You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Learned from Being “Poor”

in #self5 years ago (edited)

I cannot even begin to tell you how much your post touched me. Your life touches on mainstream people, where you came from how you grew up and for all practical purposes so, you grew up in a loving, learning atmosphere. I mean, you were even the normal kid who partied hard, probably as hard as you worked.

It is interesting in the context of writing, to see how we can all go from a lavish lifestyle to living among the not so lavish, even poor. I am impressed by the detail of your post, in my mind, I can picture the entire story, you paint such a vivid picture.

I can tell you from working/volunteering in different homeless shelters, your words ring so true of many people that have walked this path, although every person's story is a little bit different, the end is where the difference is. You have made the best of what is given to you, fair or unfair you do not complain but work with what you have. I applaud you for that. Just reading about who you are you are probably scoffing at the thought of anybody applauding you for living your life.

The thing is, the lesson has not been lost on you.

And by this, I don't mean that you are being punished but you are smart enough to see that doing without isn't a punishment but a gift. How many people can say that they make the most of relationships and time spent with people instead of time behind a computer or a handheld game or any Electronics, including the television? To get out and do, to get out and be, to get out and share well that is the real prize in life. I wish you well because you deserve it, because you have earned it, and most of all because you share so much of you and you inspire hope in my soul.

I'm telling you now because I must and I am interested to keep reading your journey. You are actually far richer than most people I know. The best part being that it has nothing to do with money.

Upped and steemed

!tip

Sort:  

Thank you for your awesome comment. Also thank you for tipu. :)

I once worked in an organization with the homeless. While I was Business Manager I lived in the same building as they did. More days than not I also ate with them, even after work.

Obviously it all started with my family’s background and also upbringing, but I credit that period most for who I became.

For who I am.

Again, thank you for your awesome comment. 🦇

I agree that it starts with the family, but, our experiences are what mold our character into who we become.

I was frequently chastised by those that did not involve themselves with the less than fortunate for becoming part of their lives in serving, eating with them and for helping find solutions to their life.

How can that ever be a bad thing???

And the pleasure is always mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42