"Don't Hate the Player, Hate the Game."

in #secret7 years ago (edited)

I'm guessing that most of us have heard this phrase repeatedly throughout our lifetimes. But, how many of us have noticed how truly profound those words are?

The introspective journey I have committed to over the past year has revealed to me an array of life lessons and deep wisdom, hidden among common household phrases.

Whether these words were intended as such, or whether I am simply choosing to interpret them on a much deeper level, is something I doubt I will ever know. Still, I would like to share my interpretations of these well known sayings, starting with this fairly modern one.

Don't hate the player. Hate the game.



Typically, when I have heard this phrase, it has been in the context of a man and his promiscuity towards women. A quick google search has suggested to me that the saying originated from an Ice T song where he was speaking in this very context.

However, if we forget about what we know the words to mean, and instead look at what they are saying from an unbiased point of view, I suspect that we will all interpret them in an entirely different light.

The way I look at it, it's saying;

Don't hate the person who stole your wallet, the business adversary who stole your customers, or the landlord who upped the rent on you. Instead, hate the system that demands of them that they have money, and therefore incentivizes them to take it from you.

Don't hate the boy who bullied you at school, the coworker who humiliated you in front of everyone on shift, or the drunk guy who attacked you at the bar for seemingly no reason at all. Hate instead the society that conditions people to see their own value as something that is determined by others, leading us to do dreadful things to one another all so that we might appear to be smarter, tougher, or even kinder than our peers.

Don't hate the person who murdered your parents, the man who raped your wife, or the paedophile who destroyed your child's life. If you're able to-- hate the controllers and their multifaceted propaganda machine. The one they have used to defeat our love for one another and for ourselves, bringing us to a point where we can commit such heinous acts against one another.

Don't hate the ugliness in others. Hate the environment that we have all helped build, and that is responsible for conditioning that ugliness within us.


What's your interpretation of this phrase?

Sort:  

I'd interpret it in much the same way you do, but I do hate the player. We all have to play the game but not all of us have to play dirty.

I suppose when you have a good understanding of the game, and use that your advantage in the exploitation of other, weaker parties, then that is definitely cuntish. But, if a player doesn't even realise they're playing a game, and if their dirty tricks are a product of conditioning, then I try my best(often unsuccessfully) to forgive them for their shitty behaviour. It's certainly not like I have partook in much of it in my own lifetime.

Lol. I can see that, but I think if that was the case, we would be hearing it from a lot more politicians and CEO's.

I always thought "Don't hate the player, hate the game" sounded awfully similar to "Don't hold me accountable for my actions."

Just remember Rick saying it on Rick and Morty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45