You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A SHORT STORY: Overpopulation in Antares

in #shortstory6 years ago

This is such a good story, technically the prompt was supposed to be in the title or opening line, but you did include it, just for next time :)

I love that this isn't at all about people. The world you create is immersive, you can believe this is the world of ants. I particularly liked the sensibilities of the leader, making the choice that would ensure the survival of the colony at the cost of some of the members. A difficult choice, that could have paid off, I liked that it didn't matter in the end though, as nature intervened. A story which shows a depth of skill and imagination, hope to see another entry in the next round :)

Sort:  

@calluna - Thank you for gentle and kind critique. Yes, that is indeed a fuax pas of note! I guess I stubbornly ran with the ending in mind :(

I'm not a regular writer but I took up the challenge to see if there was a way to relate some of the issues of overpopulation to a child.

Thank you for an excellent contest. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44