turning a reaction to 'disrespect towards others' into a realization that the pattern starts with self. and respecting self

in #self-forgiveness5 years ago

as i come out of a depressive state, i am presented with opportunities to reconnect with people-at-large. as my psychiatrist mentioned, there will be times when i retreat back into depression and it’s important for me to seize these opportunities.

tonight i was presented with an opportunity to break a disrespectful habit i have of smoking tobacco in my house. i have been smoking tobacco with marijuana in the house.

i forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to smoke tobacco in the house.
i forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to continue to smoke tobacco in the house despite realizing it was disrespectful to the property owner
i forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to not realize, see and understand that smoking tobacco in the house is also disrespectful to myself.
i forgive myself for not allowing myself to realize the smoking tobacco is disrespectful to myself

Thus, I flag the behavioral pattern, within the principle of bringing it back to self, as smoking tobacco.

When and as I see myself smoking tobacco, I stop and I breathe. I see, realize and understand that smoking tobacco is disrespectful to self and thus, I commit myself to no more smoking tobacco. When and as I see myself reacting emotionally or lost in feelings about being disrespectful to others for smoking tobacco in the house, I stop and I breathe. I see, and realize, that such emotions and thoughts and reaction to smoking in the house are ultimately stemming from my smoking tobacco as part of a self-destructive pattern. I commit myself to no more smoking tobacco.

Sort:  

Hello @tylersr! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @tylersr! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98