You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proof of Reading - POR -- Self-Voting comments is a good thing...

in #selfvoting7 years ago

You're right, self voting is not a bad thing. I have used it when I thought my comment should get more visibility, closer to the top of the page.
However, I believe that this feature- as every good thing in life- should be used in moderation.
It's my firm belief that everyone should contribute($value) as much to the community as they do to themselves. I don't see this unique model working, or succeeding if the majority of people only reward themselves exactly what their stake allows.
It's my opinion that the economy, quality and environment depend heavily on the greater community behaving in a way that allows the platform to grow.
If rampant "abuse" is encouraged, it will soon drive legitimate creators and curators away from the platform. Investors will see lower ROI and move somewhere else. New people will have an almost impossible barrier to entry and the quality will tank as the spamfest grows out of control.
I truly hope this isn't the ultimate fate of steemit, but we can already see the signs.

Sort:  

My feelings may change, but with everyone focusing on everyone else and writing posts about what everyone else is doing, I am bored for the first time in a 11-months and 2 weeks. I see no reason to continue to hold SP which has nothing to do with self-voting it has to do with I am not benefiting from holding it.

If I want to donate to a charity there are more meaningful ways to do it than to hang out on steem and upvote posts.

My investment was in the future of Steem and growing my own account. If I can't use the account for anything beneficial, I see no point in investing.

I'm sorry to hear that you're bored by hearing about so many people complaining. I don't think there would be such a wide consensus if there was truly no issue to see.
Was self voting the only reason you chose to power up and hold in the first place?
I don't consider voting on other people as charity. I consider it a way to thank them for their efforts and show they that the content is valuable to me.
I learn from them, befriend them, and gain value along side them as they also reward me for the value I provide. I believe this is exactly the kind of relationship the world needs.
I'm confused why you feel this way at the same time as giving so much to people while encouraging post interaction. It's clear that you truly believe in the success of the community. Why do you think you aren't allowed to reward yourself and be rewarded by others at the same time?
Yesterday I was moved by your initiative and thought your post deserved much more than the .10 I am able to provide with my stake. Luckily I was able to utilize whaleshares to give you a %100 vote from officialfuzzy because I truly believe that your actions are worth every bit of the rewards.
I hope you will come to enjoy your time here once again, don't lose faith in the platform, I'll never lose faith in you.

No, if you look at my voting history I very rarely upvote myself. That is not the point at all. The point is the content.

Hey I wondered how officialfuzzy voted for me, and thank you very much for that!

My problem with seeing the value of the future of steemit has to do with how many ways we are discouraging engagement.

  1. your posts are not quality
  2. your comments hold no value
  3. you only get x number of votes a day
  4. no upgrades to the platform
  5. no communication from SteemIt.
  6. A rabid steemit community who make as many posts about spam as there is spam on the blockchain.

This is no way to grow a community that is going to impact the price of steem. Maybe I am just in a bad mood.

I was investing in the future of steem, and I am not saying I wouldn't hold steem, I am saying I don't see any point in powering up my account. I would rather hold liquid steem. What is the value of tying up my investment in Steem Power?

I truly didn't think that was the case, but I was confused by your statement haha.

It's true that there are a number of things that could be improved upon. Creating a discussion and exploring the issues/options is an important step in the process of repairing the mechanisms. Whether or not the people who can do something about it take notice is entirely up to them.

I understand where you are coming from. You surely didn't feel the same way when steem was priced at .20 each. What has changed since then?

Watching the reaction when we get new-users. My view is that we gain value to the Steem Currency when we get new users and new eyes on the platform.

Eyes = Investors.

There is just too many people worried about pennies while quarters and dollars are dropping out of our reach.

When the price was .20 cents I could dream of what my SP was going to mean to me.

I have a decent sized account, and I don't see how that is a better value than investing and trading. Again, I am not talking about selling all of my steem. I just don't know why I would keep it locked up in SP.

Thank you so much for the randowhale. I appreciate it, as well as your upvotes!

It's true that some new users have negative reactions. I wish I could help them with whatever the problem is, but I understand that their fear of something so new will resolve if they only clear their mind and give it a real chance.

vasdfasdfasd.PNG
This reminds me of a line I once heard in a song. "How can I make sense(cents) when I got millions on my mind?"

To me, locking up a portion of your stake means that you can influence the big picture with it. I can reward the type of behavior I support and encourage. I vote for the witnesses whom I believe to truly want what's best for the future of steemit. I flag things that I don't feel are acceptable.

Some people have decided to turn their stake into an even greater source of income. (randowhale, booster, OCD, whaleshares, etc.

You've had 11.5 months to dream about this day. What have you come up with?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37