LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 01 - post178

Wryly she replied, teasing me *From you. You provoke all of us, trying to turn us into ‘Cherines’.*





Previous Post 177


652

I teased back, *You have really disappointed me. I thought for a while that I was so lucky, that I have a special and lovely daughter who loves me as a father.*

Earnestly she answered, *If I should leave and there is a battle and you are killed, are those the words you want to leave with me to remember you by?*

*God that was a low blow Sam.*

*No it was not. Every time I leave here it is with that fear.*

*It was still a low blow. If you have that fear then you should not play with me. In answer to your question, yes, I would want you to remember me by those words, for you would say to yourself, he loved me so much he could even make that kind of joke because he knew that I knew how much he loves me, and you would feel the warmth of my love still burning within you.*

*You have a combination of the Irish and Paphitiko gift of the gab. Why didn’t you pass it on to me? I can see I am going to need it when dealing with you.*

It was good to laugh, even without a body. *I give you great beauty and an amazing mind and you are still not happy?*

*You actually seem to enjoy it here. I think you love being in the void.*

*Damn and damn and damn!! I cannot believe how stupid I have been. Get Cherine to return here as soon as she can.*


Cherine appeared, but kept quiet as I was trying to puzzle it out. I gave up and sent her my question. I reminded her of Ydra, of our return and the time I told her I wanted to return to the void someday as it held great power. I had grown to think I had meant the dancing. I had been stupid. I had not listened to myself. She paid me the compliment of not getting pissed off for the urgent summons and gave it thought.

*I can’t see what you mean about there being power. I thought ‘void’ means absence of…everything.*

*You want power? Tell me, where does the power come from to create our Kaleidoscope World? *

*I thought it came from us.*


653

*I do not think so. How can we become greater than we are, the energy has to come from somewhere. I think we tap into something when we implode and the World appears out of a worm hole. Our World is something far greater than the sum of our parts.*

After a while she disappeared but returned quickly. She had thrown the problem at Themi and Keith.

*I am bored Cherine. Would you like to dance? With the protector and thirteen healers, I do not think we would be in any danger.*

*We are sitting facing the greatest enemy mankind has ever known and you are bored? Actually, it would be sort of exciting to dance, just the two of us under our own green stars.*


I truly pity all those people who do not have a Cherine in their lives - and it sometimes scares me to think what she will be like as an adult. Our soul dance, for the first time ever, was languorous, seeming to last forever as we followed an internal rhythm and if we’d had bodies it would have been called sensual. At first we skimmed past and around each other, not even a stray mote touching, but teasing, achingly close.

When our first swirling that brought the contact happened, it was but an exchange of only a handful of motes and yet the reaction was like an electric shock, pulling at us to dive and meld into one. The outer glow of us was made up of motes of love and we danced in orbits that swung away and then back to the point of a light touch, a caress of love. Both of us drifted within an erotic dream, the exchanges of love simulating (προσομοίωση) our exchanges of scent, saliva and other nectars of lovemaking.

Our coronas grew pregnant with motes received from the other and we sank deeper, our orbits tighter as we yearned for the ultimate exchanges that would bring us into the loss of self and the creation of one being. We knew to hold back from that self-defeating union, but the ache, the desire became the dance and our reason for existing.

We may have continued, lost in each other, forever, if the protector had not called to me. We saw family and friends had joined us.


There was a general confusion. A demand to attack held back by puzzlement. A small portion of the cloud had driven itself to within close proximity and had then fixed itself within an orbit that did not approach closer. We watched for a time and then I decided to try an experiment. There was an immediate howl of protest.

Cherine quietened them. She asked me why and I had no answer, except for the fact that I wanted to. She pointed out the dangers, as if I had not thought of them. When she saw I would not change my mind, she decided she is coming with me.

*Cherine, they are here for a reason. This is the first time they have approached without trying to feed or attack. Not that I think they see it as an attack, their purpose is to get past us to feed off the aliens. They probably, if they have a mind, see us as the attackers. War should never be conducted without continual attempts to understand the other side and to negotiate. They made the first move, we must reciprocate.*

*Think Robert. What brought them here? Was it our dancing? If so, then both of us should go out together.*

*Never!! I will not put you at risk.*

*And I. I will not allow you to put yourself at risk, we all depend on you. If they kill you we are all dead. Not just us, all of mankind.*

I had to give in. If she was right about our dancing bringing them, then it was necessary for her to be with me. We drifted out of the protection of the protector, remaining close but far enough for them to see we had exposed ourselves to them.

