MY DRAFT in the Steemit Fantasy Football league ๐Ÿ—’๏ธ๐Ÿˆ

in #sff2018 โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

I went into it determined to take RBs early, and thinking I'd wait hard on QBs.. and somehow I ended up with 3 quarterbacks and taking WR in the first two rounds. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

They gave me the 12th pick, which (probably more than most years) I really didn't want.

As I see it, there are 4 really elite RBs (Gurley, Bell, Elliot, Johnson) and 2 more kind of elite (Kamara and Barkley). And with Antonio Brown in the mix, hopefully someone bites on him instead. So somewhere in the top 7 is nice.

Then you have Melvin Gordon and Fournette. And again maybe someone takes Hopkins or who knows what and they fall. So anywhere in the top 10 I figure I have a shot to get a good RB.

After that you're kind of in the "do I really want to mess around with Kareem Hunt" type of purgatory.

I hated passing on a RB with my first two picks, but taking Hunt just felt wrong and the dropoff to the next guy was too big. I decided to just let loose and take Julio Jones and Odell Beckham, and hope finding RBs later just worked out.

I'm pretty happy with how it shaped up

When the snake came back to me I was able to take Jordan Howard and Jerick McKinnon. Not really familiar with or particularly high on them or anything, but they seem like solid enough RBs before the dropoff got really big.

And then adding Mark Ingram in round 5 I liked a lot.

He seems to usually find a way to be good. And I like suspended guys. (Keep your legs fresh for the playoffs, feller.)

Round 6 was earlier than I expected to take a QB. There are soo many solid QBs, I feel like you should basically not think about it, and just try to get one who isn't awful before there's a run.

But a combination of (1) not having a great pick in my mind and (2) being on the end of the snake and not knowing when a run can occur and (3) Brees available and on the same team as Ingram (so, high upside with the combo) made me feel like picking him can't be that bad.

I basically felt like my team was at least okay so far and that I probably wasn't gonna ruin it by drafting Drew Brees.


How I ended up with three quarterbacks.. I don't know. Phillip Rivers was probably early. Matt Ryan just seemed better than whatever dime-a-dozen W/R/T I could find.

Between bye weeks, injuries, tough matchups, and trade potential.. I don't mind being deep at QB.


I was happy to snag Edelman late, although maybe Cobb would have been better.

Was happy to get James White too. I'm not sure it's gonna be much of a year for him, but the Patriots are weird with RBs and he seems like a decent emergency/flyer option, like in a pinch maybe you can play him and hope for the best.

Draft was great!

It's always so hectic to me, trying to keep up with who I want to pick and then all the chatter on top of that.

The Yahoo! software seems conflicted over who had the best draft.

@pittsburghhodlr won the Duracell Best Draft honors, while @misterhorse got the highest grade on the report cards.

All I can really conclude from this is that @pittsburghhodlr is paid and bought by Duracell.

Most teams got a 'C'. Yahoo! doesn't really know what they're doing. And regardless, games aren't played on paper-- they're played inside television sets, iPhones, tablets, and laptop computers.

So we'll just have to wait until the season begins to see who are the teams to beat!!

#sff2018 #football #latesummer #fantasy #shenanigans

Sort: ย 

Solid squad the giants are giving Odell a contract today, supposedly going to make him the highest paid player in history of NFL. Obviosuly they have been training with him and working with him and see that he is even better than before to be doing this.

Julio just got his max contract re structured to make more money, so hes ready to go off.

Jordan Howard is so underrated in my opinion, guys a beast. But the bears did add alot of receivers for trubisky and they added trey burton whose pretty much a 6'7 WR. Nagy is a pass heavy Offensive type of guy, Howard will get you at least 20 touches a game though.

Jerrick McKinnion is a good pick up because its ppr and he's a great pass catcher. Him and Garroppolo are going to have something special if McKinnion can stay healthy. I really don't see anyone as a threat to take the lead role from him.

Alshon is up in the air, with having shoulder surgery I feel like that could affect him or any receiver in general.

