Little Cherine Book 10 - BPost072

“Do you know someone more capable? I do not mind not being able to walk properly, but these cramps are taxing my fortitude.”
“I’ll see what I can do sir.” .





If you wish to read from an earlier book, from Book 01 to Book 10, use this link button to open the LC Book Index:



Previous: Book 10 - Post 071



7011


Arrend caught a movement out of the corner of his eye and saw Stone at the door between their homes. She had just turned away and did not know he’d seen her.

They both settled into their new homes and Arrend was pleased to find that the back verandah had been enclosed without losing the natural light and had been converted into a studio for him. He glanced to the side and saw that Stone had a similar studio, even with easel and blank canvas waiting for her. During the second day, the servants of Stone raised a curtain across the communal door. When Arrend came out of his bedroom the next morning, he saw the curtain was gone. He sat by the fire for his toast and tea. He heard an angry exclamation and Stone walked in.
“The prince did not say we are not allowed to put up a curtain for some privacy! I want it replaced immediately.”
“Good morning Stone. I had nothing to do with the removal of the curtain. Should it be allowed, I have no objection to it being replaced.”
“I’m putting a curtain up whether he likes it or not.”
He chuckled. “Uh, Stone, do keep in mind that he is your commanding officer, I don’t think you can appeal his decision to anyone above him.”
“You think this is funny!”
“What the prince hopes for is funny, not our situation. I can’t very well walk away so I have to play along. Why are you staying?”
“When I undertake to do something I don’t walk out in the middle. I’ll leave when it is time.” She hesitated, her eyes on his leg. “Is it healing?”
He smiled. “I don’t think I’ll ever dance on it again, but it is still of some use. Have a nice day Stone.”
They both received written notice from an official of the Court, notifying them that by Royal command, the common door is not to be obstructed in any way. Their peculiar arrangement became known, but none of the men who knew Stone dared snigger when they saw her face tight and hard, her eyes challenging them to joke about it.

It was not easy for Arrend to go to the palace every day and the prince could not visit him often so they did not see each other for days at a time. The building opposite his home was purchased and the interior altered for the council to meet. It was agreed they would meet every Tuesday and Thursday. Within a few weeks Arrend was spending hours every day in the office as he studied books and documents. He made notes for discussing at the meetings, called in attorneys for advice and was the only one who seemed to be taking his role seriously. The others seemed to consider the meeting incidental to their retiring to the lounge for drinks afterwards. Stone found a reason to argue against most of the changes Arrend proposed, so every time he spoke the others looked to her to counter his arguments. Stone suggested a few minor changes and Arrend supported at least two out of every three proposals she made, but she only seemed to recall those he did not agree with and complained about him being an obstructionist, objecting out of stubbornness to her ideas, just for the pleasure of making her look foolish.
The prince ratified the first few proposals agreed upon by the council and suddenly the rest of the council realised their appointment was meaningful and it was not long before they flooded their meetings with proposals - which either Arrend or Stone mostly blocked as being impractical or serving the interests of only a privileged segment of the community.



The prince had contrived a day with almost no appointments or official visitors so he sent his carriage for Arrend. He also invited Stone. They had their meal and sat in his personal study.
“Have you been to see the doctor Arrend? Your leg should have healed by now.”
“The bone has set incorrectly and has to be broken again and re-set for it to heal. I have been warned it could refuse to heal if I allow them to break it and then I’ll have no use of my leg at all. That man, Ferdin, the butler you sent me, he has turned out to be a jewel. He found me a doctor who seems to understand bones and he has helped reduce the number of times I get cramp.”
“He was employed by Lord Gavah, but was fired when we imposed the penalty. I’d heard he was a useful servant with a good mind so I decided to make him available to you. He also would recognise any assassin his former employer might send to you. Arrend, he is not the only lord that wants you dead, all of them are angry with you for making that infamous suggestion of yours. I would not be surprised to hear that even the aristocracy of Europe would like to see the end of you. As you said, all of them value their property above their own lives and the lives of their families.”



