Following up on week FIVE - My Fitness Activity Lesson (#sixweekhealth)

in #sixweekhealth6 years ago

The Power of Health Knowledge

I began to get serious about health when I was younger. When I was 10 years old my relay in swimming placed 7th in the U.S. This woke me up a little bit, making me think more about my health; I had been being fed mostly fast food at this point in my life, for my mother had six boys and was extremely busy. So this is when I had to learn on my own; what to put into my body, what kind of exercise works with swimming, proper technique in the weight room, and so much more. It began to get to the point where this knowledge seems intuitive to me, it comes naturally without thought. What I don't realize is that so many people in this world are uneducated about health and fitness overall.

In this post I will describe the route I take to lose weight extremely quickly. I have lost weight about three times in my life, and I am 23 years old. Following two depressions, I had to lose significant weight. The last time I had chosen to lose weight was in January. Prior, in December, I decided that I would eat whatever I wanted and mainly just be fat all month. I ate ice cream every night, drank pop, ate Oreos, whatever I wanted.

This a decent sample of my diet in December.

I gained plenty of fat during this time. My stomach started to ripple from the fat build up, my legs got chunkier to the point where my thighs touched, it got pretty gross. It was damn delicious though. I believe plenty of people know this feeling:

I would say that we almost all hate it. At least I know I thoroughly loath feeling that.

How to Overcome Weight

This is my specialty man, I've basically become accustomed to losing weight on an annual basis. So, I've gotten pretty efficient at it, for my self. There are factors that may create different results, so please do not take this advice as a identical way to achieve my results.

I love fast activity, the kind that makes you burn - your whole body. Being a swimmer for 19 years has made me crave that burn. Weight lifting can't always do it for me, as it is more scoped on an individual muscle group. However, lifting weights is proven to be an extremely great way to lose fat. The goal is to lose fat, not weight - at least for me. Weight will disappear with fat. Activities I would do:

I said December, I knew when January came around I would kick my ass and lose the fat I had gained. During my fat period I picked up on Yoga. Why? Yoga is awesome.

It expands your veins allowing more oxygen and nutrients to pass through the bloodstream.
It has shown increased endurance in sexual life.
It relaxes and gives time to reflect.
It is a type of movement meditation that syncs with breath to clear the mind.
^^ this alone makes yoga so worth it.

My favorite benefit is the flexibility, it feels amazing to be limber - it feels right.

My beautiful girlfriend and I recently enjoy doing acro yoga together sometimes, this allows increased communication within a relationship, increased trust, and so much more. It is another facet to check out though when becoming more advanced.

Here's a post I had created in January to explain how to get started in yoga, there is a nice link to a beginner tutorial off of youtube; check it out below:

https://steemit.com/health/@varignon/health-fact-of-the-day-day-7-post-7-yoga

January Comes

Lets Learn Some Things

I would do yoga as soon as I woke up, followed by a meditation session lasting 5 minutes. The power of meditation is immaculate, it can help you center yourself to prepare you for attacking your goals in the day. I would highly recommend looking into it if you have trouble staying aligned with your desires and for overall health.

Here is a post I have made to help beginners enter the world of meditation:

https://steemit.com/life/@varignon/give-meditation-a-go

I love sharing knowledge about fitness and health; three of my family members are severely overweight and I worry for them, especially my mother, so I feel a calling to help others become healthy and move toward their desires in life. That is what I want to base my career around.

Gym Time

Errday. Errday. I don't care if you go to the gym on your off days and just stretch. You HAVE to be in the gym on a daily basis, no SKIPPING. On days where you need rest, go to the gym and actively rest. Stretch, do yoga, micro stretch using activities such as swimming or Tai chi.

I would do a rotation on muscle groups, but that is a more intermediate route for lifting. I would rotate through: Legs/shoulders - back/bi - chest/tri - active rest - repeat. These were my daily lifting muscle choices. This is not meaningless. There is a specific reason I start with legs go to back and then chest. This is all based on volume. The more volume you activate, the more testosterone the body releases. By doing legs at the beginning, you're setting your body up for a nice testosterone boost for the upcoming lifts. Mass goes in descending order for the groups I listed: legs, back, chest. The secondaries don't matter too much for testosterone, but by pairing them with the associated group allows you to maximize on your daily lift.

The biggest thing about lifting is technique. Technique can be found all over the internet, it is crucial to learn this prior to adding weight. I would suggest 2 - 4 weeks of technique training if you have never lifted before. Work on concentrating on contraction and constriction of these muscles while doing reps. Thinking about the specific area allows more blood to flow to the region and overall cause a nicer pump and increases hypertrophy (muscles breakdown). We want them muscles to tear a bit so they can rebuild stronger - build muscle.

Here is a wonderful beginner weightlifting routine that I have personally used twice to lose weight. It is a full body routine that focuses on hitting major volume lifts that generate juicy testosterone. This allows you to harness the power of lifting; full body workouts tend to be more cardio based. This allows you to burn extra calories on top of your lifting. Lifting causes an after effect burn that will last into the next day. This is why lifting is extremely crucial for losing weight.

https://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/matt88.htm

After this lifting session, I would follow up with yoga and an ab session. I would strive to do a two minute plank every day, which has turned into a 3:30 plank today. Small progressions every day is powerful. Bruce Lee had a saying that went sort of like this: I do not fear the man that throws 1,000 punches in one day, for I fear the man that throws one punch every day. Increments are powerful.

Following these would come HIIT:

Doing HIIT three times a week will increase your weight loss significantly. What is this? It is High Intensity Interval Training. It is simple. Go hard, then easy for a bit longer, repeat. Example on a bike:

20 second sprint - all out!
20 second easy (increase time if needed)

I do this for four minutes and burn over 10+ calories a minute. Warm up for 2 mins and make sure to cooldown, it is no laughing matter getting off this bike afterward.

This concept can be applied to so many activities that I would split it into jump roping, sprints on the track, the bike, even in the pool. Research HIIT and find the power of it, its worth it.

What Else?

This part is pretty common sense to me, as I've built this knowledge for awhile. I believe for it to be extremely intuitive.

One thing can help your diet so much.

More water. What else? Less dairy, and less meat. You can choose to have it, or not, just make sure to lower it. Cut the sweets out, if you have a sweet tooth purchase a bag of Hershey kisses and have one at 12 pm and one at 6 pm.

Vegetables vegetables vegetables, fruit fruit fruit. I think you get it. Eat healthy man, we know how to.

This process was extremely useful to me. These were my results by the end of January. I didn't look at the scale at all, I simply enjoyed the process and was grateful to see changes!

After a good month, the habit is almost engraved mentally so you'll feel a craving for the gym; you too will feel the craving for that sweet burn.


Thank you for the opportunity and motivation for so many Steemians!

Bring Knowledge and Questions!

Everyone go ahead and comment about any questions you may have, or statements! I am a book of knowledge when it comes to stuff like this, its a database of information up there, so feel free to ask!

Upvote with Love, and Don't Stop Steeming Hooligans!

Sort:  

Have you tried rowing? Full body burn. Can be very cathartic as a way to punish yourself physically to improve yourself. If that makes sense lol. You aren't fast unless it hurts haha

I love water exercises, I have used the machine not a real boat. I love kayaking fast, its a great lat workout, real fun! Join in on this contest! I'll resteem it!

You got a 6% upvote from @danzy courtesy of @varignon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73