Mark Ingram & Julien Edelman both out for 4 weeks, as long as you can kill it those 4 weeks and get dubs, with them coming back will make you even stronger, but if you go 0-4 thats 1/4 of the fantasy season, will you be able to afford keeping them or trade them up in a package?

Solid Overall squad!

Sick summary!! I appreciate the breakdown.

Ya, in general I love trying to grind through the early weeks and then have your guns ready. But the early weeks do count lol. It's possible for it to backfire.

Edelman is maybe a risk anyways, coming off the injury and the steroid stuff and kind of at the edge of his athletic prime. BUT, he probably will at least sort of be Edelman, if he's healthy.

Thanks man, anytime someone posts something relating to fantasy I'll most likely chime in because I always have soemthing to say lol

I didn't draft a kicker or DEF so maybe that has to do with Yahoo being confused over who had the best draft.

ohhh right, that must be it. He has the most projected points, but you made what they consider the best selections.

Maybe he has the most projected matchup points, but i have the most total points including bench spots? Definitely seems like a weird oversight on Yahoo's part.

Actually I should say that I appreciate that you include the exclamation every time you type "Yahoo!"

ya, I show respect and type their name properly .. I appreciate you recognizing that

Maybe he has the most projected matchup points, but i have the most total points including bench spots?

Ya, maybe that. or maybe on the report cards they compare each selection to that player's ADP or something. But I'm sure that's basically it.. the Duracell thing is projected points, and the report cards are something else.

Imo you may be rostering too many qbs as well. Not sure how many are on waivers but I'd only roster 1 unless most teams have 3

It's a 12 team league.. most don't have 3 but I think most have 2, so waivers will probably be like the bottom dweller types.

I definitely want a backup and would feel vulnerable to have only 1.. I don't like being one injury away from Tyrod Taylor or whatever.

but 3 is definitely excessive, ya.

If I could have the Rivers pick back and still end up with Ryan as my backup, I'd do it (although, I like Rivers this year).

I guess it will come down to how much I need the roster spot. If I feel handcuffed, I may have to do something about it.

As long as there are 5 or 6 starters left id trade your QBs and stream based on mathup. You sort of limit your upside at more important positions like TE and RB imo......also I failed to read your statement before your team pic lol. Roster is very good tho

They're definitely on the table if I get a good offer.

It's hard to say, imo. The QBs are really deep, but it still sucks to have to use one of the worst guys. (Or not get a starter, obv.)

Five or 6 waiver QBs might be enough to feel safe, but probably not much less than that. The worst couple guys can be shaky, and it only takes one sneaky guy opponent with enough roster room to sweep a few at once and nail you.

You'll need the roster spot at some point for the QB anyways, when your bye does come around. So I don't really agree at all with you guys about not carrying a backup.

At least not in general. If you happened to have a bunch of other guys that seemed more worth stashing, sure. In certain situational cases maybe fly without a backup. But in general I think it's a solid use of a roster spot.

Streaming QB is a strategy I've won with many times. On draft day I tyipically get 1 QB in the last 2 rounds. A lot of times my waiver pickup after draft is my starter. For example 2015 I got Carson Palmer in week 2 and the following season gotten Matt Ryan the same way. Obviously leagues vary but if most teams roster 2 QB, 2 te, and 2 defense they can really limit their hit rate on multiple starter positions......jj zacharieson from number fire has done a ton of study on 1 QB leagues. Very good reads

Pretty sick. I love all the in depth fantasy thought :p

I actually wish DFS (daily fantasy) was less of a thing, and there was more money/energy being put into season long fantasy.. season long so much more interesting. (slow and less money for the sites tho, is the thing I guess)

I'm sites should offer more scoring categories for QB in ppr leagues such as points per completion. 6pt tds with -4 ints should also be the standard. I'm also a fan of 1 pt per 20 yards over 1 per 25. Even then in 1 QB leagues you can mostly fade QB on draft day

Yahoo lets you customize those things. We have points per completion (only 0.10, and -0.10 for incompletions). And we have 0.15 for passing first downs. And some other stuff, like a fraction of a point for 40+ yard completions, and bonuses for passing 300 and 400 and 500 yards. But PPY is toned down to per 50 yards.

