You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7-Day Black and White Photo Challenge - Day 1

Boom!!

Fast work! As you are not technically allowed to explain it please let me -

There are many facets to this photo. The main overriding one being despair. The scene obviously a toilet. The emotion, presented so well in stark black and white one of horror at the fact the toilet paper has run out. The pyramidal stack of empty rolls compounds the angst of the viewer by presenting them with a conflict: are we on top of the pyramid with the few or are we with the many below.

There are more gifts here than just existential despair. See how the author has playfully inserted clues to guide the viewer. The top roll has >100 in it, a reference to the author's own propensity for giving more than 100%

The author is gifted with a wry sense of humour and plays with the viewer, the roll on the bottom left presents a hehe in diminishing perspective.

But that is one ray of light in a bleak composition to lend much needed contrast. The despair is then further compounded by the final bottom left roll T1... A cryptic message I suspect alluding to a trauma event in early childhood. Note how the T is displayed in a cross style, redolent of the graveyard.

I look forward to more pieces from this promising young artist.

Sort:  

I took my own crack at this ;)

And what a splendid comment! I feel like my comments section is incomplete with my STEEM Fam in it!

You have an excellent eye, my brother from a different birthhole. I am many things, but what I certainly am not is disappointed. In fact, I am the opposite of it. I am appointed.

I am in tears, brought upon the laughter you had provided. Mind you, this was a laughter not directed at you, but this is a laughter of agreement. Your points have left all of the bulls in my stable blind. You, sir, have hit all of their eyes it seems. And I laugh because I agree with your decision.

I am in awe. I seem to have taken a wrong turn but I don't mind being stuck here for a while. Your observation is so accurate, it's like you plucked it out of my squishy jelly thing that used to be behind my eyes. I wasn't sure if anyone would be able to surmise that it was a pyramid of tissue paper rolls, but I guess you're not just any one.

I promise you that the young artist who made this would be immensely appreciative of your surgical dissection of his work. And, as much as I want to add to this, particularly explaining why I was quick on the draw, you've already covered everything, Boomshakalaka. You truly are a gentleman and a legend!

Hehe, of what a splendid reply! I am bereft of words like those bulls are bereft of eyes!! :0)

This reply wouldn't be possible without your comment, Boomskie! In the realm of Biology, I think this is what's called Commentsalism, where one comment is boosted by the other. Yes, I science sometimes.

Hehe, commentsalism!

All hail science!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62725.12
ETH 2456.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62