Sleep Soundly at Night, and Rest Easily During the Day (Infrared Motion Alarms)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #security7 years ago (edited)

Peace of mind is a wonderful thing. A very high value is usually placed upon having it. I provide peace of mind to my friends and business associates through my residential security consulting. It isn't work to me either, for I am wired to be a protector. Where that passion comes from, I'll probably never fully understand.

This post is not about what motivates me however; It's about a device to improve your residential security.


A few weeks back I was speaking with a woman who lived alone in an apartment within a bad part of the city. She did not have peace of mind. Her nights were restless and interrupted by numerous unknown noises. It wasn't paranoia or her imagination either. Without a secure place to sleep, she was simply not resting well. Having a dog was also not an option.

In a previous post, I discussed window vibration alarms. This week I would to introduce yet another simple, effective, and inexpensive layer of defense for your home. This device does not use a sticker to adhere to a window though. You'll need some basic hand tools. I used a drill, small drill bit, and a screw driver to secure mine to the railing.

To the right is what the Doberman Security Motion Detector Alarm looks like installed at the top of my stair case. It has off, chime, and alarm settings, and it runs off a single 9 volt battery. The device uses an infrared sensor, and it perfectly sweeps the stairs as people walk up them. Small dogs or cats will not set it off. A large dog would however.

If you have a large dog though, it should be sleeping in the bedroom with you as yet another layer of defense.


Because it is at the very top of the stairs, you cannot see it from below. It is also very far out of reach by someone even if they did see it. I installed it in that location for a specific reason. At night my top floor is a separate security zone. It needs to have a higher level of security compared to the rest of my home because my children sleep in bedrooms opposite of mine.

While I'm sleeping, no one can walk up the stairs without setting off the alarm. The children can still get up to use the bathroom or come to my bedroom as well. While my wife is home alone during the day, she can take a shower, nap in bed, or simply read a book knowing the chime will go off if anyone walks up the stairs.

The device, in other words, provides peace of mind. It acts as an additional layer of security, and it prevents a person from being caught off guard in their own home. Using devices like this one greatly improve your home's security. You'll sleep much better at night knowing it is there and always watching.



You can purchase the units for as little as $15 dollars a piece on the main webpage or on Amazon. I am not affiliated with Doberman Security, and I benefit in no way from recommending their products. No product will ever be recommended to you unless I've personally tested and used it too.

If I trust it, I know you can.


finnian steemit.gif

Sort:  

Good recommondation! These little security tips could make people more relaxed being alone home haha.

Although I think it wouldn't be useful if you have a big dog at home who runs up and down lol.

Yes, definitely. My one dog definitely earns her keep. She's a medium sized dog, a catahoula leopard, but she's a darn near perfect dog for security. She never even nips my children, she does not bark unless a stranger is near, she barely eats, and she's very protective. Oh, and she has built in camouflage. It's tempting to breed them even. haha

Great article just upvoted 70%
learned the importance of housing security after working in tech support for local alarm/cctv installers in our area. seen way too many scenarios played out when sensors and alarms were not in place.

Thank you! I really appreciate it. My hope is that these home security tips will be shared with as many people on Steemit as possible. The topic is something everyone here can benefit from.

It's funny that you would mention typical alarm companies. I do not recommend them. They are not worth the money spent on them, and they open up your home to the possibility of police responding when you don't want them to respond. Lots of people and pets have been shot because of it too. The risk these days just isn't worth it.

Yes, have alarm systems, but I would not use a third party traditional monitoring company. One reason to have devices like the one above is because you want advanced warning as you know. The police are not going to get there in time. You'll most likely be on your own. Don't forget to use Cell 411 to notify your neighbors in the event of a problem though too.

Yes my company rarely ever let the alarms dial out to the police and think that is just how it is down here in Australia and would recommending have the alarms be calling out to your own phone and neighbours etc anyone trusted and extremely close able to help out.

Hmmm I wonder if Virgil, the founder and CEO of Cell 411, could some how integrate his smart phone app with a home alarm... Hmmmm

Congratulations @finnian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @finnian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@originalworks Oh, sweet lover, where art thou? LOL

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @finnian to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Hahaha, too funny!

Great security product review @finnian... sounds like the price can't be beat!

I think it's great how you explain exactly how YOU use it and the methodology behind it.

Thanks! Yes, they have no monthly fees, do not open up your home to unwanted police responses, and you can easily turn them on and off as needed. These can even be brought with you to hotel rooms or even camping.

great article with original and interesting content. I don't know enough about the subject to comment intelligently. But I upvoted you. Cheers

Thank you! One reason I'm on Steemit.com is to help people secure their homes. If you have any questions, I'll gladly assist you as my time allows.

Good professional advice to bring tranquility to citizens. Peace of mind is fundamental in this life so full of unforeseen events.

These devices definitely provide a lot of peace of mind. They are so cheap and easy to install too that anyone can put them to work. Single people who cannot have a dog benefit the most. Sleep with the window cracked if you want, but have devices like the one above to notify you in the event of a burglar/intruder. ;-)

Nice recommendation @finnian. I know my husband would most likely be interested in this. He loves safety gadgets. Thanks for sharing.

You're very welcome. Does he have a separate account on here? I've followed you too. Thanks for the feedback. It is very appreciated!

You followed me? Aw....thank you :)
Yes, @johnjgeddes, he's a writer. I sent him the link to this security alarm.

Well, heck. That put a huge smile on my face to read. He's an inspiration. Seriously, he is a gifted writer, and I'm thankful to know him and benefit from his art.

If either of you ever need assistance with residential security, please ask. I'd be happy to help!

Oh cool...so you read his work? Awesome. I'll tell him we were chatting. He's outside doing the grunt work gardening - we had some new stairs and walkway put in the other day and our gardens are full of cement powder (I used the blower for that) and he's digging up the parts that got wet and cemented in the garden. I'm indoors doing indoor stuff :) Like Steemit. It's hard to be me ....hehe

Great Work my friend....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72