You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Overcome that hate!

Great post! When I was a teen, I realized that I didn't actually hate many of the things I casually said I did. This actually came about because I noticed a lot of people being abusive and dismissive about our president at the time (George W. Bush in the US), and it made me uncomfortable. I disagreed with his politics, but a difference of opinion and objectives doesn't make the other person unintelligent or unworthy of basic decency. So I decided to say I hated things less, so that I could actually engage with them: I disliked GW Bush's policies, so I wrote him letters, and volunteered with organizations that aligned with my goals, and I thought about how to create the change I wanted, and I voted for congress members that supported the same beliefs. Rather than just complaining, I decided to work for change, and it helped me feel better than if I had stewed in my dislike.

While he had far more power than I did, the president was also just another person, and changing how I thought about him kept me from getting stuck in negativity. I think focusing on what we can change is better.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Sort:  

Definitely, focusing on what we can change is better. Thank you for taking out the time to read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45