Be like Sherlock Holmes-- in the good ways

in #sherlock-holmes4 years ago (edited)

Image

Those who know me know I really like the fictional character, Sherlock Holmes. The A. Conan Doyle original, specifically. The degree to which I like other versions depends on how faithful they are to the original. The original Sherlock Holmes was surprisingly libertarian for the time and place where he was created.

Of the most recent versions, I like the Benedryl Cabbagepatch Sherlock adaptation (ignoring the 4th season shark-jump) from England a lot more than I like the "woke" Left-Statist version from America called Elementary.

I've been watching Elementary on a streaming service for a couple of months now. But there are times its deficiencies are painful to me-- to the point that I sometimes realize I haven't been paying attention for several minutes. That version of Holmes just doesn't measure up very well. He is not abnormally intelligent or good at deduction/induction/abduction, and he is irrationally anti-gun and pro-police (as is the mood of the whole show). He's just not that impressive or exceptionally gifted. That's anti-Holmesian.

I'm not at all a fan of the movies starring Robert Downey Jr. and I couldn't even bring myself to watch the Will Ferrell version after seeing the previews.

Some of the old TV versions of decades past are pretty good.

I also notice whether the various versions actually use Holmes' methods, or if they are written by someone who doesn't understand what makes Sherlock Holmes what he is and flounders in vain trying to write something they don't understand. Or worse, if they don't like what Sherlock Holmes is so they try to make him something they like better (which feels like Elementary's problem).

I'm not generally a fan of "re-imagining" stuff that works, anyway, unless it is done carefully.

This is a roundabout way to get to a point.

In my most delusional moments of imagined grandeur I like to imagine myself as the Sherlock Holmes of liberty. I want to be able to think dispassionately about liberty and just go where the data leads me regardless of my feelings. I want to emulate the good characteristics of Holmes as they might apply to my own interests. I accept that I have flaws, as does the character-- although Holmes' addiction* to substances isn't one of my flaws.

To the extent this delusion helps make me a better person, it's useful. If it knocks me off-course, then it isn't.

*As someone pointed out, Doyle's Holmes was an occasional drug user, but not an addict. A critically important distinction.

Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
I hope I add something you find valuable enough to support. If so... Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Find me on Patreon

Sort:  

I have been watching comic book reviews of late.

Cause i can't go get comic books.
And it is really interesting that leftists can't write.

Its like they don't understand humans.
I have heard that conservatives can mimic neo-liberals,
but neo-liberals cannot mimic conservatives. They just do not understand what might make a conservative think that way.

Like Ruby Rose Batwoman... breaks into Batman's cave, steals his tech and tells the audience how she is upset that they are giving credit to batman for her actions.

The newest Ironman reboot, with a female Ironman, called "Ironheart"
She does the same thing. Steals an old ironman suit and reverse engineers it... because a teacher said she couldn't be Tony Stark.

Makes you wonder if leftists do not know it is struggle that makes a person.
Just being given everything does not make one great.

Nor does it make an interesting story to follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17