@Upmewhale Restricted/Unrestricted Internet-Freedom World Contest

in #self-power4 years ago (edited)

beverage-3157395_1920.jpg
Source: https://pixabay.com/photos/beverage-blog-blogger-break-3157395/

The topic of unrestricted/restricted internet provoked a lot of though for me. Here is the US, there is "unrestricted internet" and for the most part there is the full illusion of complete freedom here.

And while surfing social media many will find that we have talked about something with our friends and family and minutes later it is showing up as an ad on our phone. That really begs the question as to how much are we being spied on, and how much is the "free use internet" used to monitor our habits to encourage more and more spending.

As for the information being presented on the internet it is filtered as well. Similar to the news, because there are countries with restricted internet we don't always get the "truth" or the real story. Sometimes access to so much information so easily, allows the information to be manipulated much faster as well. Easier to get the "news" that is meant to distract and grab everyone's attention if everyone is dialed into the internet with easy access. Our "freedom" of internet usage is another for us to be manipulated and molded into focusing our energy on whatever is being presented to us.

Similar to this movie "Wag the Dog":

I wonder how much information we have with freedom of internet, or is it just an illusion?

How many people you know are glued to their phones 24/7? It affects relationships, and social media can tear people apart in so many ways. Social media can also be terrible for self esteem, and what happens when we feel bad? We buy stuff 😅

I think the internet is a wonderful tool and I ask you this, if it offers us freedom and power what do the powers at bay do with the power and freedom and access they have to us through the internet?

As far as blockchain/crypto internet and restrictions go there are some things we can't do here, certain currencies we can't use or trade and certain platforms we can't use.

Overall, I think we have a pretty unlimited access to internet and internet speed and wether that's a good or a bad thing, I think only time will tell. We will see what relationships are like in 10 years. I fear the freedom is pushing consumerism even more and that it is disconnecting people from themselves and everyone around them.

I love how the internet connects us in positive ways, like @steemit. This platform has been such a source of positivity and inspiration. These groups: @naturalmedicine @tribesteemup @freedomtribe @ecotrain @rockymountainsteem, and many many more have been so instrumental in my growth. Many thanks to all of you who make such amazing content💜

So I leave you with this, just because there is an illusion of freedom, are we really free?

Does complete restriction cause even more rebellion? Or does the majority just comply?

I am very grateful for the freedom and access to high speed internet, for without it I wouldn't have access to write this post.

As for with this free internet there is a price as with everything there is an exchange.

web-3706562_1920.jpg
Picture Source: https://pixabay.com/illustrations/web-network-programming-3706562/

Sort:  

We are grateful to you!!!

Check your settings... you dont need those ads. Or switch to a different browser. There is gonna be more and more tracking... trick is to keep up with it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Aww thanks so much! I need to be using brave and earning. Have you used brave browser where you can earn crypto for watching ads? https://brave.com/BLO342 I don't know why I keep using google haha

I have, but I never use it - the thought of watching ads kills me

I think you get BAT tokens for just using the browser without watching the ads too. I'll have to check into it. It's super secure I've heard too which is always a plus.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97