Veni Creator Spiritus, Op. 1 - Vidas Pinkevicius | Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 21

Hello everyone! This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 21. For this week, I have recorded a work written by none other than the person running this contest—Vidas Pinkevicius!

Over the last week, I have been looking around for a Pentecost piece to play and I came across this work amongst the multitude of Vidas’ compositions on organduo.lt. Pentecost is a Christian celebration that occurs on the 7th Sunday after Easter, commemorating the descent of the Holy Spirit on the Apostles whilst they were in Jerusalem (as per the Acts of the Apostles).

Vidas’ work is very approachable and suitable as a Prelude, Offertoire or Communion piece. It's largely manuals only (with optional pedal). One day, I hope to learn Duruflé’s Choral varié sur le Veni Creator, Op.4. It’s a major work and playing any Duruflé is not for the faint hearted!

With Vidas’ permission, I’ve made my video submission a split screen—my performance on the left and the sheet music on the right. I hope you enjoy watching and listening to my entry.

Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

,

Thank you for choosing to perform my piece! It's a strange experience to listen to your own music performed by somebody else... Now I have to return the favor! Are your compositions also available?

You’re welcome. The middle section reminds me of another piece, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I have composed little things for personal use but nothing really official. Maybe you could have a look at my arrangement of the Berceuse by Fauré? It would be highly appropriate given the “Mattress” code word 😅https://www.scoreexchange.com/scores/203609.html

Posted using Partiko iOS

Since this is my first opus, I took the structure of it from Dupre's Organ Improvisation Method book, Part 1 (at the end of the book there is a plan which I used here). I have ordered your arrangement of Berceuse by Faure and will try to record it in the near future. By the way, what percentage of the sale do you get from Score Exchange?

I just checked my account. They take 55% of the sale! Then I would also have to pay PayPal fees on withdrawal if it goes into my account. That’s a terribly big cut. Score Exchange is only almost a negligible income stream at the moment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Score Exchange didn't leave me a good impression on me. I would understand if they could do all the heavy lifting in marketing and you would see sales come in automatically. But in my case, I couldn't sell a single copy on Score Exchange yet. Everything comes from my own website through my own direct relationships with customers. Same goes with Sheet Music Plus.

I was going to say Dupre! Thanks for ordering. I’m not even sure what percentage I get—I must check. You could list your compositions here and get some more visibility?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I do but the only sales I get is through my store on Shopify. For a micro business like mine, nothing beats personal relationships with your customers. Plus I get to keep all the revenue (minus PayPal fees, of course).

There’s a Shopify monthly fee though? I looked into Shopify but I can achieve similar functionality with WooCommerce and WordPress. There’s a bit more work involved though. If I had a product to sell and it was high volume, Shopify would be a better choice as the support would be there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Somehow Shopify's monthly fee (21.75 USD) comes as a subscription credit and I only pay the fees (much less) for each transaction calculated once a month.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @contrabourdon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you contrabourdon! You've just received an upvote of 36% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.


ANNOUNCING 2 MORE DELEGATION BOTS! Hey guys, if you like getting a constant supply of upvotes from @artturtle, you should definitely check out @tommyknockers and @thejollyroger for even more! Both these bots run on the same technology as @artturtle and so work the exact same way. Currently @tommyknockers grants up to $0.10 upvotes and @thejollyroger will add another $0.01 on top of that. These bots just launched so newcomers are getting 100% upvotes. Check them out and start growing your posts today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83