Little Cherine Book 08 - BPost029

Most of the girls dashed all over the city to ask the people to come to the void. It is a strange thing, there have been many occasions of three or more in a family who’ve been linked, but none of them have been drawn into a Cherinian family. We had been waiting for it to happen, but had not said anything.









Previous: Book 08 - Post 028



5181


By the time I got to the void it looked rather crowded, souls dancing all around me. I’d appeared next to the people I’d most wanted to be with, my family, so I immediately shared to find out what had happened in my absence. The three had calmed Kaghisa, her brother had exchange kissed, his familiar presence doing more to calm her than all their explanations. We watched as they danced, Orgg drawing in Jeskine until the three of them could not be seen as separate entities. They merged and before our senses could notify us they’d vanished, a new Kaleidoscope World appeared.

There is great jubilation when any new World is created. When it is also the first one of a new species, it adds an additional dimension of depth to our exultation. We could all feel it, our ‘family’ has grown and we are all richer. I was thinking in a parochial fashion that now our Earths have thirty seven plus one World when an idea came to me. I rushed at Meli joyfully and let her see it first. Her flare of excitement and joy drew in our family and each of them rejoiced at the new possibility. I’d thought, ‘I wish we could solve the problem of our dolphin people on our World’ when I had the idea of their being sent to Earth in dolphin bodies created by the Sparklers so that they can help lead the dolphins (and maybe whales?) into joining our family of species as Cherinians with Worlds of their own. They would not be mortal and we would give whatever help they need, if their Terran cousins are not fully sapient.

Perhaps inspired by the example, dozens of Sap families linked as they danced and they collapsed-exploded into Worlds. Robbie and Cherine drew us in and we could feel how their joy bordered on tears. It seemed all Robbie could say (to Cherine) was ‘Baby, oh my baby’ but her soul flared with her joy and the love from him and all of us.

The remaining Normals of the city told us afterwards, that night and the next day was a weird experience for them. Every Cherinian stayed at home for most of the day and the Normals, even the insensitive ones were overcome by the feelings being emoted from tens of thousands of families. Over the next day Jeskine and Orgg were kept busy as they were approached by thousands wanting to be linked.

We went to visit Meesartus. As we arrived at the entrance to the palace the guards opened the doors with huge grins of joy, beaming their love as they welcomed us. Meesartus with his wives came out to greet us joyously. We were all hugged and then led to his private reception room. All they could talk of for the next hour was of the last two days and how wonderful it has been. They too have formed their own family link and World, their own sorrow being that his one wife has not been drawn in and is now an outsider. They did not grieve, because they could feel that she does not, that she does not feel she belongs with them. Dommi sat before her and took her hands.

“You love someone else?”

At first she would not answer and then she said in a soft voice, “I am wife of our king.”

Dommi turned and looked at him. “Would it anger you if she does?”

“Neeésiti can feel she is loved by me.”

“Do you love her enough to let her find her own happiness? Would it dishonour you if she loves a commoner?”

“What of our son?”

“He is linked within your family, why do you worry about him?” Robbie said. “Would you hold her out of pride? For how long Meesartus? A hundred years? A thousand?”

“Not yet Robert.” Neeésiti nodded her agreement, so we let the subject drop for now.

We will feel disappointed in him if he does not let her go soon. Cherine told us he will. She explained. *How do you think it feels for them when they are loving with her left out?*

Meesartus told us, his eyes staring into Cherine’s, “I have sent out men this morning to find King Illafayéd and request his presence. He should become a Cherinian and we sorely need his wisdom at a time of so many changes.”

“Could you tell us about him?”



5182


“He was king before me. At seventy four years of age he decided to retire to live alone. He is the wisest king we have ever had.”

“How many years have you been king?”

“Thirty one.”

“He is one hundred and five years old!? Are you certain he is still alive? Is he close by? Surely he should not travel far at his age?”

Meesartus smiled. “He walks in the desert and mountains. He has been back here twice, both at times I needed his advice. He is probably already walking back to us.”

“I’ll ask Solomon to send out Sparklers to search for him so that we can save him a tiring trip.”