7012


Stone spoke enthusiastically. “I am told by the men that your popularity among the people has risen dramatically. The common man and woman say this is the first time any ruler has shown concern for them above that shown for the nobles.”
Arrend grimaced, “If some of the proposals the council are suggesting are ratified by you, you will soon by vilified by those singing your praises. I’m grateful to you for appointing Stone, she has helped block the worst of their proposals.”
“If the council is to be effective, you must not discuss with me any of the proposals and must not try to influence me. I will reject those I do not consider in the interests of our people.”
Arrend nodded without paying attention. “Before I came here, I was just an artist without interest in politics. I am very ignorant on matters that seem to be common knowledge. I do not mind exposing my ignorance to you, if you are willing to instruct me accordingly.”
“With regard to what in particular?”
“Why don’t we have a king? Why only a number of princes - dividing up one nation into a number of ineffective states is illogical.”
Edward was genuinely shocked. “Even if you were a monk it would not excuse you not knowing! In 1842 we declared war on France. The Dutch, Belgians and Germans joined the French and threw us out of Europe. They followed to London and took over. We had to agree to the splitting up of our country, to be ruled by seven princes, with only local governments, or else be ruled by the Europeans. No prince is allowed to annex the principality of another prince and no prince is allowed to be crowned as king. We are not even allowed to make special agreements in common without the blessings of the Europeans.” He grimaced. “So, as you see, my hands are tied.”
Back at home that evening, as Stone walked past the open doorway, Arrend called out, “It is stupid and punitive! We should rebel! Each nation has the right to its own destiny.”
She stepped into his area. “I don’t believe what I just heard! Arrend the artist is a rebel?”
“All artists are.” He chuckled. “Are you going to report me to the Europeans? Join me for a drink.” He started pulling himself up by his stick.
“Don’t, I can get the drinks. What do you want?”
“A glass of sherry please.”
She poured and handed him his glass. She took a sip and sat down on the edge of her seat. “Arrend, I’ve cursed myself a thousand times for breaking your leg. I had not intended it, you fell badly.”
“I have never blamed you Stone.”
“That just makes me feel worse.”
“Alright, if I blame you, will it make you feel better?”
She stared at him a moment and then smiled. “You and your sense of humour! Arrend, is there any way I can make amends?”
“Yes. Paint me something happy. When I can afford it I’ll pay you to teach me how you achieved some of the effects. It is a pity you are not devoted to the arts, I think you can be better than I am - and I do consider myself one of the best at present. Everybody else is just copying everyone else.”
“Thank you.” She gave a slight smile. “Let me tell you a short and silly story I made up as a lesson for myself. This is how it goes - a man is sitting in a pub minding his own business and enjoying his drink before he has to return to his nagging wife. A scruffy and wild looking man enters the pub, sees our friend and rushes over to him. ‘Have you got anything important to tell me?’ The man is caught by surprise but he answers, ‘No’. ‘Can’t waste my time, can’t waste my time’ and he rushes off to the next table. Within minutes he is out of the pub, for no one had anything important to tell him. Our friend asks the barmaid, ‘What was that all about? What important news is he expecting?’ She laughed. ‘Years ago he fell in love with an empty headed lass. Being in love he spent countless hours listening to her trite conversations. Then she decided he was boring and found herself another man. He went into shock, disappeared for a long time and since he reappeared, he’s gone around asking for important news. If you have nothing important to say, he rushes off to the next person.’ The man watched her skim the foam off his ale and taking a sip he mused, ‘He’ll never hear anything important because he does not take the time to listen to people.’”
Arrend grinned. “Is that how you see me?”
“You do get on my nerves at times because you do not listen to what is said, only to your own ideas.”
“Stone, I am only three or four years older than you, I’m not the wise old man you seem to think I am. Sometimes I do hear you and sometimes I get afraid of what you will become if I do not try to help you see the world with fresh eyes.”



7013


They chatted for about forty minutes, she went to his kitchen and prepared him tea as he intended reading for a few hours and returned to her rooms. Hours later she woke up to go to the bathroom. She saw his light on and when she drew close to the opening without putting her lights on, she saw him covered with perspiration as he struggled to keep his moaning inaudible as he rubbed his leg. The next two nights she spied on him and saw he no longer retired to his bedroom, only going there once his butler was up and about in the morning and able to help him to his room. Filled with guilt, at their next council meetings she backed his every proposal. Arrend waited until evening.
“Stone, could you keep me company awhile?” She did, but she could not relax. “I have something important to tell you, will you hear me?” She nodded. “Do not ever again do what you did to me today! Here, in the privacy of our homes, we can be nice to each other and agree to things we would not admit to agreeing to in public. Never outside, not with the prince, not when with friends and never during our council meetings. I need you for sharpening my teeth on so that I am pressed into considering all aspects or else I will become as foolish and self important as the rest of them. The same applies to you. Our first responsibility is to make this a better world for everyone, but to achieve that we must remain adversaries in public. If you want me to hold your hand while you weep and curse whichever scoundrel broke your heart, we do so only here in private once the servants have withdrawn.”
“I was not being nice to you, I agreed with your proposals.”
“Not true young lady! You were nice to me because you were feeling guilty and sorry for me. I don’t need your pity.”
“Damn you, you impossible…man!” Angrily she strode over to her side, wishing there was a door for her to slam behind her.



