Cycles ∞ (#5)

in #shortstory6 years ago (edited)

A very short story (5 parts) with a plot twist you will not expect.
Inspired by true events, unfortunately. But I hope I can change the way you think about them.

(pixabay)

Part Five

The sun rays warm my face through the window, and I blink a few times to let my eyes adjust. A cold sweat covers my skin, and my bed.

I get up with a sigh and make my way to wash my face, and dress. I just knew that after a long hard day at work I will fall asleep the moment I will lie on the bed.

In the kitchen I fill a big cup of coffee with milk, and enjoy the warmth that spreads in my stomach, waking every cell of my body with each gulp.

Flashbacks of my dream are pumping through my mind, and I shiver a bit. I shake my head, trying to throw my thoughts away.

There is no point in wasting time to think about nightmares, because time is money and right now it's time to go and work.

So I wear my boots and grab my dirty hard gloves from the table. Then I put my cheese sandwich for lunch in my bag, and I leave the house.

As I reach the farm, one of the workers runs to me. He tells me that a new calf was just born, and if I hurry up I can see him before the truck leaves with him.

I get closer and I look at the calf, small and wet. I wrinkle my nose when the smell reaches my nose. This little thing is quite smelly. And almost completely hidden behind his mother.

Oh I remember... only 9 months ago I impregnated her with my hand.

The workers gets closer to his mother and lift the calf, placing him on the truck.

And drive away.

The cow is walking after the truck, until the end of the closed fences. She stares at the calf getting away, until she no longer sees him.

She will stay there around three weeks, for most of the day, waiting for her baby to come back. Waiting in vain.

This is a very normal procedure...

After all, she is also a mom.

The End

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Spread compassion
to the living beings around you,
directly and indirectly.

Be the voice animals don't have.

We have the power to change,
and make this world a better place.

Open your eyes,
your hearts and minds,
and love.

And free.

Free them all to a life worth living.

Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50