Sort:  

It's a 12 team league.. most don't have 3 but I think most have 2, so waivers will probably be like the bottom dweller types.

I definitely want a backup and would feel vulnerable to have only 1.. I don't like being one injury away from Tyrod Taylor or whatever.

but 3 is definitely excessive, ya.

If I could have the Rivers pick back and still end up with Ryan as my backup, I'd do it (although, I like Rivers this year).

I guess it will come down to how much I need the roster spot. If I feel handcuffed, I may have to do something about it.

As long as there are 5 or 6 starters left id trade your QBs and stream based on mathup. You sort of limit your upside at more important positions like TE and RB imo......also I failed to read your statement before your team pic lol. Roster is very good tho

They're definitely on the table if I get a good offer.

It's hard to say, imo. The QBs are really deep, but it still sucks to have to use one of the worst guys. (Or not get a starter, obv.)

Five or 6 waiver QBs might be enough to feel safe, but probably not much less than that. The worst couple guys can be shaky, and it only takes one sneaky guy opponent with enough roster room to sweep a few at once and nail you.

You'll need the roster spot at some point for the QB anyways, when your bye does come around. So I don't really agree at all with you guys about not carrying a backup.

At least not in general. If you happened to have a bunch of other guys that seemed more worth stashing, sure. In certain situational cases maybe fly without a backup. But in general I think it's a solid use of a roster spot.

Streaming QB is a strategy I've won with many times. On draft day I tyipically get 1 QB in the last 2 rounds. A lot of times my waiver pickup after draft is my starter. For example 2015 I got Carson Palmer in week 2 and the following season gotten Matt Ryan the same way. Obviously leagues vary but if most teams roster 2 QB, 2 te, and 2 defense they can really limit their hit rate on multiple starter positions......jj zacharieson from number fire has done a ton of study on 1 QB leagues. Very good reads

Pretty sick. I love all the in depth fantasy thought :p

I actually wish DFS (daily fantasy) was less of a thing, and there was more money/energy being put into season long fantasy.. season long so much more interesting. (slow and less money for the sites tho, is the thing I guess)

I'm sites should offer more scoring categories for QB in ppr leagues such as points per completion. 6pt tds with -4 ints should also be the standard. I'm also a fan of 1 pt per 20 yards over 1 per 25. Even then in 1 QB leagues you can mostly fade QB on draft day

Yahoo lets you customize those things. We have points per completion (only 0.10, and -0.10 for incompletions). And we have 0.15 for passing first downs. And some other stuff, like a fraction of a point for 40+ yard completions, and bonuses for passing 300 and 400 and 500 yards. But PPY is toned down to per 50 yards.

But overall it works out to where their value is pretty normal, the top guys project for like 18-20 points.

Nice. I'm a huge fan of points per 1st.

Yeah agreed, QB position is the deepest it's ever been. You have one stud QB and you just waiver the rest. But I need to stop talking so I can win LOL

haha, ya it's deep but there's still a dropoff at some point.

It would only take most managers to carry a backup or two before it runs dry really quick. And if you carry more you do a little bit to encourage there to be that tipping point, and it can avalanche quick if enough managers see that and see the position that the people without a backup would be in.

so rather than play the game of hoping enough people only carry 1, I like protecting myself and not being vulnerable to that.

(3 was extra, but I wouldn't want to not have a backup.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61