My Morning Routine And Why You Should Have One As Well!

in #self-improvement7 years ago (edited)

Morning routine.png

How late do you go to sleep? How early do you wake up?

For most of my life I've been a "night owl" and I thought there's nothing wrong with that.

I told myself that everyone goes to sleep late, so why can't I do it as well? But trust me, it's a horrible habit and it's affecting your life in numerous ways.

I didn't notice how much it's actually affecting my life until I tried to become a morning person (or "early bird").

Though at first I struggled a lot, I couldn't wake up early enough and I always felt tired, I still managed to make this switch in a week.

No longer did I feel tired when I woke up, no longer did I need to press the snooze button a couple of hundred times and I noticed that my sleep quality improved immediately.

If you take a look at successful people, most of them wake up early in the morning every day. Do you think it's just a coincidence?

They wake up early for a reason! Morning people are always more productive and motivated to do something throughout the day unlike night owls.

A night person will always be lazy and tired to do anything productive until night time comes.


My Morning Routine - Lifestyle Changer!


So, when I finally managed to wake up very early, I began to create a morning routine for myself that makes the rest of the day much more productive and more AWESOME!

Here's my morning routine that I currently complete every single day (unless I had been destroying my liver with alcohol the day before, lol)

  • I get out of bed, drink some water and then I proceed to exercise. I exercise for 15-20 minutes most of the time. I would do it for longer periods of time, but I also go to the gym later in the day, so I would be really exhausted if I exercised too much.

  • After I finish exercising, I take a cold shower. Cold showers are great comfort zone killers and they have great health benefits. It took me some time to finally start taking cold showers, but they are definitely worth it.

  • Once I'm done with the "freezing to death to leave my comfort zone" part, I begin meditating. When I started, I used to meditate for 10-15 minutes, but now I do it for 20-40 minutes every morning!

  • Now, that I'm done sitting on the floor doing nothing for 20-40 minutes, I take a book and start reading it! I have never had the habit of reading books, so when I started, it wasn't easy but I got hooked after doing it for longer than a week. I read 20-30 pages each morning... I'd say that's a good increase from 0.

  • Lastly, when I'm done looking at papers that have words written on them, I open up my fridge and make myself something healthy to eat. I never start my day eating junk food or anything like that. I like eating vegetables and fruits to start my day.


What Changes Did I Notice When I Started?

First of all, when I became a morning person, I noticed changes in my life without even doing the routine.

I was no longer tired for more than half of the day. In fact, I felt quite energetic right after waking up. This gave me additional motivation to do things that improve my life.

When I was a night owl, all I could do throughout the day was, watch TV on my couch while eating burgers and shit like that.

I didn't have the energy to get up!

Now, I said my goodbyes to the "hard to resist" couch. Oh, and bye bye burgers and other junk food. Well... Not entirely...

I still eat junk food from time to time, but I'm much more aware of my choices and I try to eat healthier every day.

So, waking up in the mornings allows me to get more done every day. Productivity is really important if you want to succeed in life.

It develops this habit of getting things done. If procrastinated very often when I was a night person, but now, I have much more discipline. I just don't allow my lazy mind to take control of me.

Benefits From My Morning Routine

So, with my morning routine I'm developing these habits every day: Exercising, leaving my comfort zone, meditation, reading books and eating healthier.

It takes 2-3 hours every day to complete this routine, but I became so much used to it, that I can't live without doing all those things.

Now, each of these habits have various benefits of their own. But I'll just name the most important one's.

Here's the benefits that I can feel from all those habits:

  • Increased creativity. I find it easier to come up with new ideas, writing has become easier for me, even my visualizations feel much more vivid. I noticed that I come up with memes easier than before... I know what you think... "Woah, that's an amazing benefit", I just read your mind, didn't I?

  • I'm more aware of my surroundings and I feel connected to nature. This could be mainly because of meditation, but I sorta feel the energies around me and I always want to get out into nature. Sometimes I even go out into a forest and walk around for a few hours. I also noticed that I can control my emotions. For example, I manage to stay calm if I hit my head into a pointy object. It hurts a lot, but I don't allow anger to take over.

  • My memory improved. Well, my memory was always quite good, but I noticed that I can remember even the smallest of details for longer periods of time. Gosh, I'm getting exposed to so many memes every day and I can't get them out of my head... I guess that's a side effect of boosting my memory, right? I will always remember even the stupid and useless things :D

  • It reduced my stress and anxiety. I used to stress so much about everything and I was always a bit anxious. Now, I've learnt to be more positive all the time and look at the bright side of everything. And no longer do I feel anxious, because I feel like I'm on top of the world! You hear that people? I'M ON TOP OF THE WORLD... Whatever that means...

  • I feel good about myself. For example, when I used to exercise in the evenings, most of the time I didn't do it, because I couldn't find the time for that. Either my friends would take me out for drinks or I would just start playing a new game and lose motivation to exercise. And then I would feel bad about myself for skipping out on my goals. But since I'm done with it in the morning, I can do anything I want for the rest of the day and I don't feel bad about myself...

