The birthplace of Dracula: Sighișoara (Romania)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #signhunting6 years ago (edited)

TIME HOP

Nine years ago, I travelled to Sighișoara (Segesvár in Hungarian, Schäßburg in German) as a part of a geography school field trip. Such trips always had a lot of advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, they were great for a young geographer as I could travel and see the world for free, but on the other hand, these trips were always just rushed down. We would have never had time for sign hunting. Also, back then I would not bother much with how and in what quality the sign photos would turn out. I am very aware of this now but back then, it did not matter much. I was happy that I had a camera and I could take photos. It is different nowadays, and it is one of my long-term plans to return to places where I have bad quality photos of their settlement signs from and redo the projects and explore these place properly and more thoroughly.

A few days ago I was going through my archives and found lots of great memories stored in photographs. In October 2009, we only spent a very little time in Sighișoara, so I do not have many photos of it. The ones I have are also not very interesting and note that back then, not even my photo camera was that great quality, so here we go again. Still, I certainly captured some great moments! The reason I am sharing these photos with you today is the kid in two of my photos. He was pulling such a cheeky face, how could I ever forget about him?

By the way, Sighișoara is currently part of Romania and it is extremely famous for being the birthplace of Vlad the Impaler (Vlad Țepeș) or more famously known as Vlad Dracula. He gained a reputation for cruelty and brutality that inspired the name of the vampire Count Dracula in Bram Stoker's 1897 novel 'Dracula'.

~ Laszlo

Sighisoara-Segesvár.JPG

DSCF2981.JPG

DSCF2984.JPG

DSCF2989.JPG

DSCF2991.JPG

DSCF3026.JPG

DSCF3042.JPG

DSCF3043.JPG

DSCF3018.JPG

DSCF2996.JPG

DSCF2994.JPG

#thesignhunters #sighisoara #segesvar #transylvania #erdely #romania #hungary #dracula

Sort:  

So engaging and minimal.

Congratulations @thesignhunters! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28