Anisto's short stories : The Blindman

in #short7 years ago (edited)

Far away from noise and distractions of society lived a sorrowful lonesome man in his middle age. His small house was situated in the depth of the enormous forest he was living in. Long were the last time he made an acquaintance, however he appreciated a good glass of wine in his favorite rocking chair, or simply savoring each sound of mother nature while sitting in his veranda, because of his blindness, he could only enjoy.
One day, by the morning wintry weather, he woke up with the decision of exploring the nature he could not see, there were too much to discover, the wet soil’s smelling invaded his lungs while the trees carried a wind whose whisper made him chill. Keeping on his blind way walking slowly and clumsily, he suddenly stepped into emptiness so stopped and realized he was in a cliff’s edge. He could not go further so he sat, and listened to the different sounds that nature provided him.
While a gloomy feeling surrounded him and made him wish for a better life, a strange voice in the middle of nowhere called his name. He stood up, amazed and asked for the person. He only heard “I am here to make your life better.” Shocked to hear such words from a total stranger, he asked “Who are you, kind sir?” A quite long silence took place before the voice retorked back “They call me the king of jungle, tell me the gift I can offer you, so that your life will be fulfilled.” The blind man answered with a cracked voice, “Give me your courage.” The lion did so. Then came someone else and whispered to his ear: “I am the one people tend to fear. What may I offer you?” The blind man again with a cracked voice answered “Give me your strength.” The bear did so.
When the blind man began to tear, finally appeared a hawk and declared “I am the one whose view is desired by many. May I offer it to you?” He wiped his eyes and responded with a smile painted in his cheeks “These are not tears of sadness, my friend. I am fulfilled; all I need is courage and strength to live in peace and harmony.” Happiness veiled his body while stepping back to his home, because now, he was finally feeling alive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86