The Seven Day Beer Challenge # 3: Ληθένια India Pale Ale (IPA)

in #sevendaybeerchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Continuing my beer tasting journey thanks to @abigail-dantes, I have another Greek beer for my third day: Ληθένια.

Today, @karinxxl (thank you!) left me a comment suggesting checking out the #beersaturday contest by @detlev. So, I'm going to enter with this post and see my luck (you can check out the contest here).

So, let's talk beer!

Deriving from the Greek word λήθη, meaning oblivion, Ληθένια is an unpasteurized and unfiltered ale sold under a label that's a work of art (at least in my eyes and that's why I took the bottle with me). The brewery making it lies in Trikala (a small town in Thessaly) and was founded only two years ago (in 2016). Actually, that was one of the reasons I wanted to try it. We were in a pub with some friends, there was a flyer on the table promoting this beer and thought to myself "Hey, it's Greek, let's support the local market. It's unpasteurized, I like unpasteurized. It has a cool label, that's usually misleading, but what the heck..."

What's Ληθένια like? The official site (trikalabeer.gr) does not support english, so allow me to translate it for you below: "Φρουτώδης, πιπεράτη και πολύπλοκη στην γεύση της, στηρίζει πολλά από τα χαρακτηριστικά της στους δύο λυκίσκους, Centennial και Cascade, που χρησιμοποιεί για την παρασκευή της. Μια India Pale Ale βγαλμένη από μια άλλη εποχή, πιο ρομαντική και αυθεντική. Συνοδεύει άφοβα όλα τα πιάτα με κρέας, ψάρι και ζυμαρικά αλλά λατρεύει κυριολεκτικά κάθε τι το πικάντικο, καπνιστό και πολυδιάστατο γευστικά. Μια μπύρα που πραγματικά θα σε καθηλώσει με την γεύση και το άρωμα της... "

"Fruity, peppery and complex in its flavor, many of its characteristics lie on the two hops, Centennial and Cascade, used to make it. An India Pale Ale from another era, more romantic and authentic. It accompanies fearlessly all the dishes of meat, fish and pasta but literally loves everything spicy, smoky and multi-dimensionally delicious. A beer that will really fix you with its flavor and aroma."

Ληθένια is not too strong, only 5.2% vol. We had it with sausages and sauerkraut. They blended well together. It didn't get me diziness as well, so far we're good!


Did I like it? I wasn't excited. Although I have a thing for unpasteurized beer, this one didn't live up to my expectations. It was rather... dull.

Am I going to drink it again? I doubt it. 

How much did it cost? 4.5 euros, but I had it in a pub, I don't know how much it costs in the supermarket.

*All photos by @ruth-girl - artwork by my talented cousin (@ifigeneiaart) that I successfully brought here!


Nomination process, I hate that part! Pfff! Hmm, Herr @reinhard-schmid, was denkst du? Willst du für sieben Tagen sieben versciedenen Beer zu trinken? Prost! ;)

These are the rules you need to keep in mind

  1. You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days.
  2. The beer must be something you have never tasted before.
  3. You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it.
  4. Nominate someone every day.
  5. If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
  6. Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Thank you @abigail-dantes for the nomination!

Sort:  

This one looks great based on the bottle alone. Too bad it didn't taste like anything special.

Yeah, I was kind of disappointed too. But at least the company and sausages were good that night :P

You made a piece of art out of the beer challenge! I scrolled down my feed and I was being caught by that woman holding on to the beer bottle! Really creative.

So, now I have to go back and actually read what you have written on beer. :)))

Thank you! I just need an editing programme to make my shots better. Compared to the beer though, my pics are a masterpiece :P

upvote σου εκανα...απλα συγχωρα με κιολας αν κανω λαθος....νομιζω οτι κανεις ενα λαθακι στην αρχη του Post ...λες οτι το ονομα προερχεται απο τη λεξη 'λιθος'......νομιζω οτι κανεις ενα λαθακι εδω......το λιθος οπως λες γραφεται με γιωτα το ονομα της μπυρας ειναι 'ληθενια'....νομιζω οτι το ονομα προερχεται απο τη 'ληθη' τη λησμονια δηλαδη... και απ'οσο γνωριζω η Ληθη στην αρχαιοτητα ηταν Νυμφη και απο αυτην πηρε και το ονομα του ο ποταμος της ληθης απο τον οποιο περνουσαν οι νεκροι οταν κατεβαιναν στον Αδη προκειμενου να ξεχασουν-λησμονησουν την προηγουμενη ζωη τους

Εχεις το απολυτο δικιο! Το ποστ το ετοιμαζα χτες βραδυ, γτ σμρ δουλευα ως αργα. Και δεν εκανα proof reading η χαζη. Το κανω edit αμεσα! Χιλια ευχαριστω!!!!!

Send my regards to your cousin @ruth-girl. I love the artwork! 😍

Thank you! I will! Soon she'll start posting so you'll see a lot more from her ;)

ektos tou oti dn thn i9era san mpira ( kala anamenomeno gia mena :P ) m aresei p k esu k o @trumpman exete balei polles ellinikes sta post sas!

Ε είπαμε να προωθήσουμε την εγχώρια αγορά! Κάποιες το αξίζουν και με το παραπάνω ;)

Looks like everyone is attending the challenge.. I'm thinking about myself... What to do???? #Ruth

It's free to join in the fun if you'd like! And if you like beer, I'd say do it!! :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54