Seven Days Beer Challenge: Day 5 - Goldberg Lager Beer

It seemed I had exhausted my options in this challenge: I could not find shops that had beers that I have not tasted. So I went to Shoprite - retail stores that came to Nigeria from South Africa. I had hoped to find foreign beers there. I was surprised to find that most of the beers they stocked were manufactured domestically, and I am conversant with them all.

Well, almost all. In the midst of familiar beers, I found a Goldberg.

It is manufactured in Nigeria by Nigerian Breweries. I guess it is one of the lesser-known brands of the Nigerian Breweries. I saw both the bottled and canned options. The bottle contains 60cl of the beer while the can contains 50cl. It is also a lager beer like the Castle Lite. The colour is amber and it tastes like a regular beer even though smoother. I happened to have been tasty at the time I opened the can so I drank it all. The downside of that is that I could not write this post immediately: a twenty minutes nap was necessary. I am glad I already took pictures :)

I had to check the alcohol content of the beer when I got up from sleep and I discovered that it is 5.2% vol. I think that means that I just drank 2.6cl of alcohol today. I am glad that I have only two days left. But just for fun, let us take a look at what drinking this beer means for my Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). In North America, a BAC of 0.10% means that the individual has 0.10g per deciliter (dL) of blood. In other words,

BAC = weight of blood (in grams)/volume of blood (in dL)

The density of alcohol is 0.7893 g/cm3 (at 20 °C). When converted to cubic centimeter, the alcohol content of Goldberg is 26cm3 (since 1cl = 10cm3). By direct comparison, 26cm3 amounts to 20.5218g of alcohol. Now, we just have to find out how many dL of blood I might have to know if this is within the legal limits at least in Northern America.

According to Healthline, the average amount of blood in a person is about 7% of their body weight. So, assuming I weigh 90kg, 6.3kg of that is the weight of my blood. That seems so little! Damn! However, the BAC comparisons are made with the weight of alcohol against volume of blood. Therefore it is important to convert the blood weight to volume using the density of blood.

Well, according to Hypertextbook, the density of blood is 1060kg/m3 which is nearly the density of water.

If 1060kg of blood occupies a volume of 1m3, then 6.3kg would occupy a volume of 0.00594339623m3 which equals 59.4339623dL. In case I have lost you down the line, the figure 59.4339623dL is the approximate volume of blood in my body, all things being equal. Now, recall that I had consumed 20.5218g of alcohol, so my BAC as a result of that is 0.35%. This result assumes that the whole alcohol goes straight to my blood stream and a traffic cop pulls me over for driving under influence :)

This calculation may be completely off because let's face it, where I am from, if a cop pulls you over and you have a bottle of brandy a cup filled with the liquid, I can assure you that the only thing he would be interested in is your licence and registration! So, I will let those who have blood alcohol content as an issue to pick holes in my calculation.

Would I Drink This Again?

I think I would but that would be in a social setting and preferably at night.

Rules

You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
The beer must be something you have never tasted before
You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
Nominate someone every day
If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink
Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Thank you @trumpman for starting this challenge and thanks @mobbs for nominating me. I hope I got it right.

I'd like to nominate @fada.emma for this challenge because he seems like a guy who would appreciate a good beer. Besides, it would be fun to watch him struggle with finding beers he has not drunk before. Would you accept this challenge, please?

Thanks for reading.

More reading at:

  1. Healthline | How Much Blood in Human Body
  2. Hypertextbook | Facts
Sort:  

Phew!

And I was hoping this cup would pass me by... 😂

Anyways, I accept the challenge. I will start tomorrow insh Allah.

@churchboy, I admire your persistence with the contest. Keep glowing bro

I'm glad you have decided to join us. It is a real challenge!

I can feel it man...

I just visited a supermarket to grab some foreign beers. Lo and behold! There was none.

I'll check out few bars around town in the evening.
It will be difficult to see beers I have not drank before but I will check carefull.

I guess you just have to use those old ones and tell us about them :)

That's a relief.

I'll do that if I run out of options.

I applaud your persistence. XD

Enjoy your beer challenge mate! I will be tuning in to see what beers you decide to try

cheers !!

It would be a shame to stop now. Thank you for the support.

Yay!! Its day five already. I know about goldberg but i have never tasted it. This beer challenge is real and exciting. Goodluck.

Thanks, beautiful suckky.

beeer man!!! if it's hard to find a beer you haven't drank before, then I must say you are doing something right lol I guess i have to step up my game to the next level haha

cool read, thanks for sharing my friend :)

Well, I'm certain I'm doing something wrong: Not having a brand!

Thanks, man. Good to see you here.

hahaha we all need a brand!!
my pleasure, hope to see you around
steem on!

You made me laugh when you said you needed a nap after your beer! 😂
😘

Truly, I did sleep a little before I could write :). It us good to see you, Abby. I hope you are getting on fine!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63