“My friend Sol, it would be wiser to allow him to walk back. By the time he gets here he will have learnt of the changes and thought on it. He will not thank you for jumping him here.”

Maria protested. “We should find him and make certain he is healthy enough to walk!”

Robbie agreed, so Meesartus gave in. He was found three days out, calmly walking towards the city, deep in thought. The healer with the Sparkler reported he is healthy, but it did strengthen him and stayed with him the rest of his trip

The experiment with Akiar and Simdi had been a success and since the other kids had been pestering their parents and Christós, we got permission to bring all sixteen of them. Everyone was warned to be careful and to please stay friendly. It was amusing to see Akiar and Simdi assume the role of the experienced and helping the parents to control the other kids. It became obvious to us that Akiar is becoming their leader. I am pleased.

I’m becoming anxious about the non-appearance of the female Akiards. The Unation doctors-scientists advised us they are redesigning their bodies, altering the chemical makeup of their brains so that the females can become attached to their children and bring them up. They claim that watching how our sixteen kids have developed under the care of parents forced them to rethink their models.

“I hope they know what they are doing. It sounds to me like we could be creating new problems. As the Akiards learn to grow family units we could find them developing the same social units our people have, with an excessive zeal that will make our national wars appear like child’s play. We need to develop in them a strong protective feeling for all sentient beings or else they’ll wipe themselves out as a species within twenty generations.”

I saw the truth in what Empathia said, but could not see the solution as clearly as she seemed to. There are far too many grey areas.

Illafayéd arrived at noon today. He walked around the city, travelling from colour zone to colour zone, his keen eyes watching how the people interact. He even stopped to watch children at play for a while. By the time he arrived at the palace the guards wore their ceremonial uniforms, which have never appeared so clean, Meesartus wryly said. Meesartus did not wait as a king to be approached. As soon as Illafayéd entered the open square he strode to him. He knelt, bowing his head.

“Welcome home father. Your people have yearned to see you.”

“You are king! You must allow me to bow to you.”

I grinned at Robbie and he flushed, grinning. The girls picked up our non verbal communication and giggled in their minds. He’d pictured himself kneeling to me someday as leader of all Cherinians. I’d taken over his image and made him place his hands on my thighs and pulling my skirt up he’d placed his lips to me, changing the purpose to a sexual one.

“You are father of our people, you do not bow to any of us.”

“Then you must allow me.” He walked past Meesartus and going to Goldi he knelt to her. She flushed, but, thinking quickly she stepped forward and hugged him, startling him. She kissed his cheek.



5183


“I am not Jeskine. She is among the Neans, helping them.”

“Jeskine?” He frowned. “You are not a goddess?”

“Oh no! I’m just pretty.” She said it in such a childishly exaggerated way that everyone laughed.

Meesartus said, his voice soft with wonder, “Father, you chose wisely. I too would gladly kneel to any of them, but they do not permit it.”

He stared at us and I felt it when his eyes passed over my face. “It is natural to them all?”

Meesartus was embarrassed. “They are not albinos father. On their world they have people like us, others darker and others with almost saffron skins.”

“Interesting. What are these things called Jeskine and Neans?”

We greeted him and left, letting Meesartus explain with his own words. Hours later we were surprised to see Meesartus with Illafayéd at his side walk into the shop. Meesartus was grinning.

“Our father has a sweet tooth and was delighted to hear there are new cakes to enjoy.”

As soon as we saw them we vacated the chairs next to Robbie and they sat with him and Cherine, Candy stayed on his lap. With single-minded devotion Illafayéd concentrated on his sweet.

“I could live on this.” He seemed to enjoy the sound of our giggles for he kept us laughing for a while. When he sat back with a satisfied smile, he closed his eyes for fifteen minutes. Amazed we stared at him, he’d gone to sleep. Not one customer made a noise, all waiting for him.

“You are the leader?” he said before he opened his eyes.

“Others call me that.”

His eyes flashed open and he stared at Robbie. He nodded.

