The Meritocracy - Fractal Ship Design - Art - SFEOS Game

in #sfeos7 years ago (edited)

SFEOS is an open source game that is just starting out. The game developers are harnessing the power of the artist community here on Steem to communally create the art style of the game.

They have recently published this post where they ask for concept art based on this initial story fragment.

DQmbmBeyQ6nwB2jnWT4dFboVVzkf7k6LRxRBCGjYsNijJXD_1680x8400.jpg

I thought I'd throw my hand in an idea for the Meritocracy spaceship. The story states that its architecture is inspired by fractals and that it doesn't look anything like what we imagine a 'traditional spaceship' would look like.

I thought of several ideas: a hollow asteroid (big enough for an entire civilization), a variation on a Dyson Sphere with an artificial sun held at its center using a gravity well, a TARDIS variation where the outside and inside dimensions differ.

I tried to remember other weird, fractal looking, ships. I remembered that in ST:TNG there was the crystalline entity, a fractal shape reminiscent of a neuron that was big enough to decimate entire planets. It definitely doesn't look anything like what we expect a 'traditional spaceship' to look like.

I thought I'd try to come up with something like that. Here's my initial idea as an entry for “ CONCEPT ART CONTEST for SFEOS game” by @ccomons.art.

Fractal Ship.jpg

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. That means: you can copy, share, print, edit, re-interpret, remix and use freely even for commercial purposes.

I thought of it like a diamond or flower with elongated petals drawing backwards. As if we took Sputnik and turned it into a polygon extrapolation of itself.

The ship travels through space by concentrating gravity ahead of it. It's the same principal as an electromagnetic train or a railgun - the concentrated gravity continually pulls the ship forward increasing its acceleration. It wouldn't be very maneuverable with this type of propulsion system, but for interplanetary travel, where speed is the key, it should do well enough.

I hope you like this concept and I'm looking forward to seeing what other artists come up with.

Sort:  

oooo this is amazing ,I love it , I can see it in color , how some plains could be windows and some, in the back , could release flames

Love It!!! Thanks for your great comment. Sounds like you've thought about this a lot!!! FOLLOWING YOU!!

I am in the team :P

Excellent great to meet you, where you from?

Love This Kind Of Thing!! Thanks, FOLLOWING YOU!!

This is a really cool direction! I'm guessing they're will be some traditional looking ships too, but this will spur people to think outside the box of tradition. Rock on sir! I love it.

So True... I like your comment a lot. You've got a new follower!

It's really look awesome. I can imagine this concept will be great in the future.

thank you for your entry! this travels fast towards a prize :)

hope you meant " harassing" in the best way :P

Damn. I meant harnessing. damn auto-correct :(

:))))))))) well the fact you made an entry already puts ["] on the word

I actually laughed out loud when I read that. I knew what you meant but it was still very funny. And I posted it in the discord (and Steemit is a blockchain) so there is always a record of what it used to say ;)

hey look what I did inspired by your design :) hope to inspire you back :P
let's play tennis with concepts :P
meritocracy design template BW.jpg

page design template WITH IMAGE.jpg

I do not participate in the contest , because I organized it :D but because my design was a variation from yours this art is part of your entry to the contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58