For Readers of "Little Cherine Book 02 - The Doris War", briefly, some info to explain what happens in Post 23

For anyone reading ‘The Doris War’, in post 23, they will meet a person who is from Dubai.

The prior meeting with Robert is mentioned, so I felt it might give the reader a better feel, if I post this short excerpt, describing their first meeting.

Robert was on his way to Taiwan, to search for a soul that is to be born to a Chinese woman. It was still early days, when he was not as confident of his powers and he did not know to what extent he can trust them, so instead of teleporting directly, he takes a flight, with a number of stops along the way, thinking it will make it easier for his loves and any future teleporting by them to Taiwan.

His first stop from Athens, is at the Dubai airport.


The Man In Dubai

I landed in Dubai. I was not allowed to pass through immigration, so I found it difficult to find a secluded spot within the duty-free area and I almost had to leave without finding one.

As I walked around, looking for a corner where people might not notice any sudden appearances, and just as important, without any cameras covering it, I walked past some chairs and tables ‘outside’ a coffee shop. As I glanced at them, an elderly man, in his seventies, Caucasian and yet dressed as an Arab, glanced up from the book he was reading. I was surprised to see it is a science fiction novel. He looked me in the eyes and I was struck by the amazement he showed. He put his book on the table and came to his feet. I realised he was coming to me.

“Follow me.”

“Why? Are you immigration or police?”

He greeted a policeman who had almost deferentially greeted him from the other side of the passage, about twenty metres away, so I did not believe him when he laughed and told me, “No.” He must have sensed me, for he added, “Shall we say I am a man of some influence? Now, please follow me, I would prefer to restrict the number of eyes who see me with you.”

To test him, I dryly stated, “I’m not interested in smuggling anything for you.”

He smiled. “From such a young age you have learnt that attack is the best form of camouflage – to misquote a favourite saying…it is not I who intends smuggling anything, I do believe you are the smuggler, a most extraordinary one. Come I have the ideal spot for you.”

My heart raced, but I was not allowed the opportunity to challenge him, for he turned his back to me and walked off. Puzzlement, anxiety, plus I could sense that Cherine was emoting a vague feeling of ‘almost’ knowing him, compelled me to follow.

He pointed at a shop, close to the end of the passage. “The owner has erected a partition for displaying his wares and the police either have not realised he has created a blind spot behind it, or else they do not care.”

He walked past the partition and I saw he was right. I also saw a door. He discretely pointed a finger, “It is his excuse for placing the partition, as it would not look good to have a service entrance as part of his display. The door only leads to a couple of stores for cleaning materials, so I suggest you avoid the early morning and late afternoon hours when the cleaners use it.” He opened the door. “As you see, it is not locked.” He led me in and opened the last door down a short passage. “This store room is not used, it should be safe for you.”

“Who are you and why are you doing this?”

“The time will come when you will realise who I am. I prefer to wait for that time, for you to find me…just don’t take too long, for as you see, I am getting on in years.” He looked directly into my eyes. “I will be waiting, for your coming will be very important for me. I see from your hand luggage that you come from Athens. If I sense death is close, may I contact you – perhaps through your office?”

“What is the purpose? Why are you being so mysterious about who you are and what you want from me?”

“It would be a disservice to you and of no benefit to me, should I speak out of turn. You must first realise you know me and then you will recognise the need to speak to me – and understand why you are needed.”

I pulled out a mini pad and wrote my phone number. “It would be better that you call me directly. My name is…”

“Shh, there is no need to speak it. Enjoy your trip.” He quickly turned and walked away, the slip of paper already in his pocket. I sensed Cherine agreed with me when I decided to do as asked, so I let him leave. The feeling that both Cherine and I have, that we should know who he is, kept me busy for many hours as I tried to force my subconscious to identify him for me.




I hope you now enjoy the story as you continue by reading the 23rd episode (I'll be posting it soon).



Sort:  

kalimera.. poli kalo kai poli katanoito! mes ti mera tha dw kai tin sinexeia!!! :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24