Week TWO of Six Week Health Challenge - Jogging In Gordon's Bay

in #sixweekhealth7 years ago (edited)

Running along the coast in Gordon's Bay

Gordon's Bay will always be one of my favorite places to go, I'm a bit biased because I spent the majority of my life there. These beaches are where I got and developed my love for the ocean and everything that lives in it. Today @xramonahx, @chopelina and I went for an approximate 5.5km jog from the parking area in front of the main beach to the Whale Watching Point.

It was a nice day except for the wind which was howling and still is, but we made it. This is where we started off, at the main beach, if you look closely you can see the iconic GB sign on the mountain.
20180131_185034.jpg

On the main beach is either a replica or a real cannon, I still have to do some research as to the origin of this interesting piece:
20180131_185051.jpg

Having made a little progress I stopped to take another picture, this is a blog after all. Lo and behold, there was another blogger in the flesh @xramonahx doing her thing. Only after taking the picture she realized she was a bit to high for her taste and hastily retreated back to safety. Wanting to take the perfect picture will make you throw all caution to the wind.
20180131_185133.jpg

Off we went once again, after a short while we jogged through some Stinkwood trees or Stinkhout trees (as known in Afrikaans) as the name implies they have quite a pungent smell.
20180131_185359.jpg

Finally we reached one of our resting spots, Bikini Beach (unfortunately no bikini's were seen), one of the Blue Flag Beaches of South Africa. It is quite a small beach with not a lot going on, but I think that is why people enjoy coming here.
20180131_185924.jpg

We stopped for a few minutes at the furthest side of Bikini Beach to chat a bit and take a few pictures. It was just after 7PM but it was still about 28 Degrees Celsius out, so frequent breaks were a thing.
20180131_190154.jpg

After taking finishing with the break we went up the mountain a bit and reached the next look out point:
20180131_190908.jpg

All along the route you will find some of the more expensive houses and B&B's, this is the place to stay if you want an awesome ocean view:
20180131_191529.jpg

And here I stand, half way done with the run, I know 5.5km is not far by any standard. But for a swimmer and someone that does not particularly enjoy running it is!
20180131_191642.jpg
Chr7is2.png

Back we go!

It is always fun to see people enjoy something that you worked on, the Whale Walk was one of my projects a few years ago. Here is what it looked like during construction and after, this was built back in July 2015:
20150723_125342.jpg

On our way back we made a quick detour into the harbor and decided to run along the harbor wall.
20180131_193212.jpg

This is the view from the end of the harbor wall. They are currently busy building a pipeline in the harbor that will feed water to a desalination plant which will hopefully help with the drought.
20180131_193740.jpg

We passed the South African naval College on our way back from the harbor:
20180131_194244.jpg

On our way back the sun started setting and we missed the majority of it.. Thanks curvy roads..
20180131_194716.jpg
20180131_194934.jpg

I managed to snag a few decent pictures of the sun before it finally set, sometimes you can get the best photos here.
20180131_195338.jpg

While jogging I had my Pokemon Go app running and managed to catch a few wales :P.
Screenshot_20180131-195130.png

All-in-all it was a good run, we got some awesome photos, made some good memories and reached our daily targets as seen below.
Screenshot_20180131-225803.png
Chr7is2.png

APP.png
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

All the best bro 😁. 🍌🍌🍌🍌 to your victory when that happens if that happens.

Nice run round the sea side! Some of the views are absolutely stunning!

It is an amazing place, so lucky to live here. Thank you very much for the support! :)

Nice views and interesting post. I've never visited South Africa, is so far from Italy! But I'm gonna do it... sooner or later 😁

OMG!!! I love this post!! My parents would take my brother and I to Gordons Bay, every weekend when we were kids! I miss Cape Town so much! ❤ I'm doing a rain dance for you guys there!! 🌧

Thanks for the dance, we really need it. Did you move away from here?

Yes, I grew up in Cape Town, I moved to the States when I was about 25 (11 years ago), I've only been back once in the 11 years that I've been away :-(

My mom still lives there, and I have many friends. I hope the water situation gets sorted!

Nice, I'd like to visit there sometime. You better come and visit here again sometime ;)

Run forest run..!!! Lol
15683 steps, 12.79kms good👍
Long run
I don't know about Gordon's bay, but these mountains and the ocean and the amazing view tells it's a beautiful place.
thanks for sharing
: )

Haha and forest did run.. It is an awesome place, only thing is the wind which gets quite bad.

Very Nice @chr7is! I stay in Gordons Bay myself, lovely little place. I had enough of the wind, though!

Nice, I lived there for quite a while, I moved to Strand about three years ago. I actually like the wind, it cleans the sea so that I can go dive ;)

I hope someday i will visit Capetown, thank you for sharing.

Wow really have to come visit some time soon again (when you got water). Those photo's are stunning and yes for a swimmer that distance is more than enough.

Thanks for sharing this wonderful time you spent out running @chr7is

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59234.78
ETH 2525.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47