“When King Meesartus calls you father, is it because you are his father or does he honour you with a symbolic title?”

He grinned in reply a toothless smile. “He is being cautious. All suspect that I am their grandfather.” He chuckled. “I enjoy the feel of a woman’s flesh.” He stared into Robbie’s eyes. “I hear you prefer the flesh of young girls?”

Robbie looked like he was wishing for the earth to open and swallow him up as we all grinned catty smiles, loving his embarrassment. He shrugged with pretended nonchalance. “You heard correctly.”

“You told my grandson, the one who is a teacher, that you can hold a piece of the sun in your hand. Did you speak the truth?”

In reply Robbie closed his eyes and concentrated. A glow formed above us and then we could see into it and it was filled with stars. It was as if we were in a spaceship travelling at a great speed until we arrived at a sun. As everyone stared, hypnotised by the flares and the fractal-like seething surface, Robbie asked for a broom. He told Illafayéd to poke the sun with it. He exclaimed as it burnt halfway to his hand before he could jerk it away. Air rushed in as Robbie got rid of it.

Robbie asked, with a grin, “King Illafayéd, father of most of the Lefonians, may we send a healer to you so that you become young again? There is a whole new generation of female flesh waiting for you.”

He cackled and Meesartus said, speaking softly to Cherine, “I do not understand, he has never been like this with us. He is always serious.”

“He has the gift of being what you need.” I had been thinking of him as a randy old man. I quickly re-evaluated him.

“I will never be old like this again?”

“Unless you choose it.”



5184


“Then let me enjoy a few last days of being old. Knowing this is not permanent makes it easier to enjoy. Perhaps I can learn from it now that death is not a threat - and if you are to change me, I’d like to remember who I am before it happens.”

“Socrati would like him.” Claudia murmured.

That evening, in bed, Wendy asked Robbie, “Are we still on Chantel’s honeymoon?”

“Yes.”

“Gosh! A honeymoon that lasts for years!”

His eyes crinkled as he pulled her to him. “She deserves it. I need lots of time to learn exactly how special she is.” He looked at Chantel. “Would you like to give me a sample to keep me going?” Her heart responded to his and Shiyra made way for her.

Illafayéd took up a lot of Robbie’s time over the next few days. He was more like the Illafayéd Meesartus knows, serious and asking deep questions. Very few of his questions had to do with Cherinianism. Mostly they dealt with Robbie’s own hopes for the future and what he sees his own role should be.

“I would like to be at a telling. I suspect most of what I ask is answered there. Is it time for you to show me another world so that I am forced to believe my eyes? Robert, all you have told me, it is too close to the kind of dreams an innocent youth dreams, I need to see.”

We took him to Freddie. Maria brought him a plate of mezedakia; meatballs, halloumi, vine dolmades, kalamari, olives, salad and cold water.

“Wasn’t she in the shop?”

“It was not convenient not having her here, so she exists in both.”

He shook his head. “It is true, you use your power for trivial reasons.”

“Is that bad?”

He thought about it. “I do not know enough about you to start judging you.”

Cherine giggled. “Don’t let that stop you. Robert does it without knowing anything.”

“He does not listen to his heart?”

That put a full stop to her giggles and Robbie laughed. “Illafayéd, I should keep you here with me. It is not often anyone manages to get the better of Cherine.”

He took her hand in his that felt like parchment and searched her eyes. “She knew the truth, but was enjoying herself as a child. I think it is not often you do,” he said to her.

She laughed. “Often enough - as I’m certain Robert will tell you.”

He ignored her. “I feel something in you…when I am alone in the desert or high in the mountains, there are moments when I feel I am one with everything around me. Now I see it has all been one with you. Do not lose yourself.”

“I may not link you, you are of the world of Jeskine, she must do it. When she has, I would like Robert to create a Department of Philosophy for our government so that you can be part of it.”

We all loved her idea. Tina said, her voice breathless, “You don’t have to wait Cherine, do so now.”

“Will you include Luigi and Socrati?” Claudia asked.

“Socrati yes, not Luigi. He must be in our Department of Art with Jade.”