There was a swirling within the cloud that almost sent us scuttling back for protection. Slowly the cloud parted, creating two clouds that orbited each other. I would have pulled back, thinking they were parting for the purpose of targeting us separately, but I noticed an oddity. The one cloud was no longer the same green as the other. It had a more yellow-green hue, a sort of rich lemon colour.


654

We watched, fascinated as they recreated our dance, even to the point of exchanging Sparklers as we had exchanged our motes of love. They went further. The final act of their dance was to meld back into one cloud.

Cherine condensed herself into a sphere, veins of colour shooting to her surface as she tumbled around and then she danced in an orbit, circling me without touching. I drew myself in, till I too was a sphere and danced. I told her to come into me, careful to keep herself from touching or melding. She did so and we became one to the outside world. I told her what I planned and she was ready.

We snapped back to our bodies, leaving a dark emptiness where we had been and returned again as two separate beings, dancing around each other again.


They were like a disturbed swarm of hornets, flashing as they roiled within their cloud and then they receded and returned to their main formation in the distance. Fascinated we watched as the main cloud tumbled with explosions of streamers of Sparklers arching out and returning. Again they parted and a cloud of them dived for the lights of the souls of mankind on Earth.

Without any hesitation Cherine and I sped to a position below them, dancing wildly our interference. The protector had been torn by indecision, obeying my order to stay where it was, while being ordered by the others within it to follow us. The diving cloud of Sparklers continued their dive in our direction till, at the last second, they pulled up in front of us. A Sparkler shot out and approached. I sent a tendril, mostly motes of love from Cherine and I, to within close proximity of the Sparkler. It touched the motes and we felt the searing acid pain as our motes were absorbed. The Sparkler waited, but I was not about to repeat that performance.

There was no movement. It seemed to me we had reached an impasse, that there was something we or they had not understood about the other and now neither of us knew what to do. It turned out I was wrong.

The Sparkler pulled back, leaving in the space it had occupied the motes it had taken, though they now had a greenish cast. Carefully I extended a tendril and touched them, tasting their oddness. They stung slightly and had lost their quality of love. Cherine was scintillating with her anxiety and I calmed her. I kept the green motes close to the tip of my tendril, not allowing them to become part of the heart of me. I would need to know more about them first, before taking such a risk.

The Sparklers returned to their main cloud and we thanked them by dancing, a dance of joy that we hoped they would understand. We returned to the protector and found the aliens waiting. They had not entered the protector, waiting for me to return. As they explained, there would have been no purpose to them joining if I had been killed.


They were very confused by the actions of the Sparklers when we told them of all that had occurred. They looked at the green motes I still held and I was asked to give a few to them to return to their World. They wished to examine them and I saw no harm in it. I gave them about half and the rest I asked my healer/protector to examine, see if they could understand what they represent.

The Sparklers continued to absorb the souls of the newly dead but otherwise they kept their distance, no longer attacking those dreamers who visited the void in their sleep. There were no more attempts to bypass us. As the months passed we grew closer to the aliens as we began to understand them and appreciate some of the qualities of their characters. Sam spent most of her time when in the void, with her friend-to-be. When she told us that he no longer is a friend-to-be, has now become a friend, I accepted it. After all, I knew this friendship will last at least a couple of hundred years, or else Samantha's motes would not still have had his taste in them.



Next Post 179



For those readers who have not understood, when they speak using telepathy, what they say is enclosed within stars, and the thoughts exchanged are in italic.
e.g *Hi, I bet you are wishing you could read thoughts.*?



I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love. Yes, most of all, always of empathy and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
19th July, 2018
* posted on Steemit:19th July, 2018



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza - @jaisaluja
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.

Sort:  

@nikosnitza - @jaisaluja

Little Cherine Bk1 - post178 now available
Enjoy :)

Thanks.. I was scouting for a wonderful piece as such .

τι ειναι το motes? Δε κατάλαβα γιατί οι Sparklers υποχωρήσαν?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83