Share Your World - @macoolette

in #shareyourworld6 years ago

syw.jpgSource

I came across this cool #shareyourworld contest of @reonlouw the other day. While I go through the entries and get to know more about the participants, I thought it is cool to join in so here is my entry.Everyone is encouraged to join and have fun. Visit the original contest post for the details.

There are five guide questions on the contest and at least three must be answered.

  1. Tell us about a funny family member or close friend. What makes them funny?
  2. How do you think people describe you when you are not around? (Only positive comments. Nothing derogatory.)
  3. If you were president of your country for a day, what would be the one thing you would change?
  4. What kind of weather do you enjoy the most? Why?
  5. What was the most fun you had as a child?

I will take the last three items.
image.png
Let us say our president wanted to take a break and picked me to be his proxy for a day. In that day, I will exert everything in my power to have a new law be passed. I will have a presidential order signed up regarding regulations of vehicles in the country. I will start the day very early by asking Congress to draft and ratify legislation about vehicle regulations. The draft law should cover the following:

  1. No parking along sidewalks.
  2. Buyers of new vehicle should provide proof of ownership of parking space.
  3. Public utility vehicles should have maximum usable age; 10 years for jeepneys and cabs, 15 years for buses.
  4. Disposal process of aged vehicles.

I will then require the Senate to review, ratify and pass the draft for my approval to be turned into a presidential decree in the afternoon. That will be a battery creation of a law in a day but if prioritized, I think it is possible.

This move is to somehow ease, if not totally resolve, the killer traffic in major cities in the country especially in Metro Manila. The traffic here is not a joke. It causes so much inconvenience and waste of so many resources. If the traffic problem is eased up, people will have more time to spend on more valuable tasks than wasting time along the road, thus making people more productive. Productive people contribute to economic movement on a daily basis and in the long term.
image.png
Source

Once the traffic problem is addressed, I would wish the following day to be sunny and bright. I enjoy sunny days because that will allow me to schedule an out of town vacation after my very tiring and very challenging one day presidency. I will grab that day as an opportunity to be with members of my family and be one with nature. I will invite them that we go back to the town where I was born to enjoy the fresh scent of nature and reminisce the good old days in the farm in the middle of mountains nowhere.

image.png

I was born and grew up in a small mining village where I enjoyed the serenity of nature which in turn molded me to be strong. While there were countless memories that I treasure from my childhood, the most memorable and funniest I can remember was when I was told to hold on to my ears so I won't fall down from the rice field bank. I did.
image.png
Source

Though there were few levels, our rice fields were like terraces so if you fall down from any except the lowest level, you end up one level below which is about three to four meters in depth. I think I was seven or eight years old back then when one day, my elder brothers and I were the ones left in the house. I wanted to go watch our workers on the other end of the field where my mother is but I did not want to go alone for the fear of falling down the dike. I asked my elder brothers to take me but they won’t. I started through the dike but stopped after few steps. I hesitated. One of my elder brothers called out.

“Hold on to your ears so you won’t tip off or fall down!” It was as if I my ears were something sturdy to keep me through.

Guess what? I did hold on to both of my ears and made it to my destination alone!

It was the joke of the rest of the day with our workers and among us until dinner time. From time to time when my elder brother remembers the joke, he would tell his children or our nieces and nephews.

Thinking about it when I grew up, I realized it was a self-boosting exercise. I took it that my brother was saying, “Hold on to yourself and believe in yourself. You can do it!”

Ah... Life lessons come in many different forms.
image.png
Source


Unless different source is cited, all photos and graphics I post are mine. Either I took the photo or I created the graphics through photo editing tools.


Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great entry @macoolette. This must be the most detailed answer we have received for the president-for-a-day scenario. We will all vote for you and you may have to stay for longer... :-)

I love the story of your ears. Will definitely be telling it to my kids. Thank you!

Stay longer for the presidency? Oh no, thank you! One day experience will be enough. 😂

Yes, I guess the ear story is indeed worth sharing to children like my brother has been doing. I actually did not realize the lesson until my adult years. I am glad you liked my entry and that I have shared something that is worth sharing further. 😊 Thank you too.

Thank you! The result was an interesting story.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad you liked it. Thank you. :)

Wow...president..👍 but why you have choosen only three of the question..? Why you left first two😕

Posted using Partiko Android

I left the first two questions because I have the option to do so. 😛 Kidding aside, I do not want to have a very long article and bore my dear readers like you.

So, where's your entry? 😊

My Entryyy....still inside me..jehe hopefully i could make it.......but i never get bored anyhow....btw you were missing from the league..where you have been??

Posted using Partiko Android

You can make it if you want to. 😛

Why, did you miss me from the league? HF20 and limited RC made me do it. 😕

Congratulation to you rwinning, very interesting entry.

Thank you. Congratulations to you too. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74