5185


Illafayéd looked bemused so Robbie said to him, his voice betraying his amusement. “Do you see how it goes with us? Suddenly we have two new Departments in our government.”

“What is a department? What am I supposed to do?”

“Meesartus does not have men responsible for advising him in matters of economy, law, defence? You would be an advisor for all Cherinians on matters of philosophy. There are a number of others who will join you. I think you will enjoy arguing with them, a few of them are older than your sun so your youthful approach to philosophical problems might wake them up.”

Efineh embarrassed me. “Will Samantha join them?”

“She is more of a practical problem solver, Efineh. Maybe we can establish a Practical Problems Department for plumbers, electricians and Samantha?” As I’ve indicated before, Robbie spoils his jokes by laughing at them more than anyone else does.

I raised my hand and stared into the eyes of eiu as we conversed. “Your host mother, has she chosen a companion from among us?”

“No. She is not here, she stayed with her family.”

“Could you invite her to join us?”

She wished herself away and was soon back with u`uu`e`i. I explained my thoughts to her. Illafayéd was startled when she wrapped her forty metre body around him and, holding her eye level with his face, stared at him. He gave a delighted smile. “I would be honoured.”

“Robbie, I told u`uu`e`i that she will be the only Wirm allowed on planet and explained the rules. She will not cause us problems.”


Illafayéd stayed at the palace, but he spent his days walking around, talking to people with u`uu`e`i wrapped around him or floating by his side. Faithfully each day he came to the shop and if something new was on the menu he’d try it. It never occurred to him that he had to pay and no one would have asked him for money, but we found out that Meesartus has him followed and once a week a man visits all the merchants he visited and if he has taken something, they are reimbursed.

A few days later he asked to visit Freddie again, saying he needs to talk to people there. He talked with everyone he could, even some of the Akiard kids. We know that some of the leaders from the Unation ship in Freddie also spent time with him. Solomon had a long chat and he told us he felt the questions he was asked showed that Illafayéd has a purpose, but he was not clear in which direction his mind is moving.

Illafayéd would spend some time with us almost every day and between the teasing and joking he would get answers to a couple of questions. With us he mostly questioned the Cherinian born girls. He left his questioning of Robbie again for last.

It has been hinted at but never said clearly, so I better explain now. Even Cherinians can tell lies. Everyone can, it is a matter of choice and it is very rarely that any of us do. The only one who can never tell lies is Robbie. Not because everyone is a friend as he used to tease Cherine (his old saying has become quite popular). Robbie cannot lie because he does not dare to. He moans about it now and then, complaining that he is missing out on a lot of fun, but he accepts it as a fact.

As leader he must have the total trust of all Cherinians. Even one lie, though it be uttered out of good intentions, would damage the total trust and faith he enjoys. I am lucky. Though I sometimes don the mantle of leadership, everyone knows that I am sneaky and they laugh at my white lies. I’ll qualify what I said: I am certain that when he tells a small white lie out of a sense of humour, nobody holds it against him; maybe it is because they feel it shows he is still human.

Illafayéd’s talks with Robbie did not concentrate on one subject. Among other questions, he asked very personal questions about why and what it is like making love to children. He questioned the advisability of Robbie (and others) marrying their children. Robbie never sensed disapproval, only a dry scholarly interest and tried to answer with as much detail as he could, as long as he did not feel the question trespassed on what is strictly personal. As an aside, Arthur, do you realise that he has never protested about anything I write here for you on those grounds?



5186


At this time, we could not really pay Illafayéd that much attention as Jeskine was keeping us all busy with the Neans. Every camp or village we visit to link Neans, we have to return to at least twice. On the first visit we link anywhere between ten to seventy percent. A month later we return to link about sixty percent of those who did not wish to be linked the first time. On our third visit two months later we usually get just about all the rest. We all find it surprising that they are so similar to our Normals in this respect.

I phrased myself badly. When I say we linked Neans, I mean Jeskine did, but we would then help with the opening of their minds and sending our healers to rejuvenate, heal and increase the abilities of their brains and throats. It also usually requires at least three visits by us as they need time to adjust mentally.

