Thunderous night.

in #shortstory7 years ago

It’s so dark I can’t see anything; that is while the thunder lighting is not coming from the windows every 7 seconds. The thunders haven’t stopped for hours, it doesn’t let me sleep, and it doesn’t even let me close my eyes in peace. I love rainy days, and the sound of the rain is like music; but thunder is a whole different story.

I decide that I can’t take it anymore and go into my mom’s room, even though she told me not to because I was driving her mad already.

“Mom! Mom!” I yell until she wakes up. “How can you sleep with all this noise?”

“No, not today Thomas. I have work early tomorrow and you have to go to school. Go back to bed now!” she closes her eyes again and pretends to be asleep.

“But mom, the-”

“There are no monsters Thomas, go back to bed”, she already knows what I’m going to say. “You’re 11 years old, when are you going to stop believing all this nonsense?”

“But I’ve seen it, you have to believe me!”

She abruptly sits down and turns to see me. “There are no monsters coming from the sky; thunders are not an opening from another world into this one. How many times do I have to tell you this?” Her voice sounds angrier than ever.

I remain in silence for a few seconds, I don’t want to make her angrier. “Can I sleep with you tonight?”

“No. And that’s the end of the story.” She goes back to sleep.

I give up and walk out of her room, leaving the door open in case I need to run back in if the monsters try to catch me. I take out my flashlight from my drawer, turn it on and sit on my bed looking at the wall. I’m afraid to look out the window, I can’t bear the thought of seeing what I saw a few months ago again.

It was a cold rainy night just like today, but there weren’t as many thunders. I was looking out the window fascinated by the rain when I saw it. As soon as the light hit my eyes I saw a portal, and from it were 3 creatures not from earth coming down from the sky. I still have nightmares about them, their picture can’t be erased from my memory. One was green with 3 eyes and four arms; another one was red and had an intimidating size, like a body builder, he had one big eye and scary teeth; the other one was pitch black, he was incredibly tall, with 4 eyes and carried a bat with nails on it. I don’t know where they ended up, but I’m glad they didn’t come here.

Time passes and thunders only get worse. I stand up and pick up a children’s book from my bookshelf. I know mom says I’m too old for children’s stories, and she’s probably right, but this is the kind of thing I need to take my mind to a happy place. I pick The Blue River. I cover myself with a thick blanket when I sit back down, but the thunder light still gets through. I start reading out loud, trying to ignore my surroundings, but it’s nearly impossible.

My voice cracks as I try to raise it while I go through the pages. Almost finishing the book I realize the thunders have stopped for about a full minute. I take off my blanket and point the flashlight to the window, it’s all pitch black out there now. I stand up and turn on the lights, but the electricity is still not back. Well, at least without the thunders I can have some sleep.

“AAAHHHH”, the loudest thunder I’ve ever heard makes me scream my heart out and drop my flashlight.

I’m hyperventilating, I feel like I’m going to pass out. I can’t move, can’t even blink. There are a million thunders that follow nonstop; it’s like there are a thousand flashlights lighting up my surroundings. I don’t dare look to the window, I have my eyes fixed on my bed.

When my brain decides to let me move again I run straight to hide under my bed where my flashlight fell. I try to slow down my breathing, but I sound like a vacuum and can’t help it. My mom sure had to wake up with this noise, no doubt. But I’m too afraid to go anywhere so I just stay here pointing the light up so I can see to the sides too.
Most kids are afraid of monsters under the bed, in the closet or just in the dark, I was too once. But I know now that’s not where the real monsters are.

The thunders stop again. The only light now is from my flashlight. I’m too afraid to leave this spot; I know it makes no sense, but I feel safe here. That’s until I realize I have no weapons. What if the monsters come for me? What are they even after?

I start to have an extreme fear feeling. You know when you feel like someone is watching you or is near you? Yeah, that’s how I feel right now. And whatever is out there, I know it’s not human.

I turn off the flashlight so no one can see where I am, just in case. But now I can see absolutely nothing; although it’s not like I’d like to see their faces if they come.

BAM! Someone just broke my window. I cover my ears and head; I try my best to shut up and not hyperventilate; at least I think I can’t be heard over the raining. There are no thunders anymore, so I can’t see anything; but it feels like at least one of them is very heavy. I can feel their every step, but I can’t figure out how many are there.

“Come out come out wherever you are.” Says a hoarse voice with in a playful mood.
“Where do you think this one’s hiding, under the bed or the closet?” says the other one with a higher more friendly voice and they both laugh like they’re so used to doing this.
“You take the closet, I’ll take the bed.” Says the hoarse voice.

My heart is about to break out of my chest; tears come down my cheeks. I hold the flashlight as tight as my hands let me and hope I can hit the monster in the head hard enough for me to scape. I can feel that he put something next to the bed, like a bat or an axe. Whatever it is, it can’t be good.

I roll to the other side of the bed as far as I can without coming out of it. How can they see if there is no light? Maybe they can’t see me after all. I can hear his breathing; he’s already looking under the bed, but doesn’t seem to notice me.

“BOO!” says hoarse voice with a loud thunder behind him. His face looks like Satan himself, with the horns and everything.

My hand drops the flashlight again. My first instinct is to roll out of under the bed and make a run for it. But I crash with something that is definitely not a wall.

“Aw, they always run from us. Don’t you want to make new friends?” says friendly voice.

“Mooom! Mom!” I yell as loud as possible and I feel like my throat is going to come out of my mouth.

“Your mommy won’t come to the rescue, pathetic human.” Says hoarse voice.

Another thunder lights up the room and makes me see friendly voice. They’re purple, has a human face, but it looks like it has skin over bones, that level of skinny.

Hoarse voice hits me hard in the head and that’s the last thing I remember.

Sort:  

If you add at least one picture your stories will do way better. I enjoyed it!

Thank you! How do i add pictures? It doesn't seem to let me.

You don't upload them directly but through a link

Congratulations @jeremyroy30! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71