“Do you ever find that your responsibility to others conflicts with the responsibility to yourself?”
Stone nodded. “Yes. Sometimes it needs a lot of self discipline to remember that my responsibility to society at large is more important. It is easier if the conflict lies between my interests and those of a person I care about, having a face to identify with makes the sacrifices seem to be more worthy.”
“Your last comment I agree with, even though, strictly speaking it also is wrong. Your first answer, I do not.”
She glanced at him thoughtfully, no longer rushing in to protest as she used to. Close to a year of listening to him play his mental games with her while in the privacy of his home had taught her to think first and try to work out what he really meant. “You are claiming that responsibility to yourself comes first? That would make us a nation of selfish people.”
“Does it not depend on how you define the responsibility to yourself? The difference between the most selfish of people and the altruistic depends on that definition.”
“Give me a day or two to think it over before continuing. Speaking of definitions, are you going to support my submission regarding divorces?”
“I won’t be doing so, I think you are wrong.”
“The laws as they stand cause a lot of misery, how can you say I’m wrong to want to give the wife and children some rights?”
“Add clauses to the present laws giving the wife and children the rights they need. Easing the process of divorce will end up causing more misery and destroy our society.”
She shook her head. “I’ll never understand how you can be so liberal in nearly everything and yet so stubbornly conservative in others.”
He smiled as he handed her a verbal weapon. “Perhaps I am most conservative where my own fears blind me?”
Her smile was far more gentle than it usually is. “I’ll not take you up on that yet. Arrend, why are you shivering, are you cold?”
“A little. I think that getting caught in the drizzle this morning did not do me much good.” She moved over to feel his brow.
“You have a slight fever.” She brought him a blanket, stoked up the fire and left to prepare a pot of tea. She added honey and lemon with a tiny tot of whiskey and made him drink it. He scowled and pulled a face but obeyed her. She sat next to him as he lay on the sofa and took his hand in hers. “Don’t you dare get sick!”
He chuckled. “If you’ve forbidden it, then I am too much of a coward to disobey you.” He brought her hand to his lips and let her go with a warm but tired smile. As he sank into his thoughts, his eyes closed and he did not notice her face tighten in fear.

Prince Edward was pacing from one end of the room to the other, a worried frown on his face. He swung towards Arrend. “Montgomery, our representative, died from over-eating. He never did know when to stop and those huge banquets the Europeans are so fond of killed him. Who do I replace him with?”
“What kind of representative was he?”



7014


“He represented us in Europe. He never trained anyone and now I don’t have someone knowledgeable enough to take his place. You wouldn’t happen to speak French and German would you?”
“Stone does.”
“Are you out of your mind? To send any women to them would be construed as an insult. To send her would be a total catastrophe and I’d probably be replaced as prince of my little principality.”
“I still say, send Stone.”
“Go home, I haven’t got time for crazy ideas.” A few hours later Edward sent for Stone. Without greeting her he demanded to know what languages she spoke. He then ordered her to go home and shocked her by telling her to advise Arrend he’ll be joining them in two hours. She was mildly upset when Arrend only nodded and continued reading, and wondered what he knew that she did not.

“I was about to appoint my cousin, at least he speaks German, but only then I found out that he was part of the conspiracy, Lord Gavah having agreed to declare him the new prince. Arrend, we do not have a choice, I’ll send you with Stone as your assistant and translator.”
“I am honoured Prince Edward, but I regret I cannot accept. Give me two weeks and Stone will be ready.”
“Damn it! I’ll have to send my cousin, despite knowing he intends stabbing me in the back whenever he can. You’ve let me down badly Arrend.”
“It cannot be helped sir, I am not a politician and I would turn them all against you. Stone has the self discipline and intelligence to handle them diplomatically.”
“Nonsense! Stone, I’ve tried all I could for over a year now to open your eyes and help you understand why I value him so much, but every time the two of you meet in public you insult and belittle Arrend. I do not consider that either a sign of self discipline nor of intelligence.”
Arrend smiled and placed his hand on hers. “I’d say she’s done that rather well, wouldn’t you?”
“What?”
“She has done so at my request. Because of her I am not taken seriously and I manage to slip many of my ideas into the council by having her speak them. She is almost ready to handle the position, just give us two weeks.”
She asked, “Don’t I get a say in this?”
“No my dear, you don’t. I’ve become too fond of you, so it is time you move on.”
Prince Edward suddenly clammed up, asked Stone to visit him in the palace the next morning and left.
As soon as they were alone, Stone asked, “I think it is time you give me an explanation Arrend.”
“About being too fond of you or about the position you are being offered?”
“Both.”
“I don’t know who I am Stone.”
“What!?”
“All I recall is from the day I arrived at this city. Oh, I have some background memories, but I do not remember my family, where I grew up and so on. I have had to learn to depend on my intuition to a larger degree than I think is normal for most people. My intuition tells me there is someone I love more than my own life and that she loves me too. I cannot allow myself to love anyone else until I rediscover my past.”
Stone was literally shaking. “You are the same as me!” She burst into tears. Arrend was too shaken to show his usual sensitivity and demanded to know what she meant. “My first memory is of being surrounded by Swivin and his men, demanding how I’d entered their courtyard. I also have a strong feeling that I love someone, so I’ve been terrified of you - because I can sense how strongly I am drawn to you.”
“You are certain it is not guilt and pity? Forget it, that was stupid of me! We both arrived on the same day, well, I had to walk into the city so I arrived one day before you. We both don’t know where we come from and we both have the feeling we love someone. Add to that the fact that I would never have expected to find such strong feelings for you within myself and you say you feel the same way. Stone, don’t you see? Whatever happened to make us lose our memories, we must have been together. Could it be we arrived with our love for each other intact and have only rediscovered it? If so, what a miracle our hearts are!”
Barely finding the courage, she asked, “If you’re wrong?”
“We belong together, can’t you sense it? I’m too young to feel like a father to you and yet I’ve been overcome with the need to guide and protect you from the first day I met you. Stone, I feel as if a great weight has been lifted from my heart - I would not feel this way if I was wrong, I too would be plagued by doubts.”
Suddenly they were both nervous. Arrend burst out laughing. “Can you imagine Edward’s face when I tell him I’ve changed my mind and I’m coming with you?”



