Gatekeepers Short: The Agency, Part 1

in #shortstory6 years ago (edited)

Steve Lyon sat at his desk, tapping away at the keyboard. He absentmindedly responded to emails, sipping occasionally from his pure white mug that contained his preferred flavor of tea. He finished typing his response, then clicked send. But just as he pressed down on the mouse, he saw it. He wasn’t selecting reply. He had selected reply all.

As he struggled not to spew his tea all over the monitor, he frantically tried to cancel, but it was too late. The email had been sent. He had responded to a mass email from someone he knew personally, and had included some disparaging remarks about other people included among the recipients. Once they saw, they would go never forgive him, and his job might even be in jeopardy if they complained to HR.

He checked his sent messages to verify what he already knew. But what he found was something else. The message had not been sent to everyone. Only the intended recipient. And that wasn’t all. It didn’t have any of the negative comments about his coworkers.

He stared for a full minute, bewildered. He could brush off mistakenly thinking he hit the send all when he hadn’t, but the email sitting in his outbox was not the one he had written. It was polite, professional, and used corporate buzzwords like synergy and inclusion. It wasn’t him.

He quickly typed a new reply email. Reply All. Subject, test. Message, test. Send.

He switched back over to his sent emails. Nothing was there. He tried sending another email. Nothing happened, yet again.

He received a different email that required a reply. He quickly typed the response, but added a question about emails being filtered. He explained his observations, while including some random swear words with a disclaimer on what he was doing so the recipient would know he wasn’t angry at them. He clicked send.

Sent emails. The message was there. The necessary information he was asked to send was there. But the other part about the mysterious alterations was not, and neither was the profanity. Even the language he had used in the relevant part had been altered slightly to sound more professional, and he also didn’t see any typos he was sure should be there when he hadn’t proofread the message thoroughly before sending.

Steve stood up from his chair and backed out of his cubicle. He walked briskly to his rotund supervisor’s office, Mr. Crumb. Knocking on the open door’s frame, Steve acquired the balding man’s attention, causing him to look up from his cluttered desk with towers of papers.

“Yes, Mr. Lyon? Can I help you?”

Steve scratched the back of his head, unsure how to properly ask the question. “Um… I’ve been seeing some strange stuff in my emails. I mistakenly hit reply all, but it still was only sent to the original sender.”

“Hmm… are you sure you didn’t actually hit reply?”

“Maybe, but that’s not all. I tried sending some test emails too where the same thing happened, and I also noticed some of my outgoing emails were altered before being sent. Do you have any idea what might cause that?”

Crumb scratched his chin thoughtfully before his expression showed he had registered an answer. “Oh. That’s just the Auto-Correct System.”

“Auto-Correct System? Are you saying this is supposed to happen?”

“Yes, it processes all information and makes corrections where necessary, finding mistakes and fixing them on the fly. It’s been in effect for as long as I’ve worked here.”

Steve blinked, shocked at what he was hearing. “Are… are you saying it’s always been there? Ever since I started working here when I was ten?!”

Crumb chuckled to himself. “Yes, it has always been there, long before even I started. And you have only been here a couple years, so I can understand why you may not have noticed it before. It’s designed to be undetectable, to be a safety net you can’t even see. I hear that things can slip through the cracks, but it has been perfected to the point where even minor mistakes getting by is almost unheard of.”

Steve turned to leave, relieved that he wasn’t crazy. But such a system was incredible and far too good to be true. Automated correction of all mistakes? That meant he never needed to worry about messing up. He could take an even more relaxed attitude toward his work, and no one would notice. But his relief was short lived when he thought longer about the implications.

Steve ran back to his desk, weaving between his complacent coworkers as he reached his computer to check more emails. He ignored his filling inbox as he checked his older archived emails.

They were all different. Back then, he had even less respect for standard company speech codes, but any inflammatory language he had used had been whitewashed. It was all the same boring tone his coworkers used.

The horrific realization dawned on him. He had always thought his coworkers were all just boring, despite being just as young as he was. But they were under the same system. Their replies read just like his sanitized emails. It was all fake. No one was getting through with the words they chose.

He ran to a coworker, a red haired girl seated in the cubicle next to him. He yelled at her, but she hardly reacted, turning nonchalantly to respond to him. “Yes, Steve? Did you need something?”

