You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to set an own password, which is not generated by Steemit

in #security7 years ago

I recommend using a password manager like 1Password. That way you only have to remember one password and your encrypted password file is backed up on dropbox. More security tips here, for those who are interested.

Sort:  

Exactly! I am talking about that also in attached video in this post :)

Ah good! I haven't watched the video yet. :)

Hmm. I have been hearing about password managers for years but I have always been afraid that by using one I exchange multiple point of failure for single point of failure.

Are you saying they are actually trustworthy?

In my experience, yes. Depends on which one you use and how you manage it, your computer, etc (more in the video I linked to above). Alternatives to the single point of failure, from what I've seen, create more risk.

Lastpass is good option too

Yep! I haven't used it myself and there was one scare a while back with some concerns about a potential exploit, but from what I know it's solid.

Judging by daily usage, I have nothing to complain about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45