Getting the list of followers who vote for jerrybanfield as a witness

in #shitpost6 years ago (edited)

jerrybanfield recently landed to top20 in the witness rankings and today, I saw @erodedthoughts' rage about it.

Every account has a right to vote anyone they want. Personally, I don't buy jerry's posts, even more, I generally flag him due to misguidance on his posts. However, I admit he must be doing something right to get the top20.

I have literally asked everyone I know to vote for my witness and stuck at rank #75 for a while. (7.5k MVESTS vs 60k MVESTS)

Anyways,

"If you do vote for him, please do not follow me" - @erodedthoughts

This one created a little curiosity on me and this thing turned into a simple python script. :)

from steem import Steem
from steem.account import Account
def get_votes(s, account, witness):
    acc = Account(account, steemd_instance=s)
    for follower in acc.get_followers():
        follower_acc = Account(follower, steemd_instance=s)
        if witness in follower_acc["witness_votes"]:
            print(follower)
if __name__ == '__main__':
    s = Steem(nodes=["https://api.steemit.com"])
    get_votes(s, "emrebeyler", "jerrybanfield")

Let's count the output:

$ wc -l list.txt
     299 list.txt 

Turns out, 299 of my 2113 followers votes for jerrybanfield. Not bad. What is your JBVI(JerryBanfieldVoteIndex) on your followers?

Sort:  

@emrebeyler , I voted you as a witness and also you are my proxy. So, I don't have to worry about whom i voted for. This is the best solution lol...
( I hope you will be in top20 Asap, you deserve it)

31/344 = 9 % Although my followers are lesser compared yours, I think percentwise this is less. :)

I stopped approving bid bot owners as a witness. I will start using nobidbot tag for not to use bid bots.

I would really like to vote for more witnesses who are not just in a big circle voting group. Also, witnesses who don't own bots.

Perhaps witnesses shouldn't be able to vote for witnesses themselves? Just a quick thought but that would stop the blockade at the top right?

You got my vote. No really I voted for you a few days ago lol

Well isn't he good for the platform though?

Why? I also thought that Jerry is doing good for the platform.

He turned his own personal account to a bid bot.

He bots all of his content, mostly being literal shitposts and tries to explain how "STEEM WILL BE THE BESTEST OF BEST CRYPTOCURRENCY TOMORROW"

He doesn't support Steemit, Steem platform other than what I wrote above.

He posted something claiming to be Steemfest 2.5 - 3 changed the name instantly when called out.

etc.

He doesn't deserve to be on the top 50 at all.

Thanks for laying out your view. I think it is essential that one explains one's standpoint. Someone saying Jerry is not good for the platform is not enough. One has to explain the reasoning behind that statement.

I had the impression that Jerry is doing good. Even with his bid-bot. Somewhere he mentioned that he is taking some of the income to advertise Steem on FB for example.

Indeed I will do my due diligence on the matter and overthink some of my witness votes.​

We also need the witness downvotes, that I proposed a while ago.
Those 30 spots would fill up quite fast for me:)

line 263, in _return
raise RPCError(error_message)
steembase.exceptions.RPCError: Unable to acquire database lock

I ran it again, and got the list, and am now extremely disapointed in some of my followers, and even friends.

What if we voted for both? ;)

i have just voted for you as my witness @emrebeyler

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79