But overall it works out to where their value is pretty normal, the top guys project for like 18-20 points.

Nice. I'm a huge fan of points per 1st.

Yeah agreed, QB position is the deepest it's ever been. You have one stud QB and you just waiver the rest. But I need to stop talking so I can win LOL

haha, ya it's deep but there's still a dropoff at some point.

It would only take most managers to carry a backup or two before it runs dry really quick. And if you carry more you do a little bit to encourage there to be that tipping point, and it can avalanche quick if enough managers see that and see the position that the people without a backup would be in.

so rather than play the game of hoping enough people only carry 1, I like protecting myself and not being vulnerable to that.

(3 was extra, but I wouldn't want to not have a backup.)

And then adding Mark Ingram in round 5 I liked a lot.

I honestly was thinking about Ingram as well. Even though he is suspended for the first 4 games, I believe he will take you far after his suspension expires, if you let him play, which I assume you will. I hoped to get him as my 3rd RB. If there wasnโ€™t suspension, I would definitely target him in the early round. Overall, Iโ€™m happy with my results and I donโ€™t care what stats are showing, all that matters are real results. I will see you at first round ๐Ÿ˜ƒ and good luck!

yaaaa we collide first week!!

and yup yup! all about the real results. Yahoo! likes to trash talk with their little summaries about what mistakes everyone made, but they don't know shit :p

and ya, missing 4 games is a solid chunk of the season, but hopefully he comes out strong for me after that

I saw you made some solid decisions. Going with WRs with the 12 picks would be my strategy too. WRs are less like to get hurt compare to the star RBs. I really like your Ingram pick and I think Goodwin will give u some solid production. I had Howard last year and if my memory serves me correctly he was solid all season except for 3 games where he had single digit production. I was curious why u picked 3 QBs? Planning a trade down the line? All in all a good roster. Best of luck this season. I canโ€™t wait for kickoff.

lol, with my injury situation mounting, my 3 qb formation could be really short-lived ๐Ÿ˜ฒ

was probably a bad idea from the start lol

Awww, the season hasnโ€™t even started yet u are already doubting your picks. Injuries play such a big part, especially with RBs. I was advise before the draft to always go for the best WRs ahead of RBs because I could possibly pick up cheap backups. That could be the case with you.

Trade potential is def a part of it. I don't necessarily have clear reasons. Matt Ryan just seemed like better value than whatever else I saw at that point. And even if I go on to drop him, it's only wasting a 10th round pick.

One thing that crosses my mind is that whatever backup caliber W/R/T I could get would be more speculative. Whereas with Matt Ryan, even tho it's less likely that I end up needing my 3rd QB, is actually way more likely to pan out and be there as a serviceable option if I did need him.

So I feel like a lot can go right by drafting him and starting from there, and then trim it down to 2 if/whenever I have a better use for the roster spot.

Thanks for sharing your thought process. I have never seen anyone draft 3 qbs, so you have opened my mind to this strategy at the 12 position. I agree that Matt Ryan for a 10th pick is not a bad decision, especially if there were no flex options that u liked. He could easily have an amazing year and youโ€™ll have him as a weapon or a trade potential.

Last year I drafted Dak Prescott in the late rounds and he ended up having great production early and I traded him for a much needed RB by the deadline. I got the better end of that deal as Lativus Murray gave me a few extra points whereas Dakโ€™s production decreased toward the later part of the season.

I hope your 3 qbs pan out as long as they donโ€™t destroy me when we battle, haha. All the best this season. I will go post some contests to raise money for our league. Too lazy to post anything meaning tonight.

ya, I don't know if it's wise or not, if nothing else it's probably not a big mistake. Like a decent fallback move if you're in the weeds a little and not sure what W/R/T you'd want, "meh, I'll take a QB" lol

it maybe was just a lazy decision lol, but I do tend to like having insurance at QB, and flexibility to play matchups and stuff doesn't hurt, if I did keep them all

best to you too, and nice!! I'll keep my eye out. #ContestLife

@full-measure You have received a 100% upvote from @steemguard because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

thanks @verifyme and @steemguard !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75