Sort:  

The pleasure is mine... thanks for the kind words and compliment on my mustache!! I'd love to be able to pay for my internet by interacting here.

That would be quite a challenge for the cost... no matter #tomorrowisthegoal

20181115_134713-01-01.jpeg

What does internet cost? What is the internet situation?

I struggled with internet for many years on our farm in Colombia. I would walk 45 minutes to the nearest internet cafe to do my homework or check my email. I rented a usb connector for certain periods (they charged by the day), which was working okay, but eventually became deprecated as all telecom companies removed unlimited plans. When we finally had enough money to consider looking into buying our own plan, we were about 3 months too late to get an 'unlimited' plan and get grandfathered in.

So then we entered the terrible world of pay per gigabyte. We got really pretty good at limiting our consumption of data, but of course if you can't watch youtube videos, its not really internet! But we would rip all the videos from our classes at the internet cafe, and bring them back to watch on the farm.

My computer was still a decent typewriter, so I could write, but none of the oh-so-convenient concurrent research while writing.

In the end, it was family that helped us out. My brother @arangoaqet moved back to town, and we split the internet bill with him. That way, we have a place to go to have good, constant internet, and with a pre-pay cell plan (not disimilar to tracfone) we can use all the lessons we learned about internet reduction to stay connected when we are on the farm.

I hope you get it sorted, even if its just connecting once a week, I find it therapeutic to steem. And when it's not unlimited, it tastes sweeter.

Enjoyed chatting with you today my friend. Managed to make a payment arrangement... so good for one more month!!

That means we have one more month to increase our earnings on steem! Happy to hear it :)

Indeed... and thank you, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48