2nd day silver pours + VIDEO.

in #silverstacking5 years ago (edited)


30 sec video of the heated silver in liquid form.
The glowing orange part is the sides of the Crucible. The watery stuff is the Silver.

Did a good bit of learning today about silver pouring.

There were some challenges with some molds which is good because I learned some things.
The bad side is that some of the smaller more ornate molds did not work as well as expected.

The ornate parts get sand caught up in them and pull the details of the sand mold apart.

I was able to pour more items and worked on the size of the pour. 4.5 ounces is a nice size for some things but I feel that some of the bang is lost when items are too chunky. My focus today was on higher detail and multiple pours.

20190515_155833.jpg
ATOCHA

20190515_155346.jpg
Tribal Medicine Man

20190515_160053.jpg
Underwater

20190515_160644.jpg
Rough Pour Coin

20190515_160723.jpg
Rough Pour Coin opposite side

20190515_155934.jpg
Atocha backside

A local goldsmith and store owner wants to commission me to do some work with Gold. She will supply the gold and I get to do creative stuff with it. When I start that I will post some pictures. Until then I will keep working with silver.

Sort:  

Awesome! So good to try lots of different things and learn as you go. So... I'm assuming that any waste or mistakes can be remelted and repoured? Loving the tribal medicine man!! Evie x

Posted using Partiko Android

You are absolutely right Evie. Silver doesn't mind to re-poured and since it is .999 it can be used over and over. Takes the pressure off a little bit. If a mistake is made or it is just not attractive the item can be thrown right back in the pot and re-emerge as something better.

Thank you again for letting me be apart of your journey and process 😉 I love it!
It's good that you have different ideas and rounds and as you make them you learn from the Not to do and the THIS IS THE SHIT 😜👍 lol

I love the medicine man as you know but the Atocha was really cool my friend.
You getting better and better at this, and I can't wait to se the results of them all 😊
Just be careful... No hands in the heat please or face 👐🔥😊
Stay Awsome! 🤗🤗🤗💕

Thank you for your concern. I am staying safe, no worries there. Am wearing all the personal protection devices I can that are applicable.

When I get to "this is the shit" let me know. You should see dramatic improvement shortly.

Congratulations @naltedtirt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

It's all part of the learning process, keep at it.

A friend mentioned that you might be interested in a special molded silver ounce at no charge? I will be getting some molds in first of the week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82