Shopshots week 9. Baby it's cold outside.

in #shopshots6 years ago (edited)

20180101_153458.jpg

Well last week I promised more excitement for this week-sorry folks, something happened:it got cold.
Here is my truck's thermometer showing the outside temperature(note the decal on my back window!). At this time of the year in Saskatoon it is dark on the way to work and it's dark again for the drive home. Ugh.

20171230_111650.jpg

There has been no shortage of frozen cars being towed in for a 'no start' diagnoses.

20180101_153713.jpg

Most of the 'no starts' have damaged block heater cord ends. Usually a simple replacement of the cord end and a charge of the battery is all that is needed.

20180101_153311.jpg


There were 2 rare 'no starts' that I had to figure out, this Kia would not start after a basic battery replacement. I found an immobillizer under the hood that was not the problem. A lot of high interest car loans come with an immobilozer installed at the car lot that can be triggered with a cell phone. Even though it wasn't the problem I had my apprentice remove it.

20180101_154536.jpg

With the car still being a 'no start' I decided to remove the remote starter from inside(the owner said they dont even have the remote for the system). Surprise! I found a second immobilizer under the dash and it was faulty.

20180101_154559.jpg

Here are the 2 immobilizers once removed, the owner is happy again.

20180101_153938.jpg


Here is the other rare 'no start' I had towed in this last week. A remote starter that failed causing the truck to not start with the key or the remote. It's not worth diagnosing what is wrong with an old obsolete remote start system, so simply removing it is the solution.
Kind of ironic isn't it?

20180101_153733.jpg


We see it all in the auto repair industry, this poor Honda was towed into town a couple of weeks ago for repairs. Fast forward to last week when the owner started to complain about it feeling unsafe while steering. It turns out that the tow truck somehow managed to bend the tie rods on both sides which caused the front wheels to both point out(toed out).

20180101_153431.jpg

It may be diffucult to see in the picture, but the front tires are worn at an angle from scrubbing due to the bent parts. Wowzers! New tie rods, an alignment and 2 new tires(all paid for by the towing company) and this car is back in service.

20180101_153338.jpg


This one really needs to be put out of service! There is a metal chunk screwed to the seat to hold it up(if you can fit in the seat!) because there isn't much metal holding it in anymore.

20180101_153615.jpg

The entire contents of the trunk are being held up with bbq tongs😲.

20180101_153534.jpg

Don't worry though-it passed a saftey in 1978. This window may just fall out from the rust.

20180101_153552.jpg

--

I hope everyone is enjoying their time at work and staying warm. Until next weeks #shopshots stay safe out there and hug(or tip) your auto service technician!


DQmPx2rVFZnkZ5CkSetxgnxh7TvjLoKapKEbMpc5Hdzti6S_1680x8400.png

Let me know if you have any interest in #thealliance, our Gamma syndicate is growing into a strong family.

@edthecanadian🇨🇦

Sort:  

Man the things that you must see and get brought must be pretty hilarious. I can only imagine.

It's always entertaining.

Cold enough for ya?
Supposed to warm up tomorrow thank goodness!

I'm ready for a few degrees warmer. Thanks Dave.

keep warm dude! LOL!

Haha ! OMG Now thats a rats nest !! Whats the matter with people ! lol! I have not seen daylight for over a month or two ! Work the night shift occasionally when i can get it , but im used to sleeping all day and staying up untill 6 or 7 am , so I see no daylight all winter long !! should take some vitamin D I guess ! Happy New Year and all the best in 2018 ! 😀🎉🎉🎉🎉

Get those vitamins in dear.

Rock n Roll Ed, the STEEM is goin' crazy / peace (-:

Yeah man, keep an eye out for a post soon about some shiney I bought with sbd's!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

I don't know much about cars... I have a driving licence, I can drive, but I know nothing about them. I am blessed to have awesome people around me, if anything happens to my car, there's always people come to "rescue" me.
And is an immobilizer some sort of tracker?

Cars are all consuming for me, they are my whole life(for some reason). The immobilizer would prevent the car from starting if you didn't make a payment.

Oh. My husband is selling trackers (part time online business) which also have a function to immobilize the cars.

Oh very intetesting

I help him handling some of the customers... We do get interesting customers... 😁

I bet you just shake your head in disbelief sometimes at the vehicles that come through!

Oh yes I do. I wish there was a course of action I could take to get some junk off the road.

Can't you tip off the MTO when they pull out🤔 Almost sad to see a car crammed that full.

Yes that is all we can do. The police actually are who we call in Sask, but in the past they didn't want to deal with the problem.

So happy I came across your page. My husband is a mechanic so when I saw your profile said 'Gearhead' I took a peek! You may actually be able to help with advice on my most recent post. I kinda took a shot in the dark that anyone that knew anything about cars would even happen to stumble across the post.

Regardless I like this post. A bit of education and experience. Thanks for your time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66551.16
ETH 3591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.97