Secrets of organ playing contest week 38

in #secretsoforganplaying5 years ago (edited)

This is a piece that I have had in my repertoire for a little while: Eugene Gigout's Toccata in B minor of 1890. It isn't the most difficult piece in my repertoire, but it is fun to play. There are lots of figurations and fast fingerwork through out. The pedals add some melodic interest to the piece. I brought it back for this Sunday to use as a postlude for Morningside College's Homecoming church service, which is done every year around this time in collaboration with Grace United Methodist Church, my usual Sunday morning work space.

The organ I am playing on is a Holtcamp. Completed in 1967 when the music school there had a large organ studio, it is a three manual instrument with 48 ranks of pipes and is located in Eppley auditorium as a centerpiece. Unfortunately, the organ studio has since died off and the organ is only used a handful of times throughout the year (Homecoming and Christmas concerts being the two major events it is feautred on) The specs and a picture of this beautiful organ can be found here: https://pipeorgandatabase.org/OrganDetails.php?OrganID=49516

Sort:  

Hello! A pleasure ♡

You are totally a teacher at the piano, a lot of talent for one person, I'm glad to hear this melody!

Hi. Fantastic!! Your organ sounds like a charm. I have sincerely enjoyed this Toccata. Although it is not the same I remembered Bach. Happy Sunday and regards @jeremyowens9501

Thank you! Fun piece to play.

@jeremyowens9501 you have received 500 ORGANDUO from organduo!
Trade the tokens on Steem Engine or send them to @organduo.voter with post in memo for an upvote!

// This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz! //

Congratulations @jeremyowens9501, your post has been featured in the latest Curie Author Showcase.
On behalf of @curie I thank you for your time and for creating amazing content. Keep up the good work!
Sincerely,
Ivan (@curie curator)

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Hi Jeremy. You might need to edit that link above?

Will be listening to your piece shortly. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

It came up with a list of other tracks and I could only hear the video but not see. Anyway, I’ve just listened and great! It’s a very technically demanding piece and you’ve got a good handle on it. One question: are you manipulating the swell box? It’s hard to tell from the audio recording position.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Weird. I am not having any problem seeing the video on my computer. Maybe it is because I'm on a desktop. I will try to edit the link.

As to the swell box. Yes, I am using it but pretty sparingly. I started with the swell closed, but just opened it after the long pedals right before the switch to the great manual.

I’m on my phone. Perhaps that’s the issue 😅 Swell box ✅

Posted using Partiko iOS

I just tried reposting the YouTube video with the "sharing" link.

Video works fine on my phone. Well done!

It's a shame that the instrument isn't used more often. It has a good specification.

Hi jeremyowens9501,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60308.44
ETH 2640.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54