How different is it doing so for Neans rather than those of our species? Despite the similarities in appearance, their instincts are not the same as ours. The lower intelligence in almost all of them means that we do feel a sadness at their limited potential. Alien scientists have been training Sap Cherinian teachers and they visit the Neans after us to help them achieve their new potentials. They do not go in their real shape, projecting as Neans. The Cherinian Neans can sense they are alien to them, but ignore it as long as they are not faced with visual confirmation. Jeskine and Orgg plan to re-introduce them in their natural forms once their intellect has been raised and they have learnt what it means to be a Cherinian. She has asked us to prepare a briefer version of our telling for the Neans and wants us to do the tellings once she thinks they are nearly ready to meet their Sap counsellors in their true form.

With our Neanderthals, she was mainly observing and trying to understand them so she went as a Neanderthal - a child almost female. With the Neans she always goes in her true form. In some of the villages that are remote and distant from the Saps, her appearance has caused excitement and a few males tried to grab her for sex, despite her obvious young age. Orgg soon took care of those who did try and he has become known as a fierce and unconquerable warrior.

This is the first time I have not thrown myself whole-heartedly into a project as my mind is occupied by other goals. No one has shown any resentment that I do not pull my weight, only my loves emoting sadness when I leave them and that is because they miss me, not because they are upset with me. They understand I have my own priorities, but it feels strange to them not having the whole family involved to the same degree. It does mean that I often sit at home feeling like an outsider while they discuss the day’s events and new problems they had to solve.

In certain areas, where the hunting is poor and the ground is not fertile or it does not rain enough, they have been emotionally torn by the sight of Nean children that are malnourished. It is in those areas they find most of the crippled children. Conversely, those are the areas that provide them with the strongest sense of satisfaction when they heal the kids and play within their minds, helping them open up again and feel joy.

Illafayéd asked for a meeting with the following: King Meesartus, Jeskine, Orgg and Mintus, two of the elder teachers (Ndoubelo and Marsisa), Solomon, uuue`i, Ordinx and Ashiir, an-Fisp, Urafel, a Kinytian entity, Merlin, Tsiesschkir, Stexina, Dokhok, Allan, Luigi, Socrati, Eddie, Cherine, Robert and the family. He actually asked for Cherine separately!

“For those not of Lefonia and unaware of my role. It is traditional that kings who retire maintain an awareness of the problems their people face and use their free time to consider the ramifications. I am not here to judge anyone, nor do I make decisions for my people, our king does that.

My first days here I was distressed, thinking I had arrived too late to save my people. Then I came to see that had I been here I could not have prevented any of the changes. Then I realised - I do not know whether our king and King Pwembwe have understood this, I realised they have become subjects of the two who rule our world, Jeskine and Orgg.”

We all wanted to protest, but Robbie held us back. The look on the faces of the two teachers, King Meesartus and Mintus, showed they had not seen it and by his saying so, he had made it obvious. Illafayéd ate a couple of dates and smiled at Goldi before returning to his thoughts.

He cackled, showing his amusement in the way the elderly often do, without regard for the embarrassment they have caused and addressed his next remarks at his own people. “I see none of you had realised it. Without loss of life our King has become a subject and yet he still holds the throne! Surely this has never happened before on our world?



5187


Jeskine and Orgg, my thoughts were turning rancid at the idea that we are ruled by a Nean and one with blood of Neans. Can you understand that?” They nodded that they could. He laughed again, his eyes on Meesartus. “To think that you graciously made this city theirs and offered them a house! Does it rankle your majesty?”

Meesartus had regained his composure, though his cheeks were burning. “Whatever I reply you will make me look foolish. What do you advise?”

“Perhaps Robert can answer? Can these two give orders to our king?”

“Not in the sense the word suggests. As their king he can order them, on matters to do with the laws of his people and his country.”

“In what sense can they give orders?”

“Only in matters to do with the heart.”

He muttered dramatically, “Strange overlords surely? Only in matters to do with the heart! They would tell him how and who to love?”

