The Seven Day Beer Challenge #2 – Trooper by Robinsons and Iron Maiden

in #sevendaybeerchallenge6 years ago (edited)

In day 2 of the BEER challenge I combine beer with my favorite genre of music: HEAVY METAL !

DSC_0356.jpg

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you Trooper. The official beer of British Heavy Metal legends Iron Maiden.

Backstory

The beer was named by “The Trooper” an Iron Maiden song that comes out of 1983 record “Piece of Mind”. The song was inspired The Charge of the Light Brigade, which took place at the Battle of Balaklava (25 of October 1854) during the Crimean War when 600 British cavalry charged the massed Russian artillery. This assault resulted in a massive loss of British soldiers.

Lord Alfred Tennyson wrote narrative poem "The Charge of the Light Brigade" (1854) and published it just six weeks after the event. Its lines emphasize the valor of the cavalry in bravely carrying out their orders, regardless of the obvious outcome. Blame for the miscommunication has remained controversial, as the original order itself was vague, and the officer who delivered the written orders with some verbal interpretation died in the first minute of the assault.

Beer and Brewer

TROOPER is a Premium British Beer inspired by Iron Maiden and handcrafted at Robinsons Brewery. Malt flavors and citric notes for a unique blend of Bobek, Goldings and Cascade hops give this deep golden ale a subtle hint of lemon. It was launched in 2013 and sold over 15 million pints all over the world.

DSC_0329.jpg

Bruce Dickinson, Iron Maiden's vocalist, airline pilot, entrepreneur, author and broadcaster. He is an ale fan and history aficionado, played a major role in developing the unique flavor of the beer after repeated visits to Robinson’s brewery in Stockport. "I'm a lifelong fan of traditional English ale; I thought I'd died and gone to heaven when we were asked to create our own beer. I have to say that I was very nervous: Robinsons are the only people I have had to audition for in 30 years. Their magic has been to create the alchemical wedding of flavour and texture that is TROOPER. I love it."

Based in the heart of Stockport for almost two centuries from 1838, and owning around 280 tenanted and managed pubs, inns and hotels across the North West, “Robinsons” is one of oldest and most respected names in British brewing history. A proud family of independent brewers, Robinsons is one of the most advanced and sophisticated breweries in the UK, with a worldwide reputation for real ale. It’s also home to the largest hopnik in the world.

Trooper Beer official site : https://www.ironmaidenbeer.com/
Robinsons Brewery official site : https://www.robinsonsbrewery.com/

So many lives , so many beers…

I open the bottle. Strong smell of beer. YouTube plays an Iron Maiden song and I fill up the glass. It has a rich copper color.

DSC_0349.jpg

One of the first live bands that I saw was Iron Maiden with Blaze. I was at high school. Back in the day it was so rare to see live bands in Greece, let alone a band of the caliber of Iron Maiden. It was the talk of town. I went to the stadium hours before the start, waited in line and was of the first that got in. Due to some miscommunication the sound check hadn’t ended and I still remember the WTF face of Janick Gers when he saw us enter the venue. Fun times…

I take a sip … And another… It is easy to drink and you can clearly taste the citrus…

DSC_0346.jpg

Never liked Blaze. I still wonder how he got into the band. After a couple of years Iron Maiden visited again Thessaloniki and played at Theatro Vrachon ( threater of rocks ). I was outside with a can of beer in my hand along with my buddies. Ok … There were more beer cans involved …

You cannot taste beer alone. Grab a bite of cheese and ham. And fill another glass…

DSC_0339.jpg

It was time to experience Bruce Dickinson. Somebody rented a bus and some 50 metalheads traveled to Athens, saw the live and returned immediately afterwards. We didn’t have money for a hotel. But at least we could afford some cheap beers.

Here’s Eddie , Iron Maiden’s mascot. I think he wanted some.

DSC_0353.jpg

The live ends. You return home sweaty and tired. Satisfied and happy. Your feet are sore and your voice is hoarse. It could have been the beers or it could have been that you screamed your lungs out , when Bruce told you so. And there is that smile. That smile in your face. Till the next one…

Light , easy to drink and bitter. I liked it. But more I like Iron Maiden.
So, up the Irons and cheers to The Trooper.

Now it is your turn. I challenge @christina-madart . We had many real beers in the past. Let’s have some virtual ones.

These are the rules.
You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
The beer must be something you have never tasted before (you can break this rule if you want)
You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
Nominate someone every day
If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Let's Make Steemit Alcoholic Again!

And until the next beer …
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

Sort:  

up the irons! \m/ cheers!

Hell Yeah !!!

I love your post, you did a very nice review of the beer, I did a review of the same beer about 2 months ago Birthday-Braai-Beer, although it was the second beer in a 2 beer review. (The beer made it all the way to South-Africa!!)

Thank you. You also did great reviews of the beers, but I have to admit that I wouldn't go to the same lengths to taste it .

You are so detailed and informative describe all events, especially the taste of beer, it seemed that I tried it. If to keep in mind, I do not take alcohol in any form. I like music, this also applies to Iron Maiden. Perhaps his music is better to listen to with a can of beer in his hand than with coffee. Nevertheless, I can listen to it "2 minutes before midnight", sitting with a cup of coffee.

You can enjoy music in any way, shape or form you like it.
I am trying to perfect my writing skills so that posts are more engaging. I think there is a lot of room for improvement.

Absolutely agree with this. I myself try to improve my English and not only. I hope what understand me.

I perfectly understand you :)

Έχει και γαμω τη ονομασία!!!😁😁😁😁😁

Ναι, οντως . :)

I do not drink beer or any other alcohol, but me and my friends have their own way to have fun. I love music from this post, I really enjoy it, thank for sharing friend....

Having fun is all that matters. :)

Thank you

Ow..you love Iron maiden??? This is my favourite band. You should listen to 'Fear of the dark' and ' Dance of death'. I love these two songs. I also love 'the trooper'.

It's great to find fellow metal heads .
Up the Irons !!!

Απιστευτο τι μου θυμισες. Ισως και την καλυτερη heavy metal band ever. Μικρος ημουν φανατικος. Τι να πρωτοθυμηθεις απο τις επιτυχιες αυτου του συγκροτηματος. Καλη-κακη θα την δοκιμασω τιμης ενεκεν.
Υ.Γ παταω upvote και γυριζει αιωνια...και δεν την δεχεται. Τι στο καλο πια;

Οπαδος ή οχι ειναι οντως καλη μπυρα. Οχι εξαιρετικη , καλη.
Νασαι καλα. :)

φανταζομαι θα εχει γραψει πολλα rockwave το κοντερ σου :p

Εχει γραψει καμποσα . back in the day ...

Δεν την έχω τιμήσει μέχρι στιγμής, αλλά θα τη δοκιμάσω κι εγώ κάποια στιγμή :)
ΥΓ: Η ψήφος μου δε δίνει τίποτα δυστηχώς

Δοκιμασε απο καβα , γιατι τα μαγαζια την δινουν πανακριβα.
ΥΓ : η ψηφος σου εχει αξια trust me

This one still remains the king of beers! Maiden as background..

I see it happening!

Share evidence ...

By you dude! By you!

The chance of me have Maiden beer is around the chance of the Northpole having caribbean temperatures :(

Ooooooppppppssssss . Caffeine hasn't kicked in ... Yet ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67033.58
ETH 3521.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20