You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: whatever

in #shitpost5 years ago

I'm more or less ambivalent to the crap content on steemit. I don't pay much attention to it. I know that there is nothing that I can do about any of it, my account is too small to even make a small dent in any of it, and any real flagging on my part opens up my account to destruction.
I'm sure that a hard fork could be used to get rid of bidbots, but I don't think that will happen because a lot of the larger accounts make money from the bidbots. Taking away the bidbots would probably cause some of the whales to divest their steem, thus crashing the value of steem.
The multiple account creation problem is probably harder to solve because the systen allows for multiple accounts. Of course, a secondary account is useless for upvoting yourself with unless you have the money to by steem to power up the account, or you have a primary account with enough steem to be able to power up a second account. Many of us on steemit don't have that ability, but the larger stakeholders do have it. So, it seems to me that this problem is mostly because of the larger steem holders. If you have a thousand liquid steem floating around, it's pretty easy to power up a secondary account that you can use for upvoting yourself for a few cents per vote. I don't see any way to solve that problem within the structure of steemit.

Sort:  

exactly amber. i spose we might as well say. "first world issues", because that's exactly what this is. i found a guy with 12 alts he has powered up enough to give small votes. he doesn't abuse them as much as he could now, but it looks like he has in the past.

steem is an alternative to our current banking system, but it's working out to be very similar, where the rich and powerful make money and the little guys find it hard to power up. all of us little guys are encouraged to power up, but i wonder what would happen if we just dumped steem instead?

who does keeping steem-power profit? the big investors. who is making money? the big investors. ok sure here and there an especially creative dapp creator or blogger willing to bot their own posts has done well. but for the most part in the year i've been here, with the rise and fall of steem, if i powered down right now i just might break even.

Yeah, I understand what you mean. Sometimes I think about powering down and being done with it like so many other people have done since the price crashed. My main problem with that is that steemit is my main outlet for writing about stuff now, so I don't really want to leave. If I look at it as a blogging platform that happens to have the benefit of small rewards, that makes it easier for me to stay on steemit. I also like supporting the people who's content I find interesting. I really don't expect to get support from any of the bigger accounts, I don't write about the right stuff to get their attention. I've been on steemit for a year and a half now, so I've seen the way most of it goes. The content creation just doesn't seem to be the part that gets much rewards.
In the past 6 months or so, we've lost a lot of really creative people from this platform. I'm guessing that they just didn't think it was worth their efforts to put their creative work on the blockchain. I can't really fault them for thinking that way.

Exactly how I treat this. A blogging platform that happens to have money attached to it. I find people I like here and continue to interact with them, and I'm fine. The fact of the matter is, there are still a ton of things being rewarded that would not have been rewarded in any other system, good and bad together.

Now about where the money goes, I'm perfectly happy at a default if we can spread STEEM to as many participants as possible to bootstrap the eventual economy. I venture a guess that content will not be a major component in the grand scheme of things but it will have supported communities that do reward that stuff. And that will just be whichever way the stakeholders are making use of it. Yes it really sucks that right now they passively funnel into their own pockets but that's not everyone at least. There are so many initiatives blooming where stake is allocated to things that increase the value of steem (see: dapps curation, at least some of it anyway). In this bootstrap phase, I'm happy to identify people that are active and helping growth and setting up auto votes to spread it around.

But anyway, I didn't answer your initial question. No, I do not like graveyard passive post farming. But that includes long form posts too, if you have someone that dumps long beautiful posts and never responds to comments. And there are short posts that generate a ton of back and forth buzz that I would approve of. So in some sense, it is why you hear people say content is not so relevant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97