Silverbugs: African coins

in #silverbugs7 years ago

Hey Steemit,

I received some coins today, and they are gorgeous!

The first coins are the next ones in the Egyptian series which I showed here, so long ago.
https://steemit.com/silverbugs/@neoxian/silver-coins-my-latest-order-arrived
This was my first coin post.


These coins arrive in the same box.


The unboxing!


Here we see the image of Horus, I love the aged look of this piece. It looks like it could have come chiseled from the wall of an ancient tomb.


On the opposite side, you can see the coat of arms for the Republic of Chad. This is 2 ounces of pure, wonderful 0.999 silver.


Check out the pattern on the edge.


Three of these adds 6 ounces of 0.999 silver to my stack.

You can get it from here:
https://www.jmbullion.com/2016-2-oz-republic-chad-egyptian-relic-series-horus-silver-coin/


For the next coin, we have one from the Republic of Congo. This one features a handsome water buffalo. So shiny! It's 100 grams of 0.999 silver (or about 3.215 troy ounces).


This side is..stunning! Look at the detail! The patterns. It's hard to show in the photo, but both faces are slightly concave.


Here is an edge view to show you how fat this coin is. It's very satisfying to hold one of these heavy chunks in your hand.

Get them here:
https://www.scottsdalesilver.com/store/product.php?productid=17600


Two buffalos add 200 grams of pure lovely silver (6.43 ounces)

The grand total is 12.43 ounces of fine silver added to my hoard.

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @neoxian thank you very much for sharing all this information, I must admit I ignored their existence, these coins look beautiful, you can see that it has a great cultural value, today I have known something new, thank you very much for that.

My pleasure.

Love those Piedfort coins.
Thank @neoxian

Wow..
Amazing coins , i very like it @neoxian

Those are amazing! I especially love the egyptian one. I missed that post. It really does look like it could have been from way back in time!

I agree, absence does that. But no matter, we are back together. Let's raise a glass to fine coins and fine friends!

Jeez! Those those ancient Egypt coins look good!

classy stack!

Nice!! Lovely coins especially the two from Chad. Really brings out the revival of North African appreciation of its ancient Egyptian cultural roots.

The Egyptian sky god Horus is absolutely stunning. I love the aged look too.
It must take you hours to pour over a catalogue to see what you're adding to the collection @neoxian
Do you find that you lean more toward certain themes or perhaps an artist that you follow?

Now that I'm posting coins to Steemit I do feel obligated to pick out pretty coins. Plenty of times in the past I've purchased "boring" tubes of Canadian maples (those still look nice though).

I love egyptian themes, or fantasy themes, with aged historical looks. Pirates and skulls are fun too, or anything cool really. But I try not to buy anything too overpriced.

I definitely love the aged looking coins. It seems to suit my personality a little more, I think. LOL Nothing shiny, pretty or sleek about me and my future coin collection will probably reflect that too. HAHA!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39