Robbie realised the old man was playing games, but that he had a serious purpose so he replied in earnest. “No. Only that he remains true to what makes us human beings. Not in his private life, but in how he affects his people. As long as empathy rules his heart when he makes decisions, they will not interfere.”

“As you have not interfered with the governments of your world and many others?”

Touché. Most of our alien friends (and Allan) laughed. Goldi was the first to grin and then we all did. We dared not take our cue from Cherine as she was on red alert for an attack on Robbie.

He turned to the teachers. “Our king has not betrayed his people. Study how Robert has ruled and you will see why I am no longer displeased on that account.” He waited while it was discussed.

“Try as I did, I could not look to those of our world for guidance on how they will rule. I found I had to keep on returning to Robert for answers to my questions. Our two are too new and are only now busy making their own rules. That is why it is imperative we examine Robert and his family to find our answers. Especially from Cherine.

A wise man knows when he is ignorant. I have spent most of my time speaking to all of you, hoping to understand how the coming of Jeskine and of the Cherinians have and will affect us. They have come bearing gifts that would have ensured their success, whatever the terms; eternal youth and perfect health, so it may seem ungrateful of me to be critically examining what else they have brought us.

At first I was shocked and saw it as a danger to our people. Whatever honeyed words a king speaks, it is by his example that he leads. Having Robert with his strange family here is not a good example. I am worried on two accounts. The first is an instinctive aversion to any adult who uses children younger than ten for sex. The second is this business that I have not fully understood of children at birth being bonded to their family so that they may not look outside it for a mate and companion. Does anyone have an explanation why the example of Robert has not led to all Cherinians, at least of his species, having sex with children? Why are their wives not making themselves children to pleasure them?”

“I think I know why.” Robbie said. He sent us a reassuring smile so that we would not be upset at his words. “For males who are attracted to females, nature has arranged that certain things arouse us. They are not the same for all of us. For some it is the breasts of a woman, in others her thighs, her scent and so on. Nature did not plan for males or females to be attracted sexually by the same sex or by children, even though it does happen to many of us. Nature is only interested in the survival of the species.

I do not know whether I would have reacted to Cherine in any way different to what I did had she found me at a time that I was happy and confident. I suspect I may not have, but I’ll leave that door open for others to argue. The truth is, when she found me I was a damaged male. Every time I’d reached out for love I’d been rejected. I could not have trusted an adult female. A child - that is easy. All children love truly, so it was easy for me to open my heart without distrusting her love.



5188


I could not bear the thought of having to live without love again once I had loved her, so I became fiercely protective of her as I was convinced ‘the gods’ would try to take her from me through an accident. As you know I became a protector. At first only for those I deeply love. With time my need to protect has expanded so that it covers all sentient species. I hope it will stop there.” He grimaced at the thought of it expanding. “There are levels to my protective instincts or needs. My loves still come first and therefore I call them my primes. Then come all children, of all species. Only after them do adults affect me.

I too feared that my example would lead to others emulating me. If they had, en masse, it would have been for the wrong reasons. Luckily it only rarely occurs and only with those who have a need to love children. I hope my words are of some comfort to you.”

“As I said, I am still learning. What of the family ring?”

“That also seems to vary according to the personalities of those involved. I honestly don’t know why my babies are born loving me the way they are.”

“I fear this is likely to happen to our people. With us, family is extremely important. For this also I will have to reserve my judgement until I understand you better.

We should move on to matters that are relevant to your leadership. A good king plans ahead. What plans have you made for your people? Are your plans the same for all species?”

“If I did make plans they would not be the same for all. Not even within the same species. Illafayéd, sometimes the differences between brothers is bigger than the differences between nations or species.” Illafayéd nodded, agreeing. “You see it as an obligation on me, but I consider the idea of making plans for others presumptuous. What right do I have to plan how other families will live? I will only interfere if I see that someone, or a nation, are acting in ways that will harm others or deprive them of their rights - both are the same in my mind. There is too much we do not know yet for me to make plans and set limits. As you said of yourself, I am wise enough to know I am ignorant. All I dare do is suggest guidelines.”

