateboard deck. I have not had an opportunity to present these to someone who might be willing to go forward with my designs, so now is my chance!

Untitled-1.jpg

Design 1


deck1.jpg

Pencil and marker on card stock paper. The piece of paper was 9.5" x 34". I drew it all with pencil and then colored it in with marker. I took it to Kinkos to get it scanned at full quality.

So for us to see how this would look on a deck. I'll download the deck graphic template, provided by @theomgbrand's post , make it a clipping mask, and...

deck1cropped.png

Whoa! A full sized PNG! Cool! Lets do that to the other two!

Design 2


Here is the second deck drawing I did, not long after the first one.

deck_scan1.jpg

I took it to Kinkos as a black and white pencil drawing, so that I could color it digitally.

deck2.gif

I found that having access to any color the computer has to offer, might not be the best approach. It is good to have limits on resources when you are creating art, so that you are forced to use creative decisions to solve problems.

Personal opinion.

Lets export that PNG.

deck2 cropped.png

The colors adjusted to the set palette on the deck template to be suitable for printing. The chroma of some colors become muted. I used strange bright pinks and greens that only a computer screen can portray, colors in the RGB spectrum.

Design 3

This is the third one I made.

deck2bw.png

deck3.gif

And...

deck3 cropped.png

I think the black and white pencil drawing of this third design is better than the digitally colored image.

I still have these original drawings somewhere. I started to make a fourth design, but stopped. They take a long time to make. I like to imagine them produced as 3-D holograms.

The imagery in the drawings are strong. You can read into what was going on in my head during the year 2012.

I digitally stitched the two digital ones together. They were made back-to-back, and would make a wild mural.

muralgrande.jpg

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 9.03.41 PM.png

Thank you

Sort:  

would be cool to get the deck in black & white drawing version, then skaters could color it themselves, how cool would that be. Skaters are often artistic & many already use paint pens on their shoes or griptape. #diy #artistic #paint #coloring #steemskate

dude those designs are insane ....totally insanely good

thanks G money

Dude these are all amazing

1st one is amazing becoz it is having shale of rando 😂

Man these are dope!
Love the first one with warmer colors and the marker texture 🔥

same, yeah! that one turned out much better i found out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99