Shadow Photo Contest. Round 39. Duo Shadows. Unity of Opposites. Original photography.

in #shadowphoto6 years ago (edited)

The Sun.
She is in hiding.
I wait to see her glow.
To see clearly defined shadows.

A piece of white paper. Two glass containers.
I polish and fill them with water. I wait for sharp shadows.
But then I see. I see the soft subtle caress of light playing on the paper.
Green and pink chevrons. A beautiful interplay of reflection and shadow.
~Ally.

One of the challenges I've always been fascinated by is @melinda010100’s Shadow Photo Contest. I really liked the theme for this week, selected by the guest judge @erikah: Duo Shadows and so I decided to find a likely Duo to photograph.

Being true to my aim of keeping my pieces and articles simple from now on, I arranged two poppies from my garden, into a small glass bottle, placed against a white wall and waited for the sunlight to come streaming through the side window.

However, the sun had other plans for the day and was nowhere to be seen.

While I was waiting for poppy shadows to miraculously appear on the wall, I started to play with two small glasses on a sheet of white paper on my table next to the window. When the sun is out light streams through this window and creates the most wonderful shadows. But not today.

Although the light was not bright enough to cast strong shadows, I noticed a beautiful glow around the base of the glasses. And so I experimented with the space between the glasses until a beautiful interplay of reflection and soft shadow came about.

Original.1-2351.jpg

But, soft! what light through yonder window breaks? ~Shakespeare.


Original.-2350.jpg

It is the east, and Juliet is the sun. ~Shakespeare.


Complementary color and triangles.

I love working with complementary colour and have an innate love of triangles. So I was quite excited to see how the reflections and shadows formed everted and inverted triangles. And how the pink and green triangles eventually overlapped.

And the symbolism

I promised this was going to be a short article: So basically for me, these reflections and shadows represent the unity of opposites.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
All works by Alison Lee Cousland in this article are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate this image even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of this image, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

Soft and gentle Shadows, indeed! You caused me to appreciate your gentle Shadows. Thank you for entering!

Was such a pleasure to play with this arrangement, especially for Duo Shadows Melinda. Sometimes the simplest of things can awaken us to see more of the beauty that's in our world all the time.

It was such a magical moment when I saw the subtle pink and green inverted triangles and how the extending chevrons merged. The other magical moment was when I was writing about it and realized the significance of the two independent shadows merging.

I'm so pleased that you're still conducting this fabulous contest and look forward to participating in many more now. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Paying attention to Shadows has really taught me a whole different dimension of viewing the world.

I can totally understand that Melinda. Reminds me of what our Qigong teacher says:

Where the mind goes ~ The Chi flows. Where your attention goes, your energy flows. 🌀

A beautiful gentle shadow and lovely soft words to go with it i like it !!

Thanks so much @bigsambucca.

I love working with words in connection with an image. Sometimes an image can speak a 'thousand words' but then words sometimes can add something extra again too.

You are most welcome you are right about that it can just add that little bit more to make it just more awesome !!

Thanks again @bigsambucca. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you for participating!

Was a pleasure @erikah.

The subject you selected Duo shadows was such an interesting one ~ I would have loved to have been able to capture the shadows of the two tall poppies. Still on the mantlepiece waiting for the sunlight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74