Any old English word will do! Remember that?

in #signs6 years ago

I hope you are hungry. Do you like Crab?

Well this may not be the place for you. Something smells fishy - not!

20180206_135826.jpg

I actually didn't notice that I caught myself on 'film' in this one - good thing I was reflected right at the door post. As you all know I like to remain anonymous as I write words for a spongy cartoon guy.

sponge bob.jpg
courtesy @josevillanueva

On with the post.

It bothers my kids when I walk down the street reading everything. Well, that is the way I learned my first Spanish, so it's a habit of sorts. So I see this place that decided to put up a sign saying "Crab" - I had to ask my self what this place does. If they sold crabs I certainly didn't smell it, and it's summer down here.

For my Spanish readers, this place is called "Congrejo" if my memory serves me.
And the sign translates...

Color

Hair cut

Straightening

Tinting just the tips (highlights?)

Brushing

The "dsd" stands for desde which is "starting at" then the price.

again I got my self in the reflection I don't like pictures on line

Living here in the next Venezuela most prices are chalked in daily. After twenty years of calculating in my head to figure out if something is expensive or not, you get used to it. These are "divide by 20" to get the dollar amount. In other words if you just want them to touch a brush to your hair, it will cost you $13.00 and up.

These thoughts all happened in the little head of bubble blowing sponge-bob. When I see "crab", I think 'Krusty Krab' and not 'How about a hair cut'.

But that's just me. In Spanish Crab probably means "the envy of all other women"


Panorama.jpg

Sort:  

A bit more about a new friend who decided to make me a "Portada" - which I used to separate parts of my post above.

josevillanueva.jpg
Jose's Place

I am not sure if he ships all around the world, but I was offered a t-shirt a few months back. He makes cups, hats, graphics (both physical and digital) and I am sure he works for steem.

Its so nice @sponge-bob thanks for sharing it
graphics products of steem good work

I got a message from a friend saying "Here's a gift for you" - the nice guy is in the picture. I like having a new portada (never heard the word before)
Everything for the good of Steemit and the platform!

It was really a great coincidence! Because I did not know you used the "bikini bottom" image as the end of each post hahaha. And if I work by steem, any order to order!

image

Nice info in article for spanish to English words

Nice article, good info for language

wow very nice :))

hehe, you do have the soul of humor @sponge-bob, the words you write can cheer me up. I like this with your post. That's very cool, thanks for sharing a word that can entertain the crowd. Hopefully you will succeed to work... :)

I did not know you were from Venezuela. Greetings Bob

No, I don't speak Spanish that well. I live in the next country in line to become Venezuela. Prices going up and paper becoming worthless. I have lots of very nice Venezuelan friends who have escaped the crisis there only to relive it here (in the next year or so).

Holding Steem, Dash, Ethereum, and other crypto currencies that still work is the only protection.

I like this post, keep sharing things like that, I like your way of expressing yourself, I started to follow you and I will continue reading your post. luck

Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? Sponge pants square bob. lol That's pretty crazy to name a barber shop, "Crab". That's like naming a restaurant, Tires. Thanks for the share, keeps me wondering what other weird named things are out there. For now, I'm going to keep the idea of naming a bar or pub near a University, the Library, to myself.

Here's one from a previous post. See if you can guess what they sell.

2017-02-11 13.08.30.jpg

Phone cases? Lol. That's crazy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01