You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cybersecurity Demystified: You are so cute and I know where you live, honey!

in #security8 years ago

I've published everything on social media publicly for quite some time. To me, I think, it's about risk probabilities. If someone knows personal information about me, what specific risks increase and at what probability? I get the theft of personal property issue if you're on vacation, but for me personally, how likely is that scenario given the neighborhood I live in, the rate of crime in the area, etc, etc? What other risks exist I haven't considered?

Maybe I'm being naive, but some of this fear about sharing personal information online seems irrational to me. If an attacker really wanted to get information about me, there are illegal tools they could (and probably would) use to do so. Heck, a simple white pages search could do it. I get how identity theft could be a concern, but my credit report is on lock by all the major reporting agencies. So what real concerns should I be thinking through?

Thanks for the detailed post.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment. I consider honesty (even brutal one) to be a priority in my life but a full transparency is something different. It sounds good in theory but in practice it has many consequences and is quite impossible. You are right it is a matter of odds and you take your chances here. Odds are, however, not a constant value in this equation for every single person. I will not convince you without a good example and that needs to be a one that involves you. It requires me to go through all photos of your happy family (which are nice, btw), your all profiles, repeat it for your wife etc. I will not.
First look - you seem to have a kind of stable and happy life already. In terms of age and social aspects (wife, kids, house, job: both selfemployed) you are a mature and very independent one. It makes things a bit less complicated for you at the moment. I don't believe that you actually mean 'everything', even from a quick scroll of you account, but there is no point to argue about it. All I can really say is that I wish you the best of luck :)
As a response I would like to remind you how the Gauss curve looks... you can think about it as my chart of odds of the whole society for you.

you seem to have a kind of stable and happy life already

I guess my thought is, "Shouldn't this be the ultimate goal?" Instead of living in fear of someone finding out who we are because of any vulnerabilities they might exploit, isn't it better not to have those vulnerabilities as much as possible? I get I'm very privileged, but I also recognize the efforts I've put into getting where I am today. My hope is everyone can be their authentic self without fear, but I understand that's just not reality for most people. Yet.

I don't believe that you actually mean 'everything'

I think our cultural norms limit what we share publicly, but that is also changing over time as well. Many people think, for example, sex is scandalous. What if in the future we don't feel this way? That would change the types of photos and stories people feel comfortable sharing concerning their sex life. But yes, obviously not "everything" as I still have secrets related to passwords, encryption keys, etc. Thankfully that type of stuff won't leak through my photo metadata. :)

you can think about it as my chart of odds of the whole society for you.

Not really sure what you mean by that, but I think it relates to me probably not being in the average.

Thanks again for a great post.

Thank you once again :)
Quick notes:

Not really sure what you mean by that, but I think it relates to me probably not being in the average.

Among many other things - Yes :)

Thankfully that type of stuff won't leak through my photo metadata. :)

I can only blink reading this one ;) More fun another time.

I have a great life now, but it doesn't reflect the challenges and hard work it took to get to this place. My life was harder than most from an early age. Won't bother with the details, but I did not benefit from much support , it was largely myself pushing forward for what I want. Started with nothing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67010.34
ETH 2604.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72