7015


Stone felt herself trembling. “Arrend, I need some time to think on my own.”
He sobered. “I didn’t expect you to fall into my arms. If you decide I am right, let’s start over as if we truly met just last year and let me woo you. Until we recall the past, our love has to grow from who we are now.”



Prince Edward scowled. “Arrend, I asked to see Stone alone.”
“My apologies Prince Edward, however, I came for a reason that will please you. I’ve decided you are right and I will go to Europe with Stone. She will be your representative, but I will be with to give advice when she needs it. May I ask for a favour that I know is not normally allowed? Please send everyone from the room, including the guard, we need to talk to you alone.”
Swivin spoke quickly, afraid his prince might agree and force him to contradict him. “As much as you are both trusted, it is not possible. A guard must remain.”
“Stone, do you trust Swivin to keep our secret?”
“I do.”
“Will you stay as guard to our prince then and agree to keep our secret from all?”
“If the prince so demands it.”
Edward nodded his assent. “Send the guard out, he must return within ten minutes unless you go out to instruct him otherwise. Arrend, I am according you trust that I do not show most of my own family, but I must ask that both of you stand at the other end of the room.”
Carefully, Arrend removed the sword belt from Stone, handed it to Swivin, removed her knife from her boot and then the two of them sat side by side as far from the prince as possible. “Prince Edward, we discovered that the two of us are not who we thought we are. It is a strange tale and we are just as puzzled as you are going to be.” He then explained in detail, starting from the moment he found himself on the road outside the city. Stone then told her side of her story.
“What is the purpose of this fanciful tale Arrend?” Without waiting for an answer, his anger very apparent, he turned to Swivin. “Do your duty.”
Guards were called in and the two of them were escorted to cells and locked in. Swivin stood by the cell of Stone until the other guards had withdrawn. “The two of you better find proof of who you are if you wish to leave here. Neither of you will find it possible to regain the trust our prince gave you, but at least, if you can prove you are innocent of any intent of harming him, you’ll be allowed to leave.” He turned to Arrend. “You have already caused him great harm. Many have been angered by his easy acceptance and trust in you with regard to matters that have nothing to do with art. They will now claim you have proven his lack of good sense and provided them with reason to question his ability to rule us.”
Her voice filled with indignation, Stone asked, “What reason will they give for us volunteering the information about our past?”
“They will find reasons that suit them.” Arrend nodded in agreement.
Stone asked, “How are we supposed to find proof, locked up in here as we are?”
“That is your problem, I cannot assist you. The Public Prosecutor will arrive in a while with the formal charges. You may ask him to arrange for your attorney to visit you.”

“So much for telling the truth. I seem to recall someone telling me that the truth will set me free.”
Stone called out, “Guard!”
“What do you want?”
“Please remind Swivin that we need the medication Arrend takes.”
“Speak to the Prosecutor when he comes.”
“Will he come today?”
He pretended to scratch his head in thought and then grinned. “I doubt it, he might arrive tomorrow sometime, or perhaps, next week.”
“But he needs it tonight!” The guard did not bother answering her and returned to his post.
Arrend spoke softly, “Don’t fret love, let’s concentrate on how we can get you out of here.”
“I’m not leaving without you.”
“I think you’ll have to. I’ll ask that you represent me, not some attorney. We need to convince them that they must free you so that you can search for information about our past. When they release you, if they do, you must leave the land Edward controls. Take the road I arrived on until you arrive at the next city. If they imprison me it must be for a set time and soon as I am freed I will come to find you.”
“I told you, I’m not leaving without you.”



