SURVIVALIST #28 Getting Started With Guns: The Heritage Rough Rider

in #security8 years ago (edited)

If you’re in the market for an affordable, quality built single action revolver that can shoot .22 LR and .22 Magnum, then look no further than the guns offered by Heritage Manufacturing Inc.

I have their Rough Rider model with a 4 ½” barrel which comes with a .22LR cylinder and an extra .22 Magnum cylinder. The .22 Magnum cylinder is clearly marked so you shouldn’t accidentally load the wrong ammo.

I purchased this new about four years ago for $170.00. I’ve put a few thousand rounds through this gun without a hiccup. I take it every time I go to the range and shoot between 50-100 rounds to warm up with prior to shooting the larger calibers and I finish the day off shooting another 50-100 rounds. You can’t beat the value when using .22LR ammo for practice.

As far as accuracy goes, I couldn’t be happier, I can keep the rounds in a ragged quarter sized hole at ten yards. My pattern opens up a bit after that but that’s my fault and not the guns. I usually stick with the CCI Mini-mags, but have not had any issues firing other brands of ammo.

The single action revolver chambered in .22 LR is the perfect training caliber for young or inexperienced shooters due to its almost non-existent recoil, cost to shoot, plus being a single action forces the new shooter to slow their shooting down and concentrate on the fundamentals of marksmanship.

Many a squirrel and rabbit have been taken with the .22LR over the years and the .22 Magnum could be pressed into the role of self-defense if needed. You can also choose the shot shells commonly referred to as snake-shot for either caliber if a pesky rattle snake happens to slither into camp. Due to the ability to fire multiple calibers and ammunition I believe this firearm would make an excellent addition to your survival weapons arsenal. Most importantly though, my nine-year-old son loves shooting this gun because it makes him feel like a cowboy. Anything we can do to get the younger generation on the range or in the field is a great idea.

According to the Heritage website, Heritagemfg.com, the barrel and cylinder are both made of steel while the frame is an aluminum alloy. The model I chose came with a blued finish and weighs in at approximately thirty-four ounces when unloaded. It is a bit heavy compared to the new micro plastic mouse guns out there, but the gun is balanced nicely and the additional weight soaks up whatever recoil there may be. The cocobolo grips are attractive and fit my extra-large sized hands nicely. I recommend checking out their website, they have a nice mix of after-market grips to choose from as well as some nice looking leather holsters and gun belts. I was so impressed that I decided that I needed another one.

Original article by Richard Belle, published in Survivalist Magazine #28
Richard Belle has been a law enforcement officer for the past fifteen years in Los Angeles, Ca. He enjoys the outdoors with his wife and two young children.

Read All Articles From This Issue and More on STEEMIT Here

If you would like to see more survival and preparedness training, please UpVote & Share.

Sort:  

These are neat guns, and certainly the way to go if funds are short. I have two issues with them however. First, they do not seem to sell a stainless steel model, although I believe they did at one time. I could be wrong. Second, the hammer block safety is absurd. It so detracts from the authentic look of the revolver that I would have a hard time buying one. Still, my wife wants a .22 single action revolver and if they ever have a stainless steel model I will buy one for her. For my own use, my first single action revolver will be something with a bigger hold in the barrel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63