  • I sleep like a baby! Yaaay I'm a baby... Okay, I'm not, but I do sleep like one! The best part about it, I fall asleep really fast. I used to lay in bed for hours before I could fall asleep, but now I can forget about this problem (well, I can't really forget since my memory is better now, remember?). This happens, because all those habits make me healthier. I also go to sleep on the same time everyday so my body knows when to shut off.

  • I'm simply happier! Waking up in the morning and doing my routine makes me really happy. All of those habits simply add up to this. I feel so happy all the time and I usually smile like an idiot for no reason... Gosh, if someone observed me all day without me knowing, they would see some crazy and awkward smiles... And I mean CRAZY :)


So, Will You Become A Morning Person And Develop New Habits?

After reading this post, I believe you're tempted at least a little bit to rise earlier and develop a few new habits.

The point is, nobody can make you do anything if you don't want to do it. I could tell you how many benefits everything has but if you're not an action taker, I will never convince you do anything (nobody will).

It all starts with you. Take control of your life and change the way you live your life if you want to become the greatest version of yourself.

Also, you don't have to do this specific routine that I do. For example, when I started, I only exercised in the mornings. I didn't meditate or read books.

It just came naturally to me. I wanted to do more and more productive activities. So I slowly added cold showers, meditation, reading and eating healthy.

It's a good idea to start out small, because you won't be able to keep up with all the new activities without getting used to it.

I still feel like I left out some important benefits of being a morning person and all the habits that I talked about. So here's some extra motivation why you should do it as well:

  • Lower blood pressure
  • Become more organised
  • Always feel relaxed
  • Lose more weight
  • Increase focus and concentration
  • Better immune system
  • Improved brain function
  • Less procrastination
  • Increased testosterone
  • Relieve depression
  • Make better memes (lol, kidding... Or Am I?)
  • And the list could go on and on...

These benefits were not based on one specific habit. I just threw in some random benefits that you can get from these habits all together.

Hopefully I inspired you to become a morning person accompanied by developing new habits!

I promise, you will love this lifestyle switch if you dedicate yourself towards doing it consistently.


So, I suggest you fall in love with your bed and go to sleep earlier today!

MomentCam_20180113203717.gif

That's how I sleep every night when I know the morning is going to be awesome!

Sort:  

Upvoted and featured in #tkc curator promotion. Come and see the #tkc discord. Your post will be promoted there. :)

Thank you :)

Thank you for writing a great post and sharing^^

Thanks for sharing this post with the #tkc community! You're doing a great job, keep up the good work! Congrats on winning!

Congrats on winning! Thanks for sharing your great post with us!

Thank you!

Finally I have a reason to start my day in the morning and do a morning routine. I have never done this before but will start soon but i have to draw out a routine i will follow up dailly.

Glad you decided to start waking up earlier! Plan out you routine and do it :) You'll be happy you made this decision.

Cold showers , freezing to death..... :) I don't think that would be good for me :D Btw, I know few people who used to do meditation. Seems like they were doing it for too long in very short time period. Now, they are like....crazy or something... it's not good to be around them.

lol, meditation is not turning anyone crazy. Yes, meditation can open your eyes and you'll see the world for what it truly is but the crazy people are the one's who see enlightened people as crazy. I have a few friends who meditate every day twice just like I do and they are only becoming their greatest versions every day.
I suggest you do some research on meditation, because you have the wrong idea about it.

:) I'm not doing meditation, so I'm just saying what I see in real life from others. Maybe you didn't understand, what I wanted to tell you. Looks like if you meditate in a way like you are doing, it's all good. But those guys were doing it for,like....10-12 hours per day. And after few weeks they lost their sense of reality. Like, it was a huge mental shock. I know that the only people, who are used to do meditation at this daily rate, are people in Tibet. But they are doing that from their early age, and are pretty used to it. It's true, that I'm not the expert of meditation, but I know when I see a person who cleared his mind, or a person who looks and talks like he is on hard drugs all the time.

Yes, some people might not handle the altered states of consciousness that happen during very long sessions of meditation. I've done some research on this and a lot of people who experimented with meditation for 10 or more hours per day experienced quite strong effects. Even visual perception can change on this level and the whole world could look different, just like on some psychedelic drugs like shrooms or LSD. I haven't tried meditating for that long as I feel that I'm not ready for that kind of altered state of mind, but It's definitely something I'm interested in for the future. A very distant future...

Meditation -----Verrückt

Hahah Sau gut
wohl eher das gegenteil.
Aber deine Meihnung

Incredible content, thank you very much for sharing it with #TKC team, we hope you continue trusting us!

@trendo
Du hast wirklich meine ganz großen Respekt als Mensch!!!!!
Es macht Mega Spaß deine Texte zu lesen.
Ich sehe mich selbst in deinen Texten.
Werde es auch versuchen, früh Aufstehn.
Genau deshalb bin ich täglich hier. Danke für die Mühe

Haha, I actually took the effort and used google translate to get an idea of what you're talking about!
Well, thanks for reading my post, glad it motivates you to get up early :)

Oh ich sehe gerade die Übersetzung.

Awesome routine! You have inspired me to take another look at my morning routine :-)

Very nice content ! Upvoted from @chanthasam

Thank you :)

Haha thanks :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38