Rheinberger and ambitions


This is my entry for the secrets of organ playing contest, week 29. As it is, I think, my fourteenth entry, I got a bit over confident. The goal was to play the composition I had planned for this week's contest one time, working out the registration, than play it once as a final practice, and than record it. And I allowed myself one recording.

Perhaps I should have chosen a composition that comes more natural to me. My main forte is after all German Baroque. Somehow my hands and feet are very well suited to play that kind of music. Romantic music, be it German or French, does not come natural to me. One reason is that I have small hands. Composers like Joseph Rheinberger and César Franck did not have small hands at all. Espesically Franck writes somtimes chords I literally can not play: too many notes too far apart. Another reason romantic music does not come natural to me, is the many knobs and levers one has to use to play it faithfully.

It did of course not help that I chose a registration for the lower manual on a sixteen feet basis. The part that I play on the manual has to be played an octave higher than notated because of that registration. Near the end I get confused, because I use the left foot to play some pedal notes, the right foot to close the swells of both the Récit and the Positiv a bit and the right hand has to change to the lower manual. And I nearly forgot that because of the registration I chose, I have to play other notes than notated. But which ones? Eh, octave up or down? And which note? That one? That one? Oh, help!

The ambition was: one recording. And I sticked to that. So with mistakes and confusion and all, I left it as it was. Next time I better allow myself a bit more preparation.

This Intermezzo is part of Rheinberger's third Organ Sonata. It is wedged in between the outer parts of that Sonata and serves as an unpretentious link between those parts. And as a true Intermezoo, it mainly serves as preperation of what follows. I like this Intermezzo a lot because of it's chromatism and quick move through several keys. The down side is that it is not really suited to be played stand-alone. It starts of in E flat major and ends on D major. It does not really end in the key of D major, it is more the dominant to G major. And indeed the final part of this Sonata is in the key of G major. The Intermezzo leaves us with the feeling of more to come. Sadly, I have nothing to offer at the moment. The fugue that follows this intermezzo is one of the best of it's kind ever written, it is also a very difficult one to play. Perhaps one day in the future I will be able to play that fugue for this contest. For now, however, I have only the Intermezzo for you, and perhaps leave you a bit unsatiesfied.


You can support me using Steem Basic Income


Sort:  

As organists, we are often heard but not seen. But @organduo's contest requires us to be seen and heard! It's a great achievement to get this in one take. And honestly, I was listening to this in the background whilst I was browsing Steem so I didn't even know you were confused about what octave to play in ;)

I haven't heard this before so it was great to hear some Rheinberger. I play the Passacaglia from No. 8.

It's only a short moment in the film; it felt quite longer. And caused me to mess up some chords further on. Some day I'll learn to forget the camera.
The Passcaglia is unfamiliar to me (to be honest: most Rheinberger Sonatas are).

Didn't notice this either...

Posted using Partiko Android

I've hear this sonata a week ago at the recital in Vilnius Cathedral. I was late and I think Intermezzo was playing already so I remember this mood very well. You play it well, of course. With wide intervals in Franck sometimes I use pedal coupler without separate pedal stops.

Cool. I can now curate and upvote in creativecoins. Still wating for the airdrop though. I wonder if playing the organ counts as 'creative' by the standards of this new tribe...

Absolutely! Music is creative. I have received 1000 CCC in airdrop and bought 1000 CCC more. So I staked total of 2000 CCC. Hopefully my upvote to your content will be worth more now.

I haven't received anything till now. Though I did use rewarded PAL en LEO to buy some CCC. Hopefully I'm included in the airdrop as well. Would be a bit hurtful if I weren't...

Posted using Partiko Android

Have you got your airdrop yet @partitura? I got 1000 CCC too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, I got the 1000 ACC as well. And with my reward earnings in PAL en LEO I could buy some more.. The Steem Engine dex really is a nice toy... 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I do the same whenever possible. And in other places I just leave notes out. I have to as there physically is no way I can play them. I think Franck won't mind. And if he does he may haunt me. Would be nice to be visited by the ghost of Franck... 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Could be the ghost of Samuel Rousseau. He was a cantor at Saint Clotilde and his style is very much like Franck's...

Posted using Partiko Android

Never heard of the man. Seems worth learning more about.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very beautiful and rarely performed music. His collection of 12 pieces for organ is on IMSLP, I think.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @partitura! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 60% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56