Silver in the mail: Wedge Tailed Eagle / Australia 1oz 2016

in #silver8 years ago (edited)

I'm not usually too excited when I get silver rounds in the mail but this time I am. 

This one (Australia Wedge Tailed Eagle / 2016 / 1 oz of silver) has exceeded my expectations and my excitement was increased by the fact that the coin is spotless (possibly MS70 - in other words "perfect coin"). 

Usually coin dealers selling online keep the best for themselves and grade them through a coin grading service to sell the best for double or triple the price if they are MS70, but I guess the ebayer I got this from just sells them without checking - meaning I finally had the chance to get a perfect one, without buying an entire roll (which is pretty much the only way nowadays where you get spotless coins - and, sometimes, even then the roll may be a bust)... 

The engraver of the coin is John Mercanti who worked for the US Mint. The Silver Eagle design (emblem side), for example, is his creation. 

In terms of numismatic value, I think it may increase in value in the future due to good aesthetics and Mercanti's influence on it. Its aesthetic appeal is very good. At least on one side due to the "necessary" representation of the Queen on the other. Visually, it's hard to look at, due to the reverse-proof effect where the eagle and the periphery is all mirror-like over a "normal" background. But the great thing with this mirror-effect is that each feather represents a different facet-mirror that creates different reflections. It's like looking at a jewel...

So far this is my favorite 2016 silver round. I haven't seen anything better so far - for my taste at least.

Due to the reverse-proof mirror effect, getting proper photographs from it is pretty difficult: You can't position the camera in a straight position, otherwise the camera is reflected back and affects the photo. I guess that's why a lot of "photos" on the internet and bullion sellers are sketch-like, otherwise it would be impossible to show the design. So angled shots, preferably from a distance (with a zoom) to minimize reflections, seem to be the only viable ones - and that's what I did... I think the Internet will be pleased to have some "free-to-use" shots...


Photographic settings: Compact Sony DSC-WX220 and W620 (last) / ISO 100 / EV -1.3 to -2.0 / Natural Light

Copyright notice: I release these in the public domain, for use or edit, by anyone, for any reason, with no attribution required.


Sort:  

@alexgr
This is what I found at Apmex site
Coin Highlights:

Contains 1 oz of .999 fine Silver in Proof finish.
Comes in original protective plastic capsule.
Limited mintage of 50,000 coins.
Obverse: Shows the right profile of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, along with the year and face value.
Reverse: Features a Wedge-Tailed Eagle perched on a tree branch. The design also features the inscription "AUSTRALIAN WEDGE-TAILED EAGLE," “2016 1 OZ 999 SILVER” and The Perth Mint’s "P" mintmark.
Sovereign coin backed by the Australian government.

There are various proof and normal versions, I'm looking now at the perth mint site, but I think I read it's 1mn, not 50.000. If it is 50.000 though, all the better :D But it doesn't look like a proof. More like a reverse proof. I'm still going over this, I'll let you know.

Yeah it's bullion all right - I didn't buy the proof or the thick high-relief versions. These have mintages in the 10-20k range.

Yep, seems so. I guess the only reasonable way to determine actual mintage, is to wait 2-3 months to see the end-of-year report of actual mintages by the Perth Mint.

That one is a beautiful coin. I love the crisp detail. Great find!

These are nice coins for sure. I got a tube back in April from Provident.

Congrats :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51