“Did you even hear me!? I just yelled at the top of my lungs! Our emails are being censored, none of us can say what we want!”

The girl gave him a quizzical look, as if she was still waiting for him to say something. “Um… I’m sorry Steve, but I have work to do. If you need something, we can talk later…” The girl turned back to her computer, typing away as if she hadn’t heard a single thing Steve said.

Part 2

Sort:  

I would really really like that system but I would not like anyone else to have it, just me all mine, or maybe reversed let them have it then I can send them rude messages and they can't ever respond rudely. haha.

A nice little thinker this, if placed in a corporate environment as it is I don't really see much of a problem with it, but applied to communication across the board it is pretty damn scary.

Speaking of communication this is the topic for our @BuddyUp Drop in the Ocean show on discord tomorrow, your post would really fit in well with that.

This is actually part of a larger story I've been writing. I'm on part ten already in terms of what's been published, but I'm moving it over one part at a time(as in, one per day) just in case doing a bulk upload might cause my account to get flagged for spamming.

I'm actually in the middle of posting the second part to Steemit now.

I don't know as you seem new or this is a new account I would spend time promoting it , posts only stay 7 days and if you publish it all in quick succession they might not get the recognition they deserve.

Really? Posts are only exist for 7 days? So they are just deleted after that?
And yes, this is a new account, I'm very new to Steemit and I'm just trying to figure things out. I'm attempting to branch out from Minds where I already have a bit of a presence established.

Sorry bad phrasing on my part. You only get chance for posts to be voted on for 7 days then they pay out, after which you can't get any more payout on them, same with comments. The content stays on the blockchain indefinitely though :)

Thanks for the clarification. I'll keep that in mind as I consider my posting schedule going forward.

"After seven days, the post can no longer be edited."
Oh, this implies they are only active for seven days, during which you can edit them. Are there other actions you can only take during this time window?

Give this a read https://steemit.com/steemhelp/@johngreenfield/steemit-the-ultimate-beginner-s-guide-to-steemit and definitely this https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Rt2Uon6wL-83InlWaV1VfdRr0QSsLFGqnCRvBR_5tx4/edit It should help with everything , and if not read the white paper which explains the blockchain https://steem.io/SteemWhitePaper.pdf <--- I have not read this one though .

Posts are open for voting for 7 days, this includes editing, after that you can't do anything to change it , it can still always be viewed and commented and those comments can get votes on etc so it not all doom and gloom. Just think not a good idea to post your greatest hits in your first week. If you know what I mean. Build yourself and gain community people who will read and vote etc . Chillax is all I can say steemit is not some gold rush just enjoy the ride. :)

Wow, thanks for all the resources! I'll definitely look through all of them.
And my current rapid posting is less about making money and more about catching up with where my Minds account is/establishing credibility as a fiction author. I would hardly consider these stories my greatest hits, I've got loads of other content planned to be released in the future.

Again, thanks for all the useful info.

And I'm glad you saw the point I was going for in this section, though. Politeness is one thing, but once speech codes are introduced things can get really orwellian, especially in the age of social media where people largely communicate through arbitrated mediums. If you wish to use my post in its entirety in your show, you are more than welcome to. I prefer you give me credit, but I'm not about to hold your feet to the fire if you forget. I'm just glad you liked it.

The show is more us all writing a piece on the word of the week so not promotion just a discussion around it more than going ooh look go vote. But for promotion drop in Thursday to Steemit Ramble on Discord you can present our post there :)

As with all things balance is required and your post in regard to the topic is a clear example of that balance just being fucked. Great writing though it was a really good read and will be catching up on the others although I am not always so great at visiting blogs haha, feel free to tag me in a comment or bottom of post so I can get my ass over and read it.

Are you new to steemit or is this just another account?

Yeah, I wasn't asking for promotion, lol. I'm not a fan of people constantly begging for upvotes or whatever, I just upvote stuff I like and recommend other people do the same. I was just saying feel free to use it, reference it, whatever. It's not under any sort of copyright; it wants to be free.

I'll tag you once I've got the full up to date series up so you can read through if you like. I'm going to continue with my original plan of posting one per day, and once I catch up to where my Minds profile is, I'll be posting once a week on both platforms till I conclude the series.

Unfortunately, I've got a previous engagement on Thursday, so I doubt I could make it to this Steemit Ramble.

Great story! moving over to part 2 now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65