Some simple tools for fixing Serbian subtitlessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #serbian7 years ago

One



of the best ways to learn a foreign language is by watching TV and movies with the subtitles of the foreign language. Well, for me it is a good way, though you have to develop a reasonable level of skill with foreign scripts to really do it properly.

Serbian is the language that I am most interested in learning these days, and as I was digging around for subtitles for Resident Evil in Serbian, I found one, that was in latinica (the latin forms with the various accent marks). But I really want to learn Serbian Cyrillic. Well, it turns out it's not that difficult if you have serbian text in either srpski kirilica ili latinica...

Firstly, I tried using notepad++, but no matter what I did it seemed to screw it up. So I tried notepad. Notepad loaded the text correctly, but two of the characters were wrong, the one for SH (č) and the one for 'tye' - ć ( ч and ћ respectively). Strangely these were the only ones that were wrong, one shows up as the ligatured ae (like the latin) and the other, I forget, but it was wrong.

Finally, if you would prefer to read it in Cyrillic or in Latin text, there is a site that automatically will change the characters between the two formats (mostly it's direct substitution but a few letters like Dj Nj turn into two letters). You can find that here:

http://www.lexilogos.com/keyboard/serbian_conversion.htm

Sort:  

It's nice to see that people are interested in learning Serbian! :D

:) I already speak a reasonable amount of Bulgarian, and many words are similar if not the same, though just as many are very different, they also are derived from other languages I know a little of, like german, latin and ancient greek.

Anyway, just wanting to share the tricks I use to get myself further developed in my ability to understand. I am in this in-between phase at the moment with my understanding, not quite enough to be fluent, but enough of many different tongues that I can read any script written in any language within the region called 'europe' and get a general gist. Even crazy stuff like norwegian!

Yes, there's a lot of words that are the same or similar to other languages. And knowing many different languages helps a lot with learning a new one.
Serbian grammar is not easy but as long as you listen, read and you're in touch with the language it will become easier.
Keep up the good work! :)

Great guide, cheers.

Second best way is to compare texts in english and serbian:

https://steemit.com/travel/@lighteye/monasteries-of-eastern-serbia-eng-srp-manastiri-istochne-srbije

https://steemit.com/travel/@lighteye/golubac-fortress-eng-srp-golubachki-grad

Or in separate texts:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lighteye/zashto-stimit-a-ne-fejsbuk-prvi-deo

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lighteye/koliko-vredi-dusha-zashto-stimit-a-ne-fejsbuk-drugi-deo-khristos-voskrese

Or in something easier 😊

https://steemit.com/comic/@lighteye/pecinari-pre-blokcheina-14-okt-2016-lozinka

Or search under the tag “srpski”

And BTW @l0k1, there's nothing wrong with Notepad++ (excellent editor), you just have to set Encoding to Encode in UTF-8. Works like a charm (v7.4.1 64-bit)

Keep up the good work!

I would like to have proper subs in Serbian, but it looks like a lot of times there is only croatian, which is different enough to be annoying but very very close.

I'm not sure what the encoding issue was. The original files were not all in UTF-8, though only tj and ch were incorrectly encoded the way my computer displays them.

I am sorta distracted at the moment to do proper work tidying up those subs. Many of them show too briefly for me to be able to easily read. I can read bulgarian cyrillic at full speed but I am still lost with some of the different symbols and sounds in Serbian.

https://we.tl/5JCO8ONMqz

Here @l0k1, is a serbian subtitle for Mike Maloney’s Hidden Secrets Of Money Ep 1 – Money vs Currency:

It is done in Notepad++ in Cyrillic and is clearly visible if your video player is set as it should be.

There is another good conversion site here:
http://www.preslovljavanje.com/

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81