7016


“If you don’t leave I’ll die. Knowing you are free and waiting for me will give me the courage to survive.”
Her voice broke, “I can’t Arrend.” She withdrew into the corner, arms about her knees as she brooded. Arrend lay down on the pallet and closed his eyes, hoping he’d get some sleep before night arrived and the pain grew worse from the damp in the cell.

The prosecutor was obviously one of those who’d resented the close relationship that had grown between Arrend and Prince Edward and was abrupt and arrogant, charging them with conspiracy to commit treason. He afforded them the minimum consideration accorded by the law, offered to contact the attorney of their choice and left - sternly explaining it was up to their attorney to arrange for any medication required. Arrend refused to appoint an attorney.
“Can you lie alongside the bars so that I can massage your leg?”
“That would help a lot, thank you.”
As she kneaded the muscles she stared at his face now and then. She gave a small smile. “You’re not going to make it easy for us, are you?”
“No attorney will care to be associated with us and if one is appointed by the court, he shall not have our interests at heart. It is more than likely he’ll strike a deal with the prosecutor so that our defence falls flat. I think the two of us can do better.”
“What is our defence?”
He grinned. “You’re going to think my idea is queer and probably break my leg again. I was thinking that our defence should be that, although we plead not guilty, we advance the theory that we have no defence - which proves our innocence. Why would we tell the truth about our past just when we were about to be sent off to Europe where we would be safe and, why would we do so if we planned to harm the prince?”
“Somehow I don’t think they’ll be impressed by your argument.”
“I thought it was quite an impressively convoluted argument.” He grinned at her.
“You’re not taking our situation seriously!”
“I am, love - I most definitely am. You are forgetting that basically I am but an artist, you must not expect me to think as a trader or a politician would.”
“Then it will have to be up to me to find a way out for us and I’m going to get your medicine tomorrow.”
“I knew there must have been a good reason for me to love you - before and now. Please don’t take any risks, I can’t bear the thought of losing you.”

Once the guards had settled down, Stone drew off her belt and using the buckle she fiddled with the lock. When it slid open she returned to sit by the bars, her hands soft once again as she rubbed his crooked leg. Before dawn the guards stirred, mostly preparing to hand over to the next shift. One of them looked in to check on the prisoners and his loud curse brought them all in, swords being drawn as they entered. Stone stood outside her cell, lounging against the bars.
“Get back inside.”
“If you can put me back in, I’ll stay in. If not, then maybe I won’t. I do have an errand to run, so I suggest you hurry it up.” She was not interested in putting on a show and moving faster than a wild cat, she disarmed all three of them as quickly as she could. “I’ll be back soon.”
By the time she returned, she found the prison compound swarming not only with prison guards but also men from Swivin’s command. Not believing their eyes, the prison guards rushed to grab Stone. A voice called out, ordering them to stop. The second in command under Swivin calmly walked to intercept her on her path to the prison entrance.
“Why have you returned and why did you escape if you did not mean to leave?”
“We’ve been asking for the medication Arrend needs, but nobody was willing to bring it, so I went to get it. I respect the law, but I demand that those who hold us prisoners also respect the law.”
“May I see the medication?” She showed him. “Have you a weapon concealed on you?”
“What for? I could have taken theirs when they tried to stop me earlier.”
Hiding his amusement he turned to the prison guards, “You may escort her back to her cell. I suggest you do so politely, she is lethal when she is angered. My lady, I will visit your cell once a day to ensure you are treated fairly. If you need further medication you only have to let me know, I’ll bring it for you. Escaping only increases the charges against you - even if you return of your own volition.”
An officer of the prison guards sharply rebuked him, “She is charged with treason, it is not seemly that an officer of the palace guards shows her such favour.”



