Selfie/Freewrite Contest day 42 (suffers in silence)

in #selfiecontest6 years ago

0624181158.jpg

Was many Summers ago you passed.
Forever in my heart may your memory last

Hiding the tears from within
to sprout a smile, as a new day begins

Wishing to start over again,
that sad day that had no end

Covering ears from constant noise
of the things together we enjoyed

Shading the eyes so no one sees
the sadness held by only me

How I wish to take back that day
that the Lord decided
with him you must stay

Not a summer goes by after all these years
that I think about you looking down and saying to the lord,
"that sad beautiful woman thinks she suffers in silence alone"

My beloved stepdad passed away almost 4 years ago now. A visit my son and I made turned out to be our last. How I wish I could turn back the clock, and fix what happened. He was not my father by blood, but treated me as such. Had he not given me the chance to change my future path, I would not be here today. When no one else was there for me, he was.

Sort:  

He was a good man. I only met him once but I could tell.

Love and support to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97