“What of the Inguel?”

“Of what do you speak?”

Illafayéd showed his surprise. “You did not limit them and punish when they disobeyed?”

“That is the one side of the coin. You cannot see the truth if you do not look at the other side.”

“Can you show it to me?”

Robbie nodded. “Let me try to give you an example. Let us say you discovered a neighbouring kingdom was facing disaster and all would die if they stayed there. However, and here is the catch, there is no fertile land available in your country where they could survive. You do not have any way to ask King Pwembwe at that time, so, presuming on his good nature and your friendly relationship, you settle them within his country. You tell the refugees that they may not expand the territory you have allowed them as it could deprive those of the people the country belongs to.

You return a few years later to find they have tripled the land they are supposed to be using and will soon triple again and then again. What would you do? Allow them to continue, decide you made a mistake in helping them and wipe them out, or force them back to their own land where they will die?

I still think I did the only thing I could. I had to force them to find a way to limit their population.”

“Arithmetic is as inflexible for you as it is for us? Thanks to Cherine and now Jeskine, life is being extended for all to unimaginable lengths. How long before our people are at war with the neighbouring countries because there are too many of us. How long before they forget the Neans are now considered humans with right to their own lands? Do you believe that empathy will stop them?”

“No. Not in the sense you mean. Empathy and common sense must work far earlier than that, so that all control how many children they have.”

“And you are an example they should follow? If I have understood your family relationships, you have over twenty children?”

“About twenty five, depending on how you count them. I am the worst example. Perhaps you should ask those of the Unation for answers. They have been Cherinians far longer than any of us.”



5189


Tsiesschkir chuckled. “We have been Cherinians from a time before her species was born.”

“You have found an answer you can share with us?”

“We have found an answer that is suitable for our species, all of our species. We cannot answer you yet, as it is not allowed. Robert fears being told what comes from his future as it could create a paradox - upset time.”

“But I was told you come from the past!”

“We do, but we became Cherinians because the family came to us in our past. Over the millenniums we have found some of the answers and others were found by Robert and his family. If we speak of it, how will they grow to the same answers? I can give you some facts. The number of planets we occupy since we first met them has grown by roughly twenty percent. That growth stopped hundreds of thousands of years ago. Our population is slightly smaller than it was. We still have births, but not as prolifically as our ancestors did.”

“None of what you say makes sense, if you do not die, any births would make your population grow.”

“You’ll have to take it on faith, for a few hundred years. Tsiesschkir has spoken the truth.” Stexina said.

Illafayéd gestured in mock resignation. “Most of my worries are left unanswered, how do I advise my king?”

Allan put his hand on the shoulder of Meesartus. “I’d suggest you take us on faith. Use the advice of wise people like Illafayéd and use your own common sense in helping your people while Robert, Cherine and Samantha search for the truths we need.”

“We cannot afford to have our population double within a decade!”

“Then tell your people so. Those who are Cherinians will understand. Do not treat them like children - place the responsibility on them.”

I have not recorded everything that was said, for the meeting lasted many hours and everyone spoke, even Cherine. I think that only a few of the girls and I did not. Socrati teased me for remaining silent, asking if I have changed.

Illafayéd may not have got the answers he wanted and he may not be able to give the advice he feels his people need, but his questions made all of us think of many things we had not and we have new questions of our own now. I enjoyed the meeting and wish there were more people like him around. What did surprise us was his admission as to the way he felt when he first arrived, in contrast to the way he treated us and joked with all who appeared as children.




5190



I’m not certain I should trust you to provide a nice skeleton for us. Just teasing, I’ll ask.

Okay. Everyone agrees. Will we be gone for long?


Next [Book 08] - Post 030



I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love - and should some of it be true for our reality, I hope you will love our Cherine.





Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)

1st February, 2020

  • posted: 1st February, 2020




    If you wish to read from an earlier book, from Book 01 to Book 07, use this link button to open the LC Book Index:






    If you are not using it, try it, this is the best Steemit tool:
    https://steemworld.org/





Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32