7017


His voice filled with disdain, he called out loud enough for all the men to hear him, “I do not recall any of you at the battle against Lord Gavah. If you had been there, you would at least show her the respect due to her. Our prince has openly given her credit for her bold strategy, and her bravery in attacking the enemy on her own is well known to every man, woman and child. What she is charged with has still to be decided on, so I suggest you do not leap to conclusions and keep a civil tongue.”
Stone nodded at the captain of the prison guards. “I ask a favour. I wish to share the cell of Arrend so that I can take care of him. I’m certain the prince would not wish him to die before the trial? That could lead to his enemies claiming he died because of torture and ill treatment.”
“It is not my decision to make, I’ll pass on your request.”
She asked Swivin’s officer, “Can the prince give such an order?” He nodded. “Will you ask Swivin to pass on the reason for my request?”
A few hours later guards opened the cells and they were led to another cell two floors above that was obviously meant for influential people or prisoners of the aristocracy. As soon as they were alone, Arrend offered her first chance at the bath. The food that arrived that evening was not the gruel they’d been offered before and Stone nagged until Arrend ate all that was on his plate.
Stone sat next to Arrend, taking his hands in hers. “I love you and I feel it is right to love you, however, I will not have it that our first time of loving was in prison. Can you wait?”
“You choose to see this time as one of shame? The shame is theirs my love, not ours. We have served the prince honestly and done all we could to improve the lives of the people. We must stand proud or else we will be betraying ourselves.”
“In 1574 a baron on trial called for his king to act as his defence witness. The judge ruled he had the right to do so. Does the idea appeal to you?”
“Prince Edward is a very private person love. If we call him to the trial it could lead to him having to speak of private moments - I presume that was what you intended? I cannot agree to that.”
The next morning the guard announced they have a visitor. A stranger to both of them was brought in, and from the courtesy and deference shown by the guards, they guessed he must be someone of importance.
“Please stay seated, I am aware of the damage to your leg and would not wish you to suffer further pain on my account. I am Zinn Prilad, First Secretary to the United European Governor of the British Isles. According to the Treaty we are entitled to intervene on your behalf madam. I regret we are not allowed to interfere on yours, sir. The evening before your arrest, our official representative was informed of your appointment as official agent of the prince. According to the Treaty, no agent appointed to represent any of the princes may be recalled or arrested without first supplying us with full reasons for such recall or arrest. If we ascertain the evidence justifies such action we will agree, otherwise, we are entitled to declare such person under our jurisdiction and protection. Madam Stone, we do not have your full name, would you entrust me with it?”
“That is part of our problem, we don’t know.”
“You are married?”
“We believe so, but we cannot prove it.”
“Would you confide in me what has led to your arrest?”
First Stone and then Arrend recounted their full history, as from the moment they first became aware of themselves. Zinn questioned them to some depth, even analysing their conclusions. He ordered the guard to bring them tea and refreshments and excusing himself lit his pipe.
“An interesting tale. I am puzzled by your amnesia. What could have caused such a trauma to your minds? I’ve never heard of two people suffering amnesia at the same time. A further detail puzzles me, but I’ll discuss it after I’ve made my point. My thoughts are that if something did happen to cause such amnesia to both of you, it must have been something two strong personalities could not bear. I regret the pain I may cause, but I do feel I should point this possibility out to you. The only reason I can think of such an unlikely event occurring is if something both of you could not bear to recall happened, such as the cruel death of a child of yours. Do you feel it is possible?”
Arrend gave Stone a questioning look. She blushed. “I do not see any evidence of having born a child. God, I hope you are wrong, I could not bear to have forgotten any child of mine.”
“It is unlikely you have had a child if your body is unmarked - I speak as husband and father of two children. The second point I mentioned that puzzled me, is the following. Let us imagine there is some kind of drug that was administered to both of you, I will check with the professors at our medical college whether such a drug does exist, why would your enemies have delivered you both to the same area and why at different times? Surely it would have been in their own interests to keep you apart?”
Arrend frowned. “The same question had occurred to me and I am just as puzzled.”
Zinn leant forward. His face serious. “I am satisfied that you have provided me with all the information you hold. Madam Stone, I am entitled to demand your release. As for you sir, if the Governor agrees to accept responsibility for your release, would you both undertake not to leave your home until after the trial? I do not see either of you as a threat to your prince and see no reason why you should be kept in prison.”



7018


“I regret I cannot accept.” Startled Stone looked at him, but did not protest. “The day we went to speak to Prince Edward, I also advised him that I would be going to Europe as the advisor of Stone. The reason I made such a decision, I did not have time to explain to him. I wished to be with Stone, but I also had an ulterior motive. I wished to examine your own laws and challenge your right to administer our country indefinitely. In all important aspects our country is lagging behind Europe, technologically and socially, because of being split into smaller states that are not allowed to work together for the common good of our people. Under such circumstances I do not acknowledge your authority and therefore cannot accept your assistance. We are grateful to you and your Governor, but prefer to depend on the fair rule of law of our own government and prince.”
Zinn stood up. “Under the circumstances I do not see how we can be of assistance.” He leant before Stone, took her hand and brought it to his lips. “Madam, contrary to what your prince may have thought, your arrival in Europe would have been a breath of fresh air in our diplomatic circles and welcomed by most of us.” He turned to Arrend. “There are supporters of your viewpoint in our countries sir, it is a pity you will not be visiting us. I admire your principles and I hope your prince recalls your past services to him and stops this charade. Unfortunately, princes live with the constant fear of plots against them, so I regret I find it unlikely you will be freed without going to trial.”
Once he was gone, Stone turned to Arrend. “I liked him.” She saw his worry. “I’m glad you refused him, it made me proud of you - and proud that you love me.”

