You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Security Tips for Cryptocurrency Owners

in #security7 years ago

This is all very sound advice but since starting here (only a couple of months ago) I have been amazed by the number of people who have started using (or trading/ gambling) with crypto currency and have no concept of security. More basic advice should include 'do not store coins on exchanges' etc. Also, use a hardware wallet or cold/ paper wallets. Hardware wallets are available for under $100, which is a small price to pay to keep your coins secure. I would suggest anyone with more than $1000 in crypto should seriously consider getting one of these. They now support multiple currencies as well!

Sort:  

The stupidity tax is growing.

I don't know about hardware devices, their RNG could be weak. I'd prefer to generate my own passwords.

I agree and I appreciate that this post was aimed at slightly more capable individuals but I am amazed by the number of people acting surprised when I suggest they don't store coins on exchanges or statements like 'its all OK as Polo is back up again'. A lot of people will get badly burned when the next exchange goes down. Thanks for the post. Its a good, gentle reminder that I really need to get my Linux skills up!

Yeah but this artile is just absolutely basic information, I could write a book about the do's and dont's , in fact I probably should. But i'd rather put out small information here in readable form. I have noticed that the attention span of people is very limited so I keep my articles from now on short and on point.

Thanks for such useful information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87