Just over an hour later the guards opened the door and told them they are to visit the palace. Arrend nodded with just the hint of a smile and they followed the guards. They were taken to the public office where the prince usually meets officials. They waited for the prince to talk to them first.
“The visit was monitored and we heard what you told the First Secretary.”
“I assumed so Prince…”
“Silence! You will speak only when given permission. As I said, we heard your explanations and your refusal to accept his help. It is the opinion of my Ministers and I that both of you are innocent of all charges and are the victims of a crime committed by unknown persons outside our jurisdiction. You are free to resume your lives as you wish. We hope you shall remain in our city and continue assisting the Council in suggesting improvements to the running of our government.”
“We would be honoured.”
“A reasonable sum will be deposited in your accounts in compensation for your suffering.”
As they walked out of the palace gates they were confronted by a small crowd who’d obviously heard of their imminent release and they were cheered. They smiled and nodded, but got out of there as quickly as possible. As soon as they entered their home, Stone flung her arms around him and kissed him. “You crazy fool! You nearly told him we knew they were spying on us. It was stupid to use a painting when their prisoner is an artist.”
“Prisoners love, you are an artist also. I feel like having another bath first - would you like to join me?”
“You want me to share a bath with a man who has never even kissed me?” Arrend immediately corrected the deficiency and laughing like children they stripped each other after they closed the bedroom door.



Two weeks later they were summoned to meet the prince. Stone refused to pass on the invitation because Arrend was suffering another bout of severe cramps. Another messenger arrived to advise them that a carriage would collect them early that evening. Arrend had taken a strong dose to neutralise the pain and was a little dazed, but they felt it would lose them the little goodwill that remained if they refused again. As they entered, Prince Edward realised that Arrend was drugged and saw to it that he is helped to a comfortable sofa and his leg was raised onto the seat.
“I’ve talked with the Governor’s agent and he reassures me there are excellent medical facilities in Germany. The two of you will be travelling there in five days time and all expenses will be borne by our treasury.” He looked Arrend in the eyes. “Perhaps you could spend a couple of months recuperating in Germany while Stone examines their law books?”
“Thank you sir.”
No apology was made and none was expected - Arrend was just glad to return home to the care of Stone and Ferdin his butler. When he dozed off they withdrew to talk.



7019


“Madam, I am puzzled by his condition. He seems to be weakening without reason.”
Her eyes filled. “Thank god, I thought I was the only one who saw that. Could the continuous pain be responsible? I know he sleeps less than four hours a night.”
“Pain would wear him down, but it should not weaken him so fast. He appears frail to me now, whereas he used to give me the impression of a strong and burning spirit.”
“Do you think he is being poisoned?”
“I have taken measures to ensure that is not the cause from now onwards. I apologise for not thinking of it earlier.”
“We’re leaving in five days! How do I protect him then? I can’t even tell him, he’ll refuse to listen.”
“Perhaps it could be arranged for me to come with?”
“Please send a message to Swivin that I need to see him. Ask for him to call on me at my side of the house, I do not want Arrend disturbed.”
Swivin arrived far earlier than she’d expected. He grinned when she acted like a hostess, offering him tea. “This does not suit you, far better you offered me an ale in a public house. What is worrying you Stone?” She explained their suspicions and he called for Ferdin. Ferdin confirmed their diagnosis and he looked worried.
“Do not allow anyone into the kitchens. I’ll see to it that samples are taken tonight for analysis. If you are right, it means Lord Gavah has arranged for his revenge and we must prove it is him.”
“I don’t think it is him sir. He has never done anything like this and he would consider poisoning his enemy as dishonourable. I suggest you look to those who do not wish for the changes my master and the lady are responsible for.”
“Swivin, we need Ferdin to travel with us so that he watches over Arrend while I sit in libraries studying their laws. Could it be arranged?”
“It is a reasonable request, I’m certain it can be arranged, as long as a berth is available.”
“Berth? We are going by ship?”
He grinned. “No, you’ll be travelling by those new dirigibles, zeppelins I think they call them.”
No poison was found in the food and drinks. It was found in the medications. The pharmacist was taken in for questioning, but they came to the conclusion he was not responsible. Ferdin, the housekeeper and the maid were also taken in for questioning and when their rooms were searched, they found a tiny parcel of poison hidden in the room of the maid Suzan. She refused to acknowledge any knowledge of the poison, but she was taken to a cell.
“Stone, I do not think it was Suzan. If it was an inside job I would say it is more likely it was the housekeeper Miara. I’m certain she deliberately kept the parcel in Suzan’s room to avoid being found with the poison, diverting suspicions from her.”
“How can we prove it Arrend? She’s not likely to do anything during the few days we are still here.”
“It doesn’t feel right to do nothing when I know an innocent person is being punished.”
“We’ll have to leave it for when we return, it cannot be avoided.”



They were summoned for a final meeting with Prince Edward. He gave Arrend a ring. “Wear this and any friend of mine will succour you in time of need. Arrend, you have been a bad influence on me. I decided to take the First Secretary at his word and have informed him of Stone’s mission. He has promised to provide her with assistance from one of the best law firms in Germany.”
Arrend grinned. “King Edward! That has a fine ring to it.”
“Not likely though, my older brother is first in line. I’ll just be a prince without any authority. I’m pleased to see you have recovered from the attempt against your life. I have been assured the maid will provide us with the names of those who employed her.”
“We cannot prove anything but, please ask your er…officials, to go easy on her. We do not believe she was involved. We think the housekeeper kept the poison in the maid’s room exactly for this contingency.”
“I’ll let my people know.”
“Prince Edward, please do not advise them of our suspicions. Just order them not to pressure the maid and to treat her decently. We do not know who the enemy is and it would be a pity to let them know we suspect their assassin.”
Swivin interceded. “My prince, that complicates matters. If you do as Arrend asks, everyone will suspect you ordered the poisoning.”
Arrend struck his forehead. “God! I’m sorry, I didn’t think of that!”
“Swivin, can she be spirited from her cell and hidden in the countryside? Arrend, you have complicated my life no end, I think I shall be pleased to have you out of my principality for a while.”



7020


The coach collected Stone and Arrend at six in the morning and rode directly to Dover. The zeppelin was leaving the next morning so rooms were provided for them and Ferdin. At dawn they were awoken, given a quick breakfast and by eight they had embarked. At nine thirty they rose into the sky.
The two of them stood by the big windows, where most of the passengers had also gathered, and they watched as the land fell behind and they floated over the sea.
“Imagine that! I never thought to fly in the sky.”
Stone cuddled in against him. “Your mind spends most of its time soaring among the clouds, now your body has followed it.” He chuckled and kissed her.

A horrified crowd watched as the zeppelin that was already growing smaller with the distance suddenly blossomed like a red flower. Men rushed to boats to search the ocean at the place they’d seen the wreckage fall, but no survivors were found, not even any bodies torn and burnt as there should have been.


They were only absent for one day and fourteen hours. For us that felt like an eternity. It was as if our family circle, having been broken by their absence, was shattering. It was not the case of course, just our own fears made it seem so. Our jubilation at their return was instantly squelched as we felt them. Cherine saw to it that we were blocked so that the two of them could have some time alone while they climbed down the mountain. Common sense and our knowledge of our loves warned us that they must have faced something frightening or painful for Robbie to be concentrating only on Jade, instead of Cherine. There were tears of happiness in our eyes as we felt how their love for each other has grown. Finally they stood before us and we were free to release our exuberant joy. Smiling and laughing, the two of them collapsed beneath their crowd of wives.

Normally we would have shared as a family as soon as possible, but etiquette demanded we first share with our hosts. The Firmziani were excited about learning for the first time ever of a dream by another species. Not because it confirmed the power of their mountains, that was just a fact to them, but because they had never shared with an alien species before and, finally, simply for the reason that it was a dream to be shared. It did mean that much that they were told would not be understood by them and they knew that, without it bothering them in any way. We shared a meal in the gathering area and when it was dark enough for the glow of the flowers to lend a special atmosphere to the telling, Robbie and Jade told their story. Jade used the technique she uses to ‘show’ what is being related in our tellings and the wonder of it caused a constant buzz of amazement after amazement. They really are capable of enjoying any wonder with the simple joy of children and we were touched when they wept whenever pain was shown.

When the telling was done with and we’d ‘shared’ drinks, us mostly drinking coffee and cold drinks, we returned to Freddie for us to share in our own way, between the family and all the species that are capable of sharing with us. The sharing left us feeling uneasy.

Jade asked, “You all have the same feeling Robert and I have? We’re convinced it was not a dream, we were sent to another reality.”

“Quite an impressive achievement,” Imoha said, “if you consider you were provided with bodies while yours remained on the mountain.”

Robbie had doubts. “Did they Imoha? We are told they did, but nobody was there to see that they did.”

“And you returned with your leg instantly healed, without your healer healing you? Surely the one is just as impossible as the other? Next time we must use our technology to watch the bodies, the answer could be important and lead to new ways of exploring the cosmos.” A number of our friends agreed with her.



<a href="https://steemit.com/sfandf-fiction/@arthur.grafo13/little-cherine-book-10-bpost073>Next [Book 10] - Post 073/a>



I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love - and should some of it be true for our reality, I hope you will love our Cherine.





Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)

  • posted: 29th May, 2020




    If you wish to read from an earlier book, from Book 01 to Book 10, use this